We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep booking to go back”
Review of Gordene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gordene Hotel
Ranked #74 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

whenever visit blackpool theres definatley no other place to stay .
Alan and donna are great hosts and for anyone with children this is definately a child friendly hotel .
Rooms are immaculate and tea making facilities are in rooms and topped up on a daily basis and if anything extra is needed all you need to do is ask .
Perfectly situated 5 minutes from coral island and the centre but as its a family and couple only hotel theres no large noisy groups which is a definate plus when travelling with children.
Evening meals can be booked and breakfast is well worth the stay
Have booked next visit already

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterHiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Gordene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Gordene hotel, and can honestly say it was one of the best we have stayed in. Alan and Donna couldn't have been more accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.
We also had evening meal and the food was fantastic and the portions were more than ample!
The room was very clean and comfortable with plently tea and coffee complete with biscuits, there were also sweets in the room which was a really nice touch.
The hotel is very well situated close to central pier which was great as it is really central.
Would recommend this hotel and will definately stay there again.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mawbroon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Gordene hotel for 7 nights. We got a warm welcome, a clean and well decorated (but rather small room) and unlimited tea, coffee and biscuits in the room.

The room as well as the bed felt a bit small for two people plus the mattress was incredibly soft

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the central pier and within easy walking distance to attractions and Blackpool North Station (about 25minutes).

I found Donna friendly and approachable about things like extra coffee and milk, leaving suitcases at the hotel after checking out and changing breakfast times. Her husband Alan could be cranky on occasion. We would, however, have expected a better knowledge of local attractions and events of our hosts.

I enjoyed the breakfast but found it a bit repetitive after a week. Some fresh fruit, cheese, yoghurts or a variety of bread would have made a real difference. Another slight criticism is that you can only have breakfast at either 8 or 9am. Both times are a bit early and feel to much like a regime for people on a holiday. The Gordene Hotel offers an evening meal which we did not use as it was only on offer at 5pm.

The servicing of the rooms on a daily basis was quite limited. The tea facilities were re-stocked and the bin changed on most days but the bed was not made, the floor not vacuumed and the towels were not exchanged once during our 7 day stay.

As Donna and Alan have a dog (which does not normally come into the hotel area) they should mention this on their website for the benefit of people suffering from an allergy.

Likes:
-large breakfast with unlimited tea, coffee and toast
-respond well to requests (brown bread instead of white, extra tea and coffee)
-clean, tastefully decorated room upon arrival
-in-house bar with reasonably priced drinks and nibbles
-quiet (does not allow hen& stag parties)
-within easy walking distance to many local attractions
-(mostly) friendly hosts

Points of Improvement
-Service rooms fully every day.
-Change breakfast system to be more accomodating.
-Offer greater variety of food for breakfast.
-Evening meal should be slightly later.
-Research local ammeneties better.
-Exchange mattress.

Room Tip: Better for short stays
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordene, Owner at Gordene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thanks for the review., it was lovely to have you stay.
With regard to size of room you did book the small double ensuite and it does say that this is a compact room. Your room was serviced and towels were changed, as the week went on there were lots of your personal items on the floor and we would not dream of going through them to look for towels underneath when you are not in. There was a morning when you didn't want your room servicing and also a late night when you asked for biscuits, at either of these times you could have asked for more towels or at any other time when we chatted about your day etc. With regard to hoovering, if your floor was in need of it you only had to ask, we are here to help. As with the evening meal we have to set a time as the dining room needs to be ready for the bar opening at 7pm. You asked many questions during your stay but you never asked if having a later meal was an option? With regard to our knowledge of the area, in the year we have been here we have researched many things and always make sure there is a good selection of leaflets and vouchers for you to choose from, on arrival we also gave you a map that we had purchased to help you find your way around, if there were some things we didn't know e.g is there a pizza express here, we always offered to find out but you always insisted it didn't matter. With regard to breakfast we are a b&b and do not offer late times like a hotel would do. Also we do state that we offer cereals, a full english breakfast and toast, and not a continental option.
Overall we were glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we have answered some of the points you raised and given other guests the opportunity to hear feed back, we wish you both well with your writing and acting and may you have many more adventures. Alan & Donna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Location is great, very easy walking to the pier, beach and centre of town.
Parking isn't available directly outside the hotel but is available for £5.50 for 24 hours in a lot close by, ask hosts for directions.
Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and they made it a real pleasure to stay at the Gordene Hotel.
Rooms are cosy, comfortable and clean. There is a bar downstairs with a snooker/pool table. Delicious breakfast was provided.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Had a fantastic 2 night stay with lots of family menbers, nothing was too much trouble for Donna & Alan, the breakfast was huge and set you up for a good day out :-)
the rooms are very clean and tidy, the sweets and biscuits are a lovely touch.This is a very warm and friendly family run hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We have just stayed one night at the hotel with 3 adults and 3 young children (under 5). Good location very near the tower and sea front, 5 min walk away. Rooms compact, but had everything you need and lots of attention to detail with the little extras! Exceptionally clean and everything felt very fresh. Beautiful breakfast, which also catered for vegetarians upon request - thank you! Nothing was too much trouble and we very much appreciated your hospitality. Donna was fantastic with our children who were getting a little boystrious and offered them crayons and colouring books to play with and we felt understood how it was for us travelling with small children and respected our parental judgement - thank you for a fab stay in one of my favourite places!! Wendy, Pat, Melissa, Ross, Joe & Alfie x

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

allan and donna were great hosts very friendly breakfast was great a full english set us up for the day will be returning

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#83 of 859 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trentham Guest House
Trentham Guest House
#43 of 859 in Blackpool
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#29 of 859 in Blackpool
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#12 of 859 in Blackpool
1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#21 of 859 in Blackpool
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 859 in Blackpool
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordene Hotel

Address: 7 Havelock Street, Blackpool FY1 4BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £43 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gordene Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gordene hotel, open all year for bed and breakfast in central Blackpool. A warm and friendly guest house catering for couples, families and senior citizens. ( no stag & hens or single sex groups). LOcated in central Blackpool, close to Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, Sealife Centre, Hounds Hill Shopping centre, the beautiful promenade, with its brand new comedy carpet.All prices include breakfast. All rooms are en-suite, they each have tv's with free view, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities, iron & ironing board, alarm clock. Linen and towels included.We have a licensed residents bar open daily fom 7pm, serving a range of drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gordene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing