We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed at the DeVere Hotel in Blackpool for one night on 15th September 2011 to celebrate my brothers wedding which was also at the venue the following day on Friday 16th September.

The rooms were very clean, modern and comfotable. Tea and Coffee available and flat screen tv's.

Breakfast was varied and very nice, although i did keep burning my toast!

My i also add that the venue for the wedding was perfect, great food, service and overall all a fantastic family wedding. Would definatley recommend!

Room Tip: Had a connecting room which was handy and made extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,818 - 3,824 of 3,893 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of September. No complaints at all, the hotel is clean and tidy and the room was spotless.

We had a room which over looked the golf course which was pleasant, the only snag about the room was that the window only opened around 1inch (but we could live with that)

Breakfast was great and there were plenty of choice, i'm not sure that the italian music is appropriate first thing in a morning but i suppose it all goes with the theme???

Over all we had a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for a golf break. Hotel is very clean, but lighting poor in rooms. Restaurant is different, Italian with a twist!!. Service was professional and breakfast very good.Be careful if deal includes wine it isnt the bottle they put on your table but a glass each which wasnt made clear in paperwork or at table.
As a 2 ball at golf very slow playing and they couldnt pair us up.

Room Tip: make sure you arent near function room as noisy 2nd floor is better. however only one lift working s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here for a weekend break with my husband and 9 year old daughter. Got a fairly good deal with meal included for the 1st eve stay and breakfast both mornings. Some good points and some bad points about the hotel. I actually like the refurbishment, modern decor and the outside pool is a nice touch. We spent a lot of time in the pool's and really enjoyed them. We had a meal (included in our overall price) in the Italian restaurant on the first evening. We were a bit dissapointed with this as the choice was limited if you had booked a package. The food was ok, little bit too much garlic in absolutely everything but still quite edible. Breakfast was pretty good but extremely busy and had a huge que both mornings. Unfortunately there was one thing that was awful about the hotel and that was the temperature in the bedroom's. We had a lovely view of the golf course in a family room but I think we were over the kitchen's due to the constant smell of cooking and the window would only open about an inch as it was screwed down. The room was (no exaggeration) unbearably hot. We were all roasting when we were trying to get ready, we may as well have been abroad with no air con. We spent the night's lying on top of the covers unable to take advantage of the lovely comfy covers because there was no cooling down. We told reception of this and was given a fan which hardly made a difference unless you stood right in front of it. It may seem a small issue but in actual fact it would prevent me from staying at this hotel again until they get some air con sorted. It did kind of ruin what should have been a really good weekend. I would have rated the score 4 if the room had been much, much cooler. So if you stay at this hotel I am sure you will enjoy it, just ask for a cool room.

Room Tip: Ask for a cool room as some are situated over the kitchen's and are extremely hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kerri_sweeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked this hotel via late deals site so the bargain price is not reflective of the usual rack rate. In fact it was half the price!
However I do like booking Village hotels as they always have a good standard even if when you wake up you could be in any other their hotels. In this case Heron reach maintained the high standard.
The room was very clean and facilities excellent. A large TV and internet access for free is always a bonus. The bathroom was bright and very modern although I found it impossible to work out which tap was which. Perhaps I should have sought advice!
The reception was very busy and as this hotel is linked to a golf course it was very busy all the time with groups of golfers either bustling in the 19th hole or in the restaurant.
The place had a recently cleaned feel although the corridors go on forever and need brighter lighting.
One concern was the lift was broken down and what asking about had been for several days. In this enlightened era prompt repairs are a must for less able clients.
The breakfast was hearty although the usual 9am rush happened and a stressed chef leaked frustration when complaints were made the sausage was not cooked. ‘It is cooked it’s the colour of the meat’ was his reply!
Ate in the restaurant on the evening and can say the meal was very nice full portions and presented well by very pleasant staff. The bar staff were also charming and when that level of customer attention is given then it smooth’s any other issues.
Big plus: - Clean and pleasant waiting staff
Big negative: - dark corridors and faulty lift

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We enjoyed Heron's Reach when it was de Vere Hotel bvut it is now De Vere Village Hotel and I think it is even better. The rooms have been revamped to a very good standard and thre restaurant is very good as well. Looking forward to going back as we love the Lytham area hence Lythamlovers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed at Herons Reach in a twin room for one night in early September with a friend as we were attending a stag night in Blackpool. Although the check in is officially 3pm we arrived a little earlier as our journey had not taken as long as anticipated.

I had booked a twin room but the male receptionist informed us that a double room had been allocated, he stated that this was the fault of the booking company but the documentation from the booking company clearly stated "Twin Room", this meant that our room was not ready and he suggested we return later. I accept that as were arrived early the room may not be available, however, when we asked what time the room might be available the receptionist refused to give us a specific time simply repeating that we should return later. Even when asked whether we needed to return in one hour, two hours etc he was unwilling to commit to a time. Eventually I asked him the hotel official check in time and informing him that I would return at this time (3pm). When we did return, at 3.30ish, the room was available. May have helped if reception had been better staffed, always seemed to be a queue but usually only one staff member on duty, hence, lots of time spent waiting.

The room itself was fine and overlooked the 18th green, however, the bathroom was tiny with only approximately 3foot x 3foot of floor surface. Beds were very comfortable and the leisure facilities good. The room service lady was super and was happy to provide me with additional towels.

Final disappointment was breakfast which should be taken in the main restaurant, as the hotel was busy we were directed to the bar area and told we would be seated and the breakfast would be exactly the same as in the main restaurant. Firstly, no one was to be seen in the bar so we seated ourselves, as did the other people that had been sent there. The choice of breakfast items was poor, only one juice, orange, no fruit, limited cereals, no mushrooms and no eggs other than scrambled (not a fan of powdered scrambled eggs).

Got a really good deal on the stay so other difficulties are bearable. Would probably stay again if the rate was right but would hope service/food would be better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creditmantsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,045 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £42 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing