We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Unpretentious :D” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appleton Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appleton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #471 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and Unpretentious :D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent one night in the economy double it was a decent sized room and had clean bed linen and fluffy towels.

Jenny and her hubby were friendly and extremely helpful and offered to post my camera charger back to me when I forgot it.

Breakfast was promptly served with lovely thick white toast.

Its not the Ritz but it doesn't claim to be !

(There is a car park at the end of the street that is only £5.50 for 24 hours)

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its a busy little street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShavnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thanks for your review. We would welcome you back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Disgusting! When we first arrived the hotel smelt like dogs! Room was standard with a sink no en-suite, communal bathroom was filthy bath had a scum mark all the way around! Decoration was shabby and the so called power shower trickled! Breakfast was poor fried hot dog sausages on the full english! Rank! would definitely not recommend will never ever go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytripper1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We have looked at the points you have raised and made significant improvements which we think is reflected in our more recent reviews.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We used this B&B a couple of weeks ago, going to blackpool for my friends 21st. There were 8 of us in total and we were given the top floor to ourselves with 3 of us located on the floor below. All of the rooms were a great size, with a sink in each room. All the rooms were clean as were both toilets and the communal areas. The couple in charge couldn't do enough for us, always making sure we were okay and serving us in the bar. As for the breakfast, WOW! One of the best breakfasts I've ever had, with cereal, orange juice and tea on demand and a full english that was just amazing. Highly recommend visiting this B&B and just want to say thank you to the couple in charge for giving us a great weekend, you'll be seeing us all again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyCrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We would like to welcome you and your friends back next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Came for my sisters birthday with my mum and a friend. my and my sister got a room at the front with a double bed, dirty sink and a carpet that had never been introduced to the hoover. My mum and her friend ended up in a dinghy little twin room with a tiny window and hardly any light at all. The bathrooms were disgusting and the toilet had no sink to wash hands.

The bedding was horrible and the beds were not comfy in the slightest.

Breakfast was ok (we were expecting to leave it!)

The most terrible decoration I have ever seen in a B&B - Bad taste bears everywhere! Not a place I would ever dream of taking my children too.

Dont stay here! Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The last time I went was Tuesday 26th July, for two nights, that is all my schedule will allow.

This was the third time in as many months that I have stayed there and it will certainly NOT be my last. I found the Proprietors very helpful, polite and friendly. Out of all the Hotels I have stayed in, including when I was traveling around the Country for Royal Mail, this was the only one where assistance with my luggage was offered, I am now registered Disabled so the offer was greatly appreciated, though none of the other Hotels I have stayed in gave a second glance to the fact that I walk with a stick.

I will & have recommended this venue

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This B&B isn't clean, The bathroom doesn't have a sink! The owners have cheap wipes and handwash on top of the toilet, which in my opinion isn't good enough. The grout in the shower was dirty as was the bath mat. The place is smelly, the carpets are stained and old. The kettle in the room was black in side with a rusting element, we were told to help ourselves to towels but they were like the rest of the place, old and minging! The delightful smell of old cooking oil filled the place in the morning, we declined the offer of breakfast as we assumed this would have been as rotten as the rest of this sorrowful place! Thank goodness, we only stayed 1 night, which was to long if we could have got the train home we would have!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendaradcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
This persons review is totally unjustified and untrue. Our hotel is a friendly, clean comfortable budget hotel, of course you cannot please all of the people all of the time but at Appleton Lodge we DO please most of the people most of the time. Please check our very truthful reviews on booking.com we have a score of Fabulous 8.9 out of 10
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#349 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#450 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleton Lodge Hotel

Property: Appleton Lodge Hotel
Address: 52 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleton Lodge is centrally located, close to all major Blackpool attractions. There are tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, a TV lounge and free Wi-Fi. Bedrooms at The Appleton have wash basins, and there are ample shared bathroom/shower facilities. Hairdryers and ironing facilities are also available.Appleton Lodge Hotel is only a short walk to the Tower, Winter Gardens and Blackpool's shops, restaurants, pubs and clubs and the Golden Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appleton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing