We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Waves Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waves Hotel
Ranked #35 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Once again we had a fantastic time at Waves. From the minute you walk through the door John and Dean make you so welcome. Lovely breakfasts, comfy beds and brilliant prices, make this the best b & b in Blackpool.
Location couldn't be better, in a quiet street, and only a short walk into town.
We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibbs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went to the waves hotel for the first time in April 2013 and will no longer pend hours looking through b & bs I will always use the waves , hotel is clean, staff are so welcoming and treat you like family. Deans chef skills are somthing else. Anyone who attends this b & b wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 for a couple excellent view over sea and gardens :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Once again we have returned from waves hotel. First time with my four grandchildren & they loved it, The kids loved John & dean but who doesn't love them both because they are two amazing guys. The kids loved the wee tuck shop which john & dean don't need to have there but that is how considerate they are they think of everything including the playstation with all the latest games well done guys you run a well established hotel in the best area in blackpool. Looking forward to Jan, April, June & Sept 2014

Room Tip: Room 1 & 5 overlooking sea Room 3 & 5 family rooms but every room I would reccomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from our 4th stay with John and Dean ( and Harvey !!) at this fantastic hotel on the North Shore. The hotel simply could not be faulted in any way, spotlessly clean, lovely comfy bed, breakfast to die for which really sets you up for the day, super location overlooking Gynn Square with tram and bus stops at the end of the road.
John and Dean are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they always go the 'extra mile' to make your stay a memorable one, as far as we are concerned - Blackpool wouldn't be Blackpool without the Waves Hotel !!!!
Can't wait for our next visit !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the room was clean and the breakfast was excellent!
John and Dean were great hosts including Harvey the chocolate lab!
My kids loved it we stayed for one night, and cannot wait to come back !!
Situated in a quiet square near lovely parks

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CHRISGemmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at Waves for two nights whilst on a business trip to Blackpool. I chose this hotel because it was just 1 mile from where I was working, had excellent reviews and was very well priced. It lived up to all of the reviews. A lovely warm welcome and had I been staying there on holiday John had plenty of recommendations for what to do. Clearly knows the area well. My room was at the back of hotel, a small room with a double bed (very comfy), wardrobe, tea & coffee and a private shower room. The shower was excellent, plenty of hot water and a good level of power. Toiletries provided too which was a lovely touch and unexpected. All very clean. It was very quiet too so I slept well. The only thing that bothered me was a small light flashing on the smoke alarm (I'm sensitive to the smallest of lights, even a TV light) however, I take an eye mask with me so not a problem. I didn't have cooked breakfast as I tend to eat just cereals and toast however, I just know that the breakfast would have been great. It so good to be able to find good quality independently owned hotels at excellent prices, rather than having to use one of the expensive chains of hotels. Support local business and stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here whilst house hunting in Blackpool.

You know this is going to be a lot nicer than most hotels as soon as you see it. A clean bright modern fresh exterior that invites you in

I'm a notoriously bad sleeper but the beds were really comfy and I slept well.

For those on holiday, the hotel couldn't be much nearer the beach yet just tucked into quiet side street away from the hustle and bustle and with loads of free parking

Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-Barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.6 mi away
Beverley Dean
Beverley Dean
#29 of 863 in Blackpool
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The North Crest Hotel
The North Crest Hotel
#9 of 863 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#20 of 863 in Blackpool
337 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#22 of 863 in Blackpool
698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#62 of 863 in Blackpool
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Hotel

Address: 12 Willshaw Road, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waves Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waves a friendly, clean, cosy guesthouse in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are located in a beautiful prime location overlooking Gynn Gardens, and just a few steps away from the Promenade and Sea. Yet the excitement and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Also within easy reach are market towns such as Cleveleys and Fleetwood. There is free on street parking, alternatively there is a car park at the end of the street, where a fee is charged. We are open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing