We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down old junkbox.”
Review of Harlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harlands Hotel
Ranked #491 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I visited over the weekend and first impressions were it was an old fashioned typical "blackpool" hotel. I only met one staff member(Not sure if was owner or manager) and he seemed a pleasent enough man. Didnt see anyone else during my whole weekend who worked there which i find strange. Dont get me wrong, i wasnt in the hotel alot as it was not a room i wanted to stay in as i felt slighty down graded and dirty. The people giving the "excellent" reviews will 95% be older couples, blackpool locals or common travelers. So if you dont think you apply to those then i recommend you look away from this hotel sadly.

The double bedroom was so small, that you couldnt swing a hamster never mind a cat in the room. We were giving a bed and a horrible blue two seated sofa which was approxemetly 5 inches away from the side of our bed.. now if you ask me, i dont see any logic what so ever having a sofa right next to a bed. maybe you want a diffrent feeling on you backside, who knows. I have stayed in the "cliffs hotel" in blackpool which was 50x the quality of this hotel.

Now on to the positives. The shower "area" was clean enough (apart from the shower rail which had yellow mould and gunk coming from the metal). The room was very well heated, the carpet was hooverd well and the bedding was clean to a certain extent.

Im dissapointed to be writing such a bad review as i take no pride in it what so ever. But for those who might think "aw its got lots of good reviews" please understand that those people will find this hotel 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spiderman3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

just arrived home after another fantastic stay at the Harlands hotel I have just read a review and im sure they haven't been to the same hotel as us because the staff are always very friendly and helpful Graham and Joanne and the rest of the staff are always willing to go the extra mile to help you enjoy your stay .The rooms are spotless and very comfortably and the food is always hot and plenty of it .We had great entertainment every evening and the bar is well stocked and very reasonable so I don't know what some people expect I have said this before but if people want more than they get at the harlands for the price they paid I suggest they book for the Hilton next time .so I would just like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the Harlands and will see you in march love sue and family x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSANP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I dont know where to start. Really felt ignored with any request we made to the person who was behind the reception desk. He was not at all accomodating or corporative with us. We were travelling with a little baby and been and stayed in many places across uk and have always received good service and courtous people but this place is deranged from these qualities.
There was No one to entertain your request and if any its denied always. Straight face no smiles or greeting ever. No heating in room, toilets not clean, no wifi when asked for password was given one but wont connect. No bed side light, most importantly bedsheets were not clean neither were the pillows or covers ( i was scratching myself all night and have some red spots on my body its horrible.

When asked that due to the baby crying all night couldnt sleep properly and if possilble could check out half to an hour late as just woke up the guy did not even care to listen to understand and dissmissed the request by saying its not possible as the check out time is set at 10 am and nothing can be done, i mean come on i have seen b&b were you get extra time in such similar situation but NO not here

Its was all altogether a disgusting stay at this place and would never visit or recomend this place to anyone.

They dont do breakfasts as they dont feel the need for this for only few guests staying here. Well if the service was nice why wouldnt people stay.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we spent 2 nights at the Harlands Hotel and couldn't fault it whatsoever. Upon arrival we were made to feel welcome, the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, bed was really comfy and the room was lovely and warm, as well as having a sea view. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had a lovely weekend at the Harlands hotel. A Christmas theme for a Christmas day.Clean rooms , good food and a pound bar. what more do you want . With great entertainment both nights.. Had a lot of fun and laughter with others that went on the Gee Vee coach weekend.Merry Christmas and a Happy New year to you Graham ,louise and family .Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

had my original review removed due to alcoholic moaners complaining,so here is a scaled down version, ten of us had a great holiday here all family members ,we came with geevee coaches and as normal the staff at the harlands couldn't do enough for you.see you at new year when were back with geevee again.love to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pepperSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in Bispham so a little further north than North Pier. However, there is a tram stop just outside the hotel so everything is easily accessible. We stayed in a room with a sea view on the third floor. It was a basic room with two beds, a tea tray, a TV and an en suite bathroom. As other reviewers have suggested, this hotel seems to cater mostly for coach parties of older guests. The breakfast and dinner regime is quite dated for the modern generation, however, it would work very well for older guests as it brings guests together. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there were posters advertising upcoming events at the hotel to keep guests informed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,114 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,298 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlands Hotel

Address: 298 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #491 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £39 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Harlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing