We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traceys hen weekend ;))) never to be forgotten "MARLENE" fab ladie”
Review of The Grange Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #83 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“traceys hen weekend ;))) never to be forgotten "MARLENE" fab ladie”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

well where to start, 1st what a lovely surprise hotel was great to what we expected, clean breakfast was fab, its ideally situated, and most of all Marlene & Colin they were the perfect hosts
made us all really wecome & at home had great laugh with them...... we will defo be going back there. there was 12 of us and not one person could say anything wrong about the hotel. fab,fab,fab......so Marlene hope you will have us back ;)

Room Tip: all rooms were fine we had all the top floor & had no problems with anything ;) they have there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    15
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Well, where do I start, got the coach to blackpool, was well within distance of central coach station, no problems there, close to all the bars and clubs. Colin and Marlene was great hosts, fed us as much drink as possible, even had great conversation. The rooms were ideal, not much of a view, but beds were comfy. Breakfast was hot, and tasty, can't fault. Great other guests, the happy bunch of lasses from Nottingham, and the party hard lads from Brighton. Will return sometime later in the year. Thanks Marlene and Colin, Ian and Jelly John xxx

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have recently returned from a stay with the wonderful Colin and Marlene, when we initially turned up and saw the the hand written sign for the hotel, we thought, what have we let ourselves in for. But as soon as the door opened and we were met by Marlene our fears were thoroughly squashed. The hotel might be a little dated but the cleanliness, breakfast and most of all the hospitality, more than made up for it. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel more than welcome. We were a group of fourteen hens, there was also a stag group of about twelve and a couple of others staying at the hotel. Yet breakfast came hot, tasty and no one had to wait very long even though everyone seemed to be at breakfast at the same time. Thanks Colin and Marlene we had a fab time and thought you were both fantastic xxxxx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel is ideally situated and has a warm and friendly atmosphere. We booked our weekend away through an agency and did not know what to expect, but as soon as speaking to Marlene on the telephone i knew we was going to be disapointed. After reading the feedback on this site we were unsure, but our minds were put to rest when we arrived, Marlene greeted myself at the door before all the girls arrived, she gave me a tour of the hotel and was shown all the rooms our party had been allocated, so i could sort out all the sleeping arrangments for the girls. The rooms were very spacious and all en-suite which was a bonus, all beds had clean and matching bedding. The hotel was very clean throughout. Marlene and Colin were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them, when the girls arrived they asked what drinks they drank so they ensure they had them in ( even a bottle. We really had a lovely weekend and couldnt have asked for anything else, when we go to Blackpool in the future we will definately be booking direct with Marlene & Colin. infact the girls enjoyed it that much that 2 of them have already booked again with Marlene & Colin for November 2012. if you are wanting a good break with a clean, warm and friendly hotel then booking with The Grange hotel will not disappoint. Even Colin's breakfast's are lovely. this is hotel worth visiting and even better its great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootsieChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Dirty, outdated decor, fixtures and fittings and an extremely odd host, who insisted on a £20 cash bond from each person, for any damages, the moment my party and I walked through the door. (This had not been mentioned at the time of booking.) I'd advise that you take photos of your room when it is allcated to you, to make sure you get your bond back. The room was freezing, as was the tiny little shower, and there were hairs on my pilow and curlier hairs in the bed, as well as the shower. You don't expect a Hilton, but my stay here was absolutely dreadful - not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is ideally located to all the attractions but is still in a very quiet street. Marlene & Colin are the perfect hosts & offer excellent value for money & a cracking breakfast. The hotel was busy over the easter period but we were still treated to the attention you would expect from perferct hosts. We booked through partyhotels.com which I will not be using again but will definitely book direct with this hotel on our return visit for the illuminations later this year. Nothing was too much trouble & we had everything we needed including the comfiest four poster bed I've ever slept in. Look forward to returning with the kids in November.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but for the high prices charged at this place (£60 for a double room, £120 for a family room sleeping four) I think it could and should be a lot better.

Summary plus points.
Overall the hotel is clean (with one exception). All the rooms are en suite. Once we got over an initial difficulty with our booking, the proprietress was friendly. It is located in a road a 5-10 minute walk from the seafront and all the bars, so it is reasonably quiet.

Summary negative points
The hotel does not have any tourist board official rating. The price charged for a Saturday night in April was £60 for a double room and £120 for a family room. Our room fell well short of the standards you would expect for that price at this time of the year - for that price I would expect at least a bar of soap in the bathroom. The breakfast was fairly plentiful but not very nice, served on stained and torn paper tableclothes.

The family room was two small very sparsely decorated rooms with the connecting wall removed. The smaller of the two rooms had a double bed squeezed into it, with no room to move around the outside. It had a high window that had been left open that was impossible to reach. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the corner, but no milk or creamer.

The slightly larger of the rooms had two single beds (one of which had a lot of junk under it). The mattresses did not have many springs, and were not very comfortable: however the polyester bed linen was clean.

Part of the room had been turned into a small ensuite bathroom with a loo, basin and shower. The bathroom was clean, but there was no soap at all - a very basic hygiene requirement - and there were two small, thin towels between us. There was no way to moderate the hot water in the shower, which was far too hot when switched on - so the only way to avoid burning was to keep switching it on and off while you showered.
Finally, there was a small TV mounted high up in the corner of the larger room. When we switched it on, there was no picture, then the picture came out red with no sound. It took half an hour of climbing up and reconnecting all the wires to get a picture with sound.

Breakfast was served in the dining room, which could about 20 at separate tables of about 2-4. The tables were laid with paper tablecloths that had clearly been used many times before: ours was torn, frayed and heavily stained, which really put me off my meal. Apart from being offered a choice of tea or coffee, guests are not asked what they would like for breakfast: it is assumed you want whatever their full English breakfast is (which turned out to bebacon, sausage, beans, fried egg, toast, mushroom).

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blonde222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#43 of 856 in Blackpool
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cadeby Lodge
Cadeby Lodge
#150 of 856 in Blackpool
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fylde International Blackpool
0.1 mi away
Ascot Guest House
Ascot Guest House
#188 of 856 in Blackpool
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#33 of 856 in Blackpool
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 112 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing