We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appleton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #508 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This isn't 5 star accommodation but doesn't claim to be, it's clean with decent sized rooms and lovely owners who were very helpful. We stayed with a 21 month old who also had a lovely time in his travel cot. The top shower room was small but the shower was very good and i've stayed in some much much worse places than this for twice the price!
The bed was comfy, and the location was great.
I wouldn't recommend this for a long stay but a couple of nights is fine, we will be back for sure.
I don't agree with the negative reviews, this seems unfair, yes it's not 5 star but it really is fine.
We really enjoyed it.
For breakfast we were given the window table and breakfast was really lovely, thanks Iain!
I would recommend this hotel.
Charlie, Jill and Max

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliejillmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thanks for the kind comments in your review, which reflects what our hotel offers budget comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Its a B&B, our room was very clean, bathroom clean, bedding and bed were good, I was impressed and will stay there again. The breakfast was great too, nice variety for price paid. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWatson1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your review We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent one night in the economy double it was a decent sized room and had clean bed linen and fluffy towels.

Jenny and her hubby were friendly and extremely helpful and offered to post my camera charger back to me when I forgot it.

Breakfast was promptly served with lovely thick white toast.

Its not the Ritz but it doesn't claim to be !

(There is a car park at the end of the street that is only £5.50 for 24 hours)

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its a busy little street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShavnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thanks for your review. We would welcome you back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Disgusting! When we first arrived the hotel smelt like dogs! Room was standard with a sink no en-suite, communal bathroom was filthy bath had a scum mark all the way around! Decoration was shabby and the so called power shower trickled! Breakfast was poor fried hot dog sausages on the full english! Rank! would definitely not recommend will never ever go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daytripper1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We have looked at the points you have raised and made significant improvements which we think is reflected in our more recent reviews.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We used this B&B a couple of weeks ago, going to blackpool for my friends 21st. There were 8 of us in total and we were given the top floor to ourselves with 3 of us located on the floor below. All of the rooms were a great size, with a sink in each room. All the rooms were clean as were both toilets and the communal areas. The couple in charge couldn't do enough for us, always making sure we were okay and serving us in the bar. As for the breakfast, WOW! One of the best breakfasts I've ever had, with cereal, orange juice and tea on demand and a full english that was just amazing. Highly recommend visiting this B&B and just want to say thank you to the couple in charge for giving us a great weekend, you'll be seeing us all again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyCrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletonlodge, Owner at Appleton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We would like to welcome you and your friends back next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Came for my sisters birthday with my mum and a friend. my and my sister got a room at the front with a double bed, dirty sink and a carpet that had never been introduced to the hoover. My mum and her friend ended up in a dinghy little twin room with a tiny window and hardly any light at all. The bathrooms were disgusting and the toilet had no sink to wash hands.

The bedding was horrible and the beds were not comfy in the slightest.

Breakfast was ok (we were expecting to leave it!)

The most terrible decoration I have ever seen in a B&B - Bad taste bears everywhere! Not a place I would ever dream of taking my children too.

Dont stay here! Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The last time I went was Tuesday 26th July, for two nights, that is all my schedule will allow.

This was the third time in as many months that I have stayed there and it will certainly NOT be my last. I found the Proprietors very helpful, polite and friendly. Out of all the Hotels I have stayed in, including when I was traveling around the Country for Royal Mail, this was the only one where assistance with my luggage was offered, I am now registered Disabled so the offer was greatly appreciated, though none of the other Hotels I have stayed in gave a second glance to the fact that I walk with a stick.

I will & have recommended this venue

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#335 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleton Lodge Hotel

Address: 52 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleton Lodge is centrally located, close to all major Blackpool attractions. There are tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, a TV lounge and free Wi-Fi. Bedrooms at The Appleton have wash basins, and there are ample shared bathroom/shower facilities. Hairdryers and ironing facilities are also available.Appleton Lodge Hotel is only a short walk to the Tower, Winter Gardens and Blackpool's shops, restaurants, pubs and clubs and the Golden Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Appleton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing