We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlton
Ranked #385 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just stayed in the hotel and I agree the family who own it are so helpful and friendly. It is in a excellent location to the Winter Gardens and shopping facilities. The bedroom 2 was clean and comfortable, however i think it would benefit from a net curtain to give additional privacy and a sign to go on the outside of the door to inform the cleaner not to disturb . Our Breakfast and the service was excellent. Excellent value value for money and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: |Our room was very cosy and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    26
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
42
28
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My partner and myself where due to stay on Saturday 16th November however whilst we where already on our way there on the train the manager from the Carlton rings us and tells us that there has been a problem with his fax machine and he has overbooked. He says on the phone he had found us another hotel 2 doors down which he paid the difference too however we ended up downgrading from a 3 star to a 2 star and the hotel itself wasn't all that. Very old fashioned a little grubby but there was nothing we could do otherwise we'd have been stranded. It ruined our trip still now we are gutted.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 73490128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecarlton, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review however I do not agree with the rating given. I firstly asked you if you would accept alternative accommodation due to the over booking. You said this was fine. The hotel booked for you is a 2 star hotel. We are not a hotel but are classed as guest accommodation all be it at 3 stars. There is a difference between the facilities provided by a hotel and ourselves. You were not downgraded in fact more the opposite. I booked you into a King sized room and paid for you to have breakfast which you did not have booked here. I also paid the £28 difference in price, which your partner said was great compensation for only moving 2 doors down. Like I have said previously I do not think that the service I provided to you constitutes a 1 star grading. Also with 15+ hotels on Albert Road alone, I would hardly say that you were stranded.

I would once again like to apologise for the inconvenience that you were caused and that the steps taken did not go far enough for your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night for the illuminations. Room very clean with en suite and tea and coffee making facilities. The only thing I would like to say is that the bed was very low in room no 10 but not sure about other rooms. Stuart and Elizabeth were very friendly and approachable. Breakfast was excellent:- fruit juice and cereals followed by a choice of hot breakfast and the size of the plate with a full english was enormous to say the least then toast...if you still have room! Definitely recommend this little gem in the heart of blackpool next to Hounds Hill shopping centre and the Tower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHeeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for just one night whilst visiting Blackpool for the Illuminations. The location was very central. We were a little early when we arrived for checking. We were warmly greeted and as the room was ready were allowed to check in. The room was clean and of a very good standard and en-suite. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and they even offer a cooked vegetarian breakfast which included Quorn sausages and a quorn fillet which is a first for a hotel I have visited with my wife who is a vegetarian. I would recommend this hotel highly and would use again if I visited Blackpool again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor but I expect all rooms are of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the carlton in the family room with 2 children. The room was a good size with en suite the guy who checked us in was very helpful! The location for the town and the front was fantastic. With 2 kids it was ideal not having to drag them across blackpool to see the lights. The breakfast was lovely. Well worth the money.
Will definatly stay again, the kids are already planning next years trip :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarachesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Staying in Blackpool for 3 nights for some dancing in the tower we picked the Carlton due to its location.

Check in was very quick and we were even shown to our room but the young chap on reception even carried our case as well. The room was very clean and well equipped, if a little small.

Plenty of hot water (always a good point) and we had a room with a bath. Have to report that the bath was a little on the small side and extremely slow to fill.

The free wi-fi was excellent and was very reliability and a good quality. I've paid in other places and go a worse service.

Breakfast on all three days was plentiful, well cooked and quickly served.

Considering the location the hotel is not too noisy and we had three very good nights sleep. The bed was a little low and hard for my taste.

We will be staying again.

Room Tip: It is a 3 storey building with rooms on all floors, also it has steps to get to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

we found the hotel comfortable,very pleasent breakfast was first class and the waiter was very good at his job he made everyone feel at ease you could enjoy eating there the owners were pleasent and we were able to sit in the reception area and have a few drinks for as long as we liked stuart was very friendly towards guest and helpful if you needed anything this hotel comes highly recommended if you and family like to stay there we stayed here for 4nights and 5 days

Room Tip: i would tip this hotel for location to the town its 5 mins walk and u are in all the shops and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula499509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Oxford Hotel
New Oxford Hotel
#405 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sorrento House
Sorrento House
#68 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orbiston Hotel
Orbiston Hotel
#535 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Carlton Hotel
The Royal Carlton Hotel
#106 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#806 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Property: The Carlton
Address: 64 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton is a family run guesthouse catering for families, couples and senior citizens. Ideally situated we are two minutes walking distance from the Town center, the Winter Gardens, Blackpool Tower, Theaters and Piers. Also being within easy reach of the Zoo and the world famous Blackpool Pleasure Beach. You will find a warm welcome awaits you upon your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing