We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place!”
Review of Waves Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves Hotel
Ranked #25 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little place!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here as a family with two young kids in a family room, room was huge lots of space and was absolute spotless. This little place is lovely John and Dean make you feel so welcome! Breakfast was amazing! Overall excellent value for money and will defo be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 36Happycouple36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
123
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

waves is a lovely little hotel that offers a warm welcome and a high standard of cleanliness.
the breakfast was,without doubt,the best I have had in all my years of travel in the uk.
the biggest recommendation I can give is that when I return to blackpool I shall only go if waves is availaible for my dates.
a little out of town centre,but bus/tram day tickets can be purchased yards from the hotel and are really cheap.

Room Tip: only stayed once but no complaints at all about the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Skid6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose the Waves Hotel for their excellent pricing, rave Trip Advisor reviews and close proximity to the promenade.
We started our Waves Hotel experience with a check in/sit down/meet-up with John and Dean (owners & operators) in the communal lounge. Both are fantastic people and full of info about everything Blackpool and are eager to share it all with you.
Our room was clean, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. Unlike other Hotels/B&Bs we have stayed at, breakfasts in the mornings, with our fellow guests, were delicious, filling and had a warming, family atmosphere overall, with John and Dean opening conversations between all of the tables about our planned activities for the day.
My wife and I are in agreement that we wouldn't do another Blackpool trip without staying at the Waves Hotel again. Lastly, I took a photo of a decoration that was located in the front hallway, which summed up our experience perfectly in one sentence, "Enter as Strangers, Leave as Friends"

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JCCIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

John and dean are the perfect host s and make you feel at home the minute you walk through the door .always on hand with plenty of information on blackpool good with children and very helpful definitely will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having spoke to John and dean over the phone a few times to pay for my family's stay for 5 nights it was clear to me that loved having family's stay in the hotel , the reasonable prices was what attracted me to the hotel originally.
The owners themselves are 1 in a million , lovely caring warm and friendly. But i do have a few nit picks about a few things and i felt sad that i had to write them because John and dean are both lovely people.
Beds: The kids slept like rocks so no issues there , but the beds werent all that comfy at all in my opinion i slept ok just not as nice as i would of hoped my partner also agreed the beds weren't great.
Family room view: You could see the blackpool tower narrowly threw the gap in the windows , but the view behind us wasn't nice at all , it was just backs of houses. But i cant really fault them for that as it was the biggest room they had.
Breakfast: I didn't want to upset anybody whilst i was there but the breakfast came out basically stone cold 2 times i sat down to eat it.
I have a disorder known as borderline personality disorder , its not something i share very often but in this case i need to , it was nice to go to a hotel as a young family and not feel looked down on , i know you can get a lot of snobby people who do frown upon young couples for kids but i could tell almost straight John wasn't like that , he was very warm and engaged with the kids even gave them buckets and spades to go to the beach with.
The big bonus to all this was , they collected vouchers for the family's that do stay which saved us over £40 in costs for the sea-life centre and mc Donald's.

Overall , i would love to come back to the hotel again. It was a nice a place to stay but Johns and deans personality is what makes this place blackpools little treasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well what can I say that has not been said before
Waves is the best John & Dean are brill. Hotel is close to all that Blackpool offers. The breakfast is the best ever. Why would you want to stay anywhere else.
Give it ago we cant all be wrong. EXCELLENT!!!!!!

Thanks again for a EXCELLENT stay
Pat & Den

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landroverLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our 2nd stay with John and Dean, and the service just gets better and better. As previous people have said they dont find anything a hassle, and their knowledge of the area would give tourist information a run for their money!! This place is a great find and i wouldnt consider staying anywhere else. Rooms are clean and ours newly decorated, the lounge is spacious and a great way to meet other guests or to chill. Breakfast is beyond perfect with John being the front man, and Dean the cook, all great quality ingredients sets you right up for the day....Hope to be back VERY SOON. North end of Blackpool, 2 minute walk from tram stop lots of take aways across the park. You'd be mad not to use them because once you've been you'll return

Room Tip: Lots of different sized rooms, we used room 3 with a double bed and bunk beds. They also havea room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 856 in Blackpool
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#16 of 856 in Blackpool
273 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 856 in Blackpool
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
2.7 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
758 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#12 of 856 in Blackpool
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Hotel

Property: Waves Hotel
Address: 12 Willshaw Road, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waves Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waves a friendly, clean, cosy guesthouse in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We are located in a beautiful prime location overlooking Gynn Gardens, and just a few steps away from the Promenade and Sea. Yet the excitement and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Also within easy reach are market towns such as Cleveleys and Fleetwood. There is free on street parking, alternatively there is a car park at the end of the street, where a fee is charged. We are open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing