We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danny from leicester. Absolutely fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
1 review
“Danny from leicester. Absolutely fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for a weekend and I can honestly this hotel is fantastic! Its facilities are some of the best I've seen and there is something for everyone. When you drive up the long drive way to the hotel you know you are visiting somewhere special and you are not disappointed on arriving at the reception desk the staff are friendly and well presented and can not be more helpful. The hotel had been recently refurbished and looked fantastic and there is a real relaxed buzz about the hotel. We had a coffee in the new Starbucks before going up to our room again the staff where polite and helpful. Our room was really nice clean and modern with flat screen tv and the bed is the most Comftable I have slept in in any hotel, a lot of hotel rooms can feel old and tired but these really did hit the mark I think they got it just right on the refurbishment. The leisure club was great we spent some time in the gym which had Absolutley everything and more and didn't feel busy as it is so large. The pool was great for kids and the new heated outdoor pool was great even when a little nippy. We had a treatment in the new Spa area and this was great really relaxing the staff where great it really destressed us. We ate in the new Italian bucca de beppo restaurant which we loved ( and we eat a lot of Italian ), again the staff where great and the atmosphere was fantastic. I played golf in the morning and the guys in the pro shop where really helpful I had a chat with them about the course, the course was brilliant with some really good feature holes I particularly liked the par 3 8th. The course was immaculate and the greens where some of the best I've played. The victory bar was really good with a great friendly atmosphere for all the family and the food here was good to ( try the double stack premier burger with a pint of Magners!!! ). Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone couples families and groups we have already booked our next trip back to spend new year here!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    941
    677
    297
    190
See reviews for
776
1,235
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have stayed in this hotel several times, It is the best hotel we have found in Blackpool, although it must be emphasised that this is not saying too much as some of the hotels we have tried are truly awful.

Herons Reach has recently undergone a major refurbishment. If you like really dark colours (black, dark blue, purple) then you will be happy; along with hardly any lighting in the rooms. More seriously the refurbishment is already showing signs of wear - ring marks on the bedside tables, chipped and worn paint and varnish.

The service has gone down too. We were initially given the key to a room which was already occupied (could have been embarrassing). The servicing of our room was only partly done - cups and glasses were not washed.

We have not tried the new restaurant. The decor and the menu would suggest it is emulating TGI , burgers, pizza and pasta - fine for families with kids but not adults looking for a smart dinner.

The whold place looks as if it has gone deliberately down market.

Room Tip: Ask for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawri j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nice location, room nice apart from peeling from ceiling, stayed one night £189 ,breakfast was appalling we could not go in the main restaurant and told to go to the victory pub, this was a very male environment and my partner did not feel comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style and to say the quality and temperature of the food was extremely poor indeed,very disappointed.what our stay worth the money ? Absolutely not. Sorry de veer you have failed in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Facilities excellent, lovely outdoor pool, staff friendly, food very good and treat for grandson on arrival in room a lovely touch. One negative point, price of drinks in Italian restaurant on the expensive side but food was lovely. Will certainly go back when we stay in Blackpool

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very friendly-almost too attentive in Buca some times-the rooms clean, although I would agree that they are quite dark due to small windows and colour scheme. The staff in the Leisure Club were extremely helpful, taking time to explain the ins and outs of the different activities available. The indoor and outdoor pools were always clean-perhaps when they cut the grass next time though the cuttings could be swept away from the edge of the pool!
The golf course was extremely well kept and a great view of the greens could be had from the 19th hole! Good venue for family with teenagers!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank DebJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Herons Reach looks like a very special place to stay. Don't be fooled by the decor because beyond the swanky image, it's actually not that good. The worst thing about it is the food; it is awful. Everything tastes as if it is still in a plastic wrapper. Unless you're a glutten for punishment, don't try the comedy fish cakes and if you order chicken, make sure you get some, the portions are laughable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We are a Group of 8 ladies who visited on a Golf Sunday Driver. We'd stayed at this hotel approx 5 times previously. We disliked the changes made in converting this hotel from the De Vere branding to Village hotel.
This has cheapened the hotel - especially the restaurant which now looks like a very poor mock Italian cafe with its plastic brown check table cloths. The menu has obviously been designed for maximum profit with almost every dish being pasta with very little of much else in them. The wine list is limited and expensive for what's on it. Service was very slow with poorly trained youngsters. Long queues and a poorer self service breakfast added to the misery. Tables, inside and out on the terrace, where rarely cleared or wiped clean. Another money raiser for the hotel is the Starbucks cafe at the front entrance.
The rooms have been 'renovated' in navy, pale/dark grey and hence are really dark. They still have no air con. The tiny window doesn't open far - in case you wanted to jump out. A tiny apology for a dressingtable mirror added insult to injury. The bathroom is still tiny and a shower screen instead of curtain makes it feel even smaller. Only very tall people could hang there gowns on the bathroom hook where it would also trap in the door. There are only cheap soap dispensers now instead of nice small toiletries.
On the whole prices have risen and cannot be justified. If you are going just for the hotel - I'd say look elsewhere, if you have any standards. If going for the golf - think carefully about what you like to eat and consider using the golf bar instead of the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanie5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Beach) Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing