We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waves”
Review of Waves Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves Hotel
Ranked #30 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“waves”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

John & Dean are great pair of hosts & make your stay worth while and fun. Breakfast was well cooked and served promptly, coffee was fresh & hot. Would stay again if we go to Blackpool again. Ideal spot for trams & bus's but also not to far to walk to tower.

Room Tip: Rooms are not big so ask for largest available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
152
123
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from another great stay at Waves. This is the 4th time we have stayed here and we wouldn't stay anywhere else we love it. John and Dean are wonderful hosts, and Harvey the dog is as lovely as ever. As always our room was spotless and the breakfast was just excellent. We never want to leave. Our time there just goes way too fast. Cant wait to go back next year.
Victoria, Ian and Luke

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arrived with the kids to a very warm welcome, and a pot of tea. Both John and Dean make it feel like a home from home and it is a very relaxed atmosphere. I had a family room which was spacious and clean, it offers very good value for money, and the breakfast was included-Dean is a marvel in the kitchen. It is at north end and just a stones throw from a tram and bus stop. There are shops and a play park just across the road. I will not stay anywhere else in Blackpool. They have a wee tuck shop in the lounge for the kids which is a great idea, and nothing is a problem for them. Only downside was having to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have just returned from my first time staying at the Waves Hotel. The reception that I received from John on arrival was, as the heading implies, warm and welcoming. The hotel was very good value for money and the room was very clean and comfortable. Dean's breakfasts were excellent and they even kindly agreed to provide me with an earlier breakfast than normal on the day that I needed it. The location is excellent in the quieter North Shore area of Blackpool overlooking Gynn Square and has very easy access to the local transport with a Tram stop at the end of the road. I will certainly stay there again and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I strongly agree with the other reviewers. Just returned from our latest stay with John and Dean at WAVES. Been back a few times now and love it there. Comfortable beds, great food(thanks Dean!) and always a very, very warm welcome. Would not stay anywhere else in Blackpool!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateC251010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the Waves Hotel, and as the title of this review states we are already planning a return visit. The hotel is fantastic value for money and on both occasions that we have stayed we have been impressed. The accommodation and its owners are welcoming and the facilities cater for our needs perfectly.

On our most recent trip we stayed in the family room, it is two rooms converted into one. It offers a double bed and a bunk bed which our children (2+7) were thrilled with! This room has a shower and fresh, soft, clean towels and bedding. Perfect after a long day checking out the local tourist attractions or a late night taking in the illuminations!

The room was extremely clean and comfortable, and the added extras that John and Dean have provided such as complimentary beverages, bottled water and a kettle as well as toiletries and bedside lamps really make a difference. There is also a card on the table in the room displaying breakfast times and prices for the trams and advice should require the use of the hotels Wi-Fi.

Breakfast is served from 8.30am-9.30am and there is plenty of choice, vegetarians are also catered for. The food is of an excellent standard and John and Dean are happy to tweak the menu to cater for fussy children and husbands alike! Eating breakfast was a pleasant experience, the dining room is pleasant and as well as a cooked breakfast there is cereal and juice readily available. Our two young children were made to feel comfortable with character placemats and John was kind enough to spend a few minutes running through the different options of placemat for our two year old son.

John and Dean provide a service that makes you feel welcome, instantly relaxed and wishing you did not have to leave. Their knowledge of Blackpool and the local attractions adds to the experience and we were most grateful for some money saving vouchers that John provided us with for the Sealife centre. They are more than happy to help make your visit enjoyable and the outcome is an outstanding, happy, comfortable hotel with lots to offer.

This is the best hotel we have stayed in at Blackpool and look forward to returning many times.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Another great stay at waves. John and Dean where as welcoming as i remember, The room was clean and tidy, the breakfast was amazing, What more could you ask for? Thanks again for another great stay, Pete and family, Leeds.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pete2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 859 in Blackpool
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Manhattan
The Manhattan
#17 of 859 in Blackpool
590 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#21 of 859 in Blackpool
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,185 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Mercury
The Mercury
#11 of 859 in Blackpool
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#14 of 859 in Blackpool
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Hotel

Property: Waves Hotel
Address: 12 Willshaw Road, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waves Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waves a friendly, clean, cosy guesthouse in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are located in a beautiful prime location overlooking Gynn Gardens, and just a few steps away from the Promenade and Sea. Yet the excitement and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Also within easy reach are market towns such as Cleveleys and Fleetwood. There is free on street parking, alternatively there is a car park at the end of the street, where a fee is charged. We are open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing