We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house in blackpool”
Review of The Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manhattan
Ranked #16 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best guest house in blackpool”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Kevin and ian outdid themselves this time. They organised all out tickets for pride and as we received the warm welcome that we have become acustomed to. In my mind there is only one guest house to stop at in blackpool and that is the manhattan. You are made to feel part of the family and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russell-vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
186
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We visited Blackpool during the Dance Festival in late May, 2012, and stayed in the Manhattan for 2 nights. Kevin and Ian have been very helpful both with our reservation and during our visit. The hotel is very close to the train station Blackpool North (5 mins walk), and very close to the sea side. Hotel room is very cozy and definitely worth the price! Also, breakfast is great!

The only thing that can be improved is to have Wi-fi in the hotel, or at least in the lobby:)

All in all, this is a very good hotel to stay when you visit Blackpool!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryantheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just back from our 3rd visit to The Manhattan.

Everything excellent as usual, Great welcome from Ian & Kevin as if we had never been away!

Probably one of the best cooked breakfasts which would rival many high class hotel brands, - Hot, good quality ingredients and plenty of - no skimping but at the same time not overloading you!

I really now would not stay anywhere else in Blackpool, this place really is a hidden gem and the effort the guys puts in clearly shows, Im pretty sure it wont be long before the Manhattan is ranked no 1 out of all the B&Bs in Blackpool.

Keep up the good work guys and we will see you soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Returned to Blackpool again and had to go back to The Manhattan. Always very welcoming,comfortable and an excellent breakfast. A perfect start to a busy day. The town is only a short walk away and sandy beaches that go on for miles. Kevin and Ian keep all the rooms immaculate and are always happy to help with their local knowledge.

Certainly plan to return again for the Blackpool lights later in the year. Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: Never had a problem with any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Ian and Kevin certainly know how to look after their customers. We had booked in for two nights last week, whilst touring the UK.

Breakfast - Huge - fab thank you!

Location - a couple of minutes from the Blackpool Tower (Oh Blackpool council, your tower is a tower, not an eye!).

Great place, thanks for being as attentive, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Great value Blackpool hotel, noise was not an issue, so you should be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed two nights at The Manhattan when you walk in the first thing to meet you is the lovely lounge/ bar area, we were very suprised at how local it was to the main town centre but far enough away not to hear the any noise.

The breakfast is wonderful a full english with lots of other products available too.

Our room was en-suite with television and tea/coffee facilities.

Kevin and Ian make you very welcome

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Ian and Kevin were great hosts, they couldn't do enough for us and made us feel more than welcome. The rooms they provided for us were excellent, very comfortable, and the breakfasts superb! The breakfast/Bar area is finished to a very high standard and we found everything to be spotless. Bar prices and room rates were very reasonable. We were there for my Mum's 70th and they went out of their way to make her feel special. We have already decided that when we next take a trip to Blackpool we are staying with Ian and Kevin! Would highly recommend their B & B to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Manhattan Hotel
The Manhattan Hotel
#45 of 73 in Blackpool
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 860 in Blackpool
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 860 in Blackpool
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan

Property: The Manhattan
Address: 27 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 2BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Bedroom Victorian Guest House in Blackpool centre.5 Mins walk from Blackpool North Train Station. Just a quick stroll to the beach.Please note... Due to the age & style of the building, we are unable to accept wheelchair users or people unable to climb stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing