We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Withnell Hotel

The Withnell Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Withnell Hotel
Ranked #329 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 days on 21 July 2013', was fantastic from start to finish. Got a very warm welcome from Maxine & Billy and helped with our bags. We had everything we required for our stay. Room was clean, tea and coffee facilities and shower. Was a good size room for 3 of us. We were also able to park car o this was an added bonus. We came and went as we pleased breakfast was excellent couldn't fault it. Spent a lot of time socialising in the bar with them especially myself as my partner and his son played pool in the bar so being the only lady I was welcomed to sit with them so thank you guys felt like part of the family if tat sounds daft!!!! Hehe. Overall had great time and hoping to go back for the illuminations can't wait. So if your looking for somewhere nice with a warm welcome this is the place for you. I would recommend it highly. Angeleen & Steve x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend a few weeks ago. We received a really warm welcome and were able to park the car in the carpark at the back which was a big help. The room had everything we needed (tea and coffee making, t.v, decent shower etc) Could not fault breakfast. overall would definatly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a 3 day break with my fiancé and son and parents midweek and didn't want to go home received a warm welcome when we arrived and Maxine and billy did everything to make us feel at home. Comfortable rooms with quality beds,tv,tea and coffee facilities and ensuite. After fun days out in blackpool we enjoyed the evenings in the lounge playing darts and pool and a few cheeky drinks and plenty laughs with max and billy and other guests.
Enjoyed our full English breakfast in the morning hot and plentiful a great start to the day.
Overall one of the best places I have stayed in blackpool ticks every box and you won't get looked after better anywhere else. Looking forward to returning soon thank you both for a fantastic break

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeandsarahforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed there twice and intend on going back in the summer great value for money all ways a warm welcome and max and Billy are both lovely and food is great
and rooms are clean well presented and great value for money and will be going back very soon and have recomened the hotel to both family and friends thanks for a lovely home from home stay with you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have written a review in the past however under certain circumstances the review was removed however, I Have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions from November 2011 , I cannot fault the place in any way , The owners of the hotel are doing an excellent job as they have only been open for over a year and being a customer who regulary visits this hotel I see a big improvment with decoration to the hotel each time I visit. Rooms are clean and tidy and if you have any problems what so ever the owners are more than happy to help cater for your needs. Breakfast is lovely also. Most importantly I am always made feel very welcome in the hotel by Max & Billy and it's like home to home for me and would never hesitate to ask them if I had any problems. Can't wait for my next stay.:-) !
Siobhan

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
I would also like to return the compliment to such a lovely lady who would be welcome in our hotel any time, she is such a pleasure to talk to and always as a smile on her face. Thank you Siobhan xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 days and felt the place somewhat dreary. Our room wasnt as clean as it could be but the bed was very comfy and clean. Walls very thin and you could hear partying going on in the bar area below us most of the night. Everything seems to revolve around the bar area which isnt good if you have children or like us had to drive to the airport and face a 16hr flight. Breakfast was very good but a bit cold when it arrived .You order your breakfast when you check in which is quiet difficult as you dont really no what you would like for breakfast if you check in in the afternoon. Im loathe to leave my name to this review as i can see the manager left a very personal attack on a guest who wasnt best pleased with the hotel. To be honest if i had read that first i wouldnt have stayed here. All in all its a cheap B&B and you get what you pay for which i think must be the location which is close to everything

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. In response I would just like to say we have only been running this guest house for 12 months so we are trying our best to make our place a very comfortable stay.
We knew it needed decorating, but had to still open to make the cash to do the work needed.
We are now decorating for next season and brightening the old place up.
If ever you stay in Blackpool again in another guest house you are welcome to pop in and see the difference as we are trying our best to make this small business work.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed for 3 days second time we have been.
Max and Bill were very welcoming and could not do enough for us.
The company in the hotel was excellent and we as a family made some fantastic mates namely Mrs Brown.
Our kids really enjoyed their stay mainly due to the location of the hotel and they love Max and Billy to bits
We had no faults at all with the hotel, breakfast was great filled us up.
We will definately booking again for our third visit hopefully we will see Mrs Brown and company again.
See you in 2013

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Marsden Hotel
Marsden Hotel
#189 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moray House Hotel
Moray House Hotel
#471 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindene Hotel
Lindene Hotel
#232 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#132 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Avenue Hotel
Sunrise Avenue Hotel
#120 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hotel
The Villa Hotel
#203 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Withnell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Withnell Hotel

Property: The Withnell Hotel
Address: 17 Withnell Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Withnell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Withnell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing