We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing !!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at the hotel. My husband and I booked this hotel especially because of the spa and outside pool and relaxing walks around the grounds and it definetley lived up to our expectations. The outside pool is excellent. We also had a treatment in the spa which was well worth the money, the staff in there were really nice and friendly. The hotel itself did have a few minor faults though...the rooms were nice but we found the bathroom small with really poor quality loo roll and a lack of it and when we asked for some more, we were told they are short at the moment sorry ! Also the room was poorly lit and the dressing table light did not work. But the bar and restaurants are highly recommended, nice and friendly staff throughout the hotel. Meal prices are very reasonable, in the victory pub you can even get two bar meals for £12. Buca restaurant is excellent too. But none of these minor faults take away the fact that this hotel is excellent and we will be back again and recommend it highly ! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandJim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    1,080
    763
    332
    209
See reviews for
917
1,443
94
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

just got back from a weekend stay at herons reach. i found the hotel very good and all eighteen of us who went were impressed and really enjoyed our weekend. i found the rooms a good standard and had a great view overlooking the 18th green. The golf coarse was a good standard, it did have some surface water but that can be expected at the time of year, but overall a decent coarse. As we were on a package we had a three coarse meal on a set menu, the food was nice enough and the service was good in the italian resturant. The price of drinks was a bit high £4.50 a pint. the leisure facilities where very impressive and everyone enjoyed the outdoor pool and gym. all in all we had a good time and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: over looking the 18th green
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westendroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I spent one night in the hotel and we both thought it was fantastic. We have stayed at the village hotel in Leeds and this was up to the same high standards. The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable bed, quiet and a nice on suite bathroom. The resturaunt was nice although we did not use it in the evening only the morning and had a great breakfast. The bar prices for a hotel were very reasonable. The staff were friendly and helpfull with nothing seeming to be any trouble to them to do for you.The pool and gym were superb . In all a great stay and thank you. ps I wrote a few comments on the feedback form and the manager emailed me straight away to thank me for comments left"cant fault him"

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albowlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have recently stayed at the hotel with my husband and my two children. We found it very nice, clean and the facilities very good especially the pool area and spa. The food was good, the breakfast superb. I found most of the staff very helpful and friendly especially in the spa/treatment area, but saying that there were a couple (reception and bar) that could take some tips from the others regarding smiling and how to talk to people. The only let down for me was Blackpool itself...the hotel I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

just back from a 2 night leisure break with family...having stayed at this hotel since it was first opened years back and seen it go from village to de vere and back to village.
found rooms fine- the decor may not appeal to some but it was clean and modern, and facilities ok...why people feel the need to moan about not having biscuits i dont know....its not an important addition to us...if we want some we take our own..we dont go away to review biscuits!
one of our rooms was a bit dark..being on the *inside* of the hotel and we didnt have much of a view from the other two- but we dont go away to stay in our rooms either- so again- not an issue for us.
we had a meal in the victory the first night...starters were excellent....my own main course wasnt very good (veggie curry) and i couldnt eat it...but the starter of garlic mushrooms and my dessert were adequate...everyone elses food was fine.....nothing more or less than expected..the only slight complaint is that we waited an hour for the desserts...we think they had forgotten us---but it was easily rectified.
breakfast both mornings was excellent--we went down at about 8.30 and didnt have to wait...there was an extensive range and both the hot and cold buffets were very good indeed...excellent bacon and sausages!...very good.
the pool facilities are good- outside pool is great...very refreshing..hot water and cooler air....i did make a mention that the tiles on the steps into the pool at the changing end are a bit grubby and could do with a scrub.
the only other thing i would mention is the female receptionist who checked us in and out..she could do with an appraisal and a course on smiling......looks as if her face would crack if she did! she didn't even utter a thank you when we handed her the key to check out....front of hotel staff need a bit of a smiley face!!!!
oh- and the victory bar is very expensive....£3.90 for a small bottle of peroni beer...go to the italian at the front of the hotel and youll get a PINT of it for £4.50 and you can take it into the victory bar!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryberryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

we have just had a two night stay with the three grandkids age 6,4 & 2 all of which have had a lovely time, they loved the pool, they loved the big bedroom, was well looked after at breakfast and also in the italian restaurant, we found the hotel very child friendly, very clean, not too formal, very quiet with being away from town centre and will definately stay again, lovely walk to stanley park with lots going on and a nice cafe for a snack or meal

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieheptinstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds. England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times before and this stay we were very disappointed. On arrival our room was overlooking a flat roof and the vent from the kitchen was throwing cooking smells directly into the room, room also extremely dark.
Our booking included evening meal on the first night and the service was a shambles,when the food arrived (eventually) it was very good, but we were sat in the restaurant with our 11year old getting very restless for nearly 3 hours to be served a 3 course meal.
Breakfast was even worse as the restaurant was full we were directed to the victory pub and the choice and quality of food left a lot to be desired.
No toiletries in bathroom just an empty soap dispenser, so we had to go out and buy soap which is unacceptable for this standard of hotel. Room however very clean.
I do feel the hotel has lost it's high standard since the revamp,and if I came again probably would book room only.

Room Tip: We were in room 326 and these were very bad rooms on our side (even numbers)1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorniloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,967 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 69 in Blackpool
1,211 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
815 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing