We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Lonsdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lonsdale Hotel
Ranked #77 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at this little gem so many times in the last 12 years or so, it has never failed to amaze me how these guys (Steve & Karl) keep such INCREDIBLE standards!

This is a very CLASSY hotel with an ambience that you will find unrivalled anywhere!

PERFECT hosts, PERFECT location and PERFECT haven!

I will be coming to see you soon guys!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandreturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Had a short break away with my husband and took the advice of the trip advisor reviews, booked for a mid week 3 night stay at the Lonsdale hotel, wasn't disappointed one bit. Steve and Karl made us feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door, it was a pleasure to meet them both. From day one we had all we needed including a balcony and French windows showing a view of the sea and couldn't fault any part of our stay, have already booked for 2 trips next year.
Steve and Karl were always on hand to answer any questions and help with directions, the room was fabulous, clean, light, airy and roomy with all you needed including fridge, tea and coffee and the bed was to die for so comfortable , fresh and well made. Breakfast was top class with all you needed to set you up for the day served in a beautiful dining room with individual tables. Thank you Steve and Karl for making our stay so enjoyable see you next year.
The Dobson' s xx

Room Tip: Ask for the Edwardian or Georgian room both have balcony's with views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Lonsdale is a special place.
The owners Carl and Steve have created an exceptional place to stay - not only are they genuinely warm and welcoming but take pride in offering the best to their guests. Great effort, care and attention to detail can be found in everything from the tasteful interiors to cosy plump pillows, fluffy towels, ample tea and coffee, delicious breakfasts, starched linen and so much more, including a mini fridge in the room, cork screw and drinking glasses should you wish to take your own drinks to your room.

Nothing is too much trouble for Steve and Carl and they are consistently friendly and helpful. If you want to stay somewhere that is stylish,comfortable, warm and welcoming and that has a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere this is the place.
The hotel is also well situated, only five minutes from the sea front.

I feel fortunate to have found such a place and hope to return in future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustineOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I've stayed in a few Blackpool hotels over the years - travelling there annual for a music festival - and have been repeatedly disappointed.
So this year, we decided to give a B&B a try and after reading the Tripadvisor reviews, we decided on the Lonsdale. We tried to book for three nights but they (unsurprinsingly) only had a vacancy for two of the nights she we opted for the Hilton for the remaining night.
You can tell the proprietors here really do have a passion about the work they do. You genuinely feel you are being welcomed into their home as a guest, the level of service they provide is excellent and the standard of the rooms was far beyond what I expected. We stayed in the Edwardian Suite, which was beautifully furnished. The breakfast was excellent too.
This visit has removed by snobbery about B&Bs and made me realise - just like hotels - there are some excellent ones out there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artdecolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

If you want a hotel with class, then look no further than the Lonsdale Hotel. It was superb in every way. One of the guests required a lighter weight duvet so the very next morning Karl and Steve purchased a new one for the guest. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent, really good quality food and plenty of it. Our room was excellent, the furniture first class. Extremely clean. To be honest we could go on and on about how good this hotel is, but there just isn't the room, all we can say is, experience it yourself, you will not regret it. One thing we found wonderful was, our car was parked safely behind gates where only the owners (Karl and Steve) have access to which meant we had no worries about it's safety or where to park it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, but if you pay a little extra for a bigger room it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This place is a really fabulous, fantastic and really classy find.
Ive stayed in some really lovely hotels all over the world, and The Lonsdale is more like a top notch country house hotel in minature than a bed & breakfast.
The decor, attention to detail and comfort is way up there.
Everything has been thought of CD player, hairdryer, beautiful glassware, fridge and even a balcony which is lovely.
I cant praise this place enough eating breakfast in the dining room is like sitting in an exclusive oppulent private members club, linen knapkins, table clothes, crockery presentation first class.
The concert grand piano sits imposingly and indeed very grandly in the sitting room and how fatantic when we asked Steve if he played he did no more than sat down and played a beautiful song for us ....... just magical!!!!
Steve and Carl made us feel very at home and comfortable and treated us like the most special guest that had walked through the door (which Im sure is how they treat everyone of their guests)
This place is elegant, stylish, classy and relaxing.
The guys are celebrating their 23rd year in running The Lonsdale congratulations Steve and Carl you are fantastic!!!!!!
There should be a catagory that excels excellent that should be awarded to this hotel they deserve it.

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lurcherlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

we stayed for one night on the 30th august as we was seeing family in blackpool the hotel was fantastic and stephen and karl was so friendly and welcomed us as their family which was lovely .the room was the edwardian room and it was so clean and comfortable .we love antique furniture so this hotel was perfect in every way we will be staying here again. the breakfast was great we had the full english and the bacon was not salty and the sausages was pork and herb and the food was very hot . also we had stephen play the piano for us at breakfast he is a brill player we all loved the music it finished our stay off perfectly thank you karl and stephen we hope to see you both soon.

Room Tip: we stayed in the edwardian room it is a double room with bathroom which has a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#167 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 136 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lonsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lonsdale Hotel

Address: 25 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 2BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lonsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing