We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've stayed at!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stockton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stockton Grange Hotel
Ranked #63 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel before and thoroughly enjoying it my friends and I were looking forward to returning but on arrival we were disappointed. We were told we were the only people in the hotel (and now I'm not surprised) and they would not be putting heating on due to this. It stunk of damp and was freezing, obviously not had heating on all winter. They put us all in one room (3 girls, 3 boys) obviously because they only wanted to clean one room. There was an open bottle of bleach in bathroom and no bin anywhere. Could tell they just didn't want us there, daren't ask for anything. Wanted money up front and frankly was quite rude about it. Would not open bar and when asked to huffed and puffed. There was no smiles or pleasentries, breakfast may as well of been slung at you. But the worst of it is both keys to outside door did not work!! One friend came home by herself at about 1am and could not get in. Rang bell would not open door. Sent another friend with other key to hotel in taxi which cost him £8 to still not be able to open it. Eventually they opened door and did not even apologise! We all had to come back as could not have risked this happening again. Spoilt our night and no remedy offered. Even told them that morning keys and doors were dodgy! In morning accused friend of locking herself out. Yeah like that can happen. Was so shocking but daren't complain because think we would of got a mouthful. Between us it cost £180, which I don't think they deserve! Trust me even if you've stayed here before and liked do not go back..,gone really down hill and just awful!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmandaGreenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    7
    12
    23
See reviews for
24
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of 13, the 2 ladies who ran the b and b were lovely and friendly, rooms where clean and tidy, we had 3 rooms between us of 2 rooms which could of sleep 4 with double bed and bulk beds and the large room downstairs which slept 7, the free parking is great, breakfast was good, only moan is that you have to run the hot water for about 5 mins in shower and there isn't many plug sockets in the rooms,
But overall we would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank viki86_810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in the Stockton grange hotel on a weekend to Blackpool with the girls and had an amazing time. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel comfortable as soon as we arrived. The rooms were fantastic value for money and the breakfast in the mornings cures your hangover .... Delicious. Would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in Blackpool for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Cantwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for a few nights while I was in Blackpool on business.
All of the staff were nice and helpful as I dont know the area well. The room was clean and the free coffee is always a bonus when getting up early.
The hotel is well located with good parking facilities.
Id recommend staying here and would again myself !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallasey1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is great,good customer service and nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff,we have been going to this same hotel now for the last 10 years and never have we had a bad time,so people who slag this hotel off you need to stay longer and revisit and see what i mean the beds are so comfy and clean and the rooms are always tidy,nothing out of place at all,will be seeing you all again on the 11/10/2013 we can't wait for my daughters 17th birthday to spend it n the hotel again with you all
love jenny xx see you all soon

Room Tip: all room are good we have stayed in quite a few over the years enjoyed them everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny70b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Book the Stockton Grange for a stag do 28th September 2013. The moment you walk through the door the smell of mold hits you, on venturing into your room, no sockets work, the shower was cold, although I was told I needed to switch the shower on! I did and it was still cold! Mold around the window frame and well.....For £35 per room was disgusting! I know most will read this and go who cares it was for a stag do...On getting back at 2am in the morning we had found our rooms had been broken into and trashed, the wash hand basin taps left running which had gone through to the rooms below. Police were called out, I sobered up very quickly and ruined my stag night! This is why the review is being made. Nothing was done with regards to the owners other than asking for the payment the following morning! No even a good will gesture was given. If I ever go to Blackpool again on a stag do I'll book myself a deck chair and sleep on the beach it'll be drier and fresher smelling and that's saying something for Blackpool's beaches!

If you don't care about your rooms being broken into and your belongings ruffled, a shower not working, no electrical sockets working for your free tea and coffee! No light working because and I quote "It needs a bulb"...Well PUT ONE IN THEN....Then feel free to stay here lads, it'll be just down your street!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holophyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel and I was extremely disappointed. The wiring was hanging from the ceiling, holes in the walls, damp, musky smell got bitten by 'bed bugs' in the night unclean cups in the room, no television remote , no towels, window was stuck, radiators constantly on room was sweltering!!! Hen parties next to rooms that had children in!!!
All in all an awful hotel will never ever go again and will also tell everyone I know not to go here!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosyparker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#50 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vidella Hotel
Vidella Hotel
#70 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#65 of 72 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Grange Hotel

Property: Stockton Grange Hotel
Address: 26-34 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stockton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stockton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing