We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to a 5”
Review of Wave Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wave Crest Hotel
Ranked #397 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2012

PLUS SIDE...
I booked after a 'spontanious' decision to visit Blackpool for the lights. On arrival we were welcomed at the door and offered seats as our room was not quite ready.
My two daughters (age 9) were instantly provided with a colouring book and pens and the t.v was switched on to keep them amused. After a brief booking in process we were shown to our room. The room was ideal for what we needed,with plenty of coffee sachets etc.
We could not of asked for better hosts and we were made to feel very welcome with superb service and local knowledge/advice including a book of discount vouchers for local attractions.
Despite being in the process of a refurb nothing was too much to ask for.
There was a £5 parking fee for a space at the rear of the Hotel but we were able to leave our car there for the following day even after checking out which was superb due to the hotels location and very much appreciated as it saved extra costs for parking along the beach.
Feedback both positive and negative was welcomed for any possible improvement.
DOWN SIDE.
The cleanliness of the room was a slight let down in two places i.e behind the double bed where we found a couple of sticky sweets with a coating of dust and the inside of drawers were in need of a duster. I must stress though,the bedding was spotless and although the bed was fairly hard we got a good nights sleep.
The 'full english' breakfast was fairly sparce with 1 sausage,1 egg,1 tomato and 2 bacon but it was very well cooked and a good variety of cereal, toast etc was available.
All in all though we would definately recommend this hotel to all and I feel it will certainly warrant a 5 rating after the refurb of remaining rooms (including the one we were in).
We will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caggyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Me my husband and our 2 children aged 9&2, just wanted a night away, very last min, looked on Internet at loads of b&bs in Blackpool but my experience of b&bs in blackpool is not good. Always found them all very tired unclean and shabby, because of this I refused to stay in b&bs with my children and always seem to go for the travel lodges or premiere inns even the savoy did not stand to this hotel, lady that owns this hotel was there to meet us on our arrival which was very very nice never had this ! Once checked in we were left to do what we wanted advised of breakfast times etc had a very pleasant stay slept well all of us, the hotel is away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the night life but not too far if we wanted to join in very easy to get too and parking was a MEGA BONUS at a fraction of the cost to all the other car parks around Blackpool, also quite safe round the back in a large court yard FANTASTIC. Enjoyed a lovely homemade full English breakfast and help your self continental style, left our car for the day and enjoyed the shopping, overall a fantastic hotel which while we were there was undergoing a major refurbishment which never encroached on our stay at all if this is how it is now this hotel is going to be AMAZING when completed. Sum up: great value for money and will deffo be returning!!! Mr & Mrs Fletcher & boys x Cumbria

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmjo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we stayed at wave crest for a night it was perfect... i just saw these reveiws and don't agree with them... we were welcomed by a very friendly guy who was happy to advise us where to go and got us taxi's there. The rooms were clean and plenty big enough for 4 girls, they had teles with freeveiw, the bed was soo comfy and towels were lovely and soft. The hotel has parking behind which was a great help. The breakfast was lovely and available at a good time so we could have a lie in. Would definately stay again and reccomend to friends all in all 10/10 i'd say.
Jo

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is for stag and hen do's and young people looking for a good night out in blackpool. Im 20 and recently visited this hotel for a friends birthday. We had a mixture of rooms, some modern and some old. The modern rooms were lovely and clean with a flat screen tv with freeview on the wall, definately worth the money, however the older rooms werent as nice. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. There is a bar in the basement of the hotel which is kept open as long as people want it open! This was brilliant for people on parties like us however i understand may have caused an issue for others with younger children or wanting an early night in the hotel. All in all we had a brilliant time and i will hopefully be returning in the near future with some friends but will definately request a modernised room!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were a party of 9 people age range from 20 - 55, there for a 21st birthday. The Golf Open was on and we struggled to get a hotel, one hotel owner told us that any hotel that we could get at this short notice would be a dive!! However we eventually found four rooms at the Wave Crest Hotel and were pleased to find out that this hotel is far from being ' a dive'

The hotel is centrally placed and the rooms are gradually all being refurbished, we had a mix of newly decorated and old rooms and all were clean and comfortable.

There was a stag night and a hen night party at the hotel and although everyone was in great spirits there was no real noise or any trouble. In fact the stag night party made our stay as they were such great fun in the bar that we did not get to bed until 4am!! (Poor Owner Phil and the Barman who kept the bar open late for us) Thanks Lads and Happy Wedding Day to Chris and Lucy! from Mommy Sue and party.

The owners Phil and his wife were so accommodating, they even let us into our room early as my daughter was feeling ill on arrival and this allowed her to sleep and then enjoy the rest of the night. Excellent service!

We parked up the car early and walked to the South Pier and Pleasure Beach ( you now have to pay to go into the pleasure beach which is a shame as I don't want to go on the rides and I didn't want to pay £5 to watch!)

The new promenade along the front is great to walk along and sit and people watch. Our young sters went into the dungeon show (by the tower entrance) because we had 2 for 1 tickets. They really raved about it, said the actors were great and they loved the ride.

Walking out at night and bar crawl was an eyeopener I have never Laughed, Danced and Sang so much! The sights of the stags and hens were fantastic, we saw no trouble and no real police presence.

Overall a fantastic weekend at a great reasonably priced hotel with great service and company. Thanks to all from the Browns and the Hardings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippin_Picken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed one night ,with a group, the place was gross,room was small & dingy ,bathroom, toilet YUKk !!!! Toilet seat was broken,and loo roll holder ,shower very dated , We paid £29 per person (£58 per room !!!) If i had paid £20 per room I would have expected these conditions, but not at this price ! Yes we heard the same story from from the owner when we arrived ,had a lot of problems,yawn ! yawn ! place being refurbished (looks like he's been telling the same story to all the guests for the last 2 years !!! ?) The bed I slept on was just springs ,you could actually see them popping out ,carpet was sticky, definitely would not recommend for families !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helzbels w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We will be returning to the Crest wave as found Phil very friendly and easy to approach, nothing was to much trouble, Free drinks and snacks were given to all guests as when we arrived our rooms were not ready as the owner told us he was let down my cleaner's, found our room comfortable and clean and having 2 young boy's as long they were happy i was happy they both enjoyed free face painting and balloons, breakfast was lovely and plentyfull, Will be returning again next October to enjoy the Illuminations and good service and friendly faces.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Crest Hotel

Address: 14-16 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £51 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wave Crest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Wave Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing