We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good weekend break. Good value and nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Special deal leisure break weekend allowed the two men in the party to watch their local team play Blackpool in the FA cup and three of our party of 4 played golf on Sunday morning (interesting course with a variety of holes and very friendly golf staff). We all enjoyed the spa facilities. Best to book in advance if you want a beauty treatment as there were none available when we arrived. Overall, the hotel did have a 'village' feel as there was something for everyone; from Starbucks in the reception, through to the fantastic range of facilities (especially the outside pool) in the health club, to the pub/golf club house at the back of the hotel. I have scored the rooms only average due to the dark decor and lack of lighting (we could hardly see one corner of the room) and excessive noise through the adjoining door from our neighbours who were still excited following a Friday night tribute event to Take That! However, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean if compact!
We ate breakfast from 8.30 am on the Saturday. The hotel seemed very busy from the night before and a long queue had formed by the time we left the dining room. Our golf was booked for early Sunday morning so the staff allowed us to access the cold breakfast items 30 minutes prior to the normal opening time. The breakfast food was excellent but, regrettably, the hot food was spolit by being served on cold plates. We also ate in the restaurant on one night as part of our 'package' deal'. We were offered a reduced choice menu which was more than adequate. We enjoyed good (and hot) food and good service although a couple of items did not match exactly the description on the menu. also some of the tables are rather close together. One of the receptionists helpfully directed us to the nearest tyre centre when we discovered our vehicle had a flat tyre.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course have the best views. Some rooms have adjoining doors - too much no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sefton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,732 - 3,738 of 3,899 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

The room was quite dark - energy saving bulbs used but not enough lights anyway. Everything you expect i.e. flat screen T.V. ,hairdryer, tea making facilities. I thought the choice of colours a bit sombre but thats a matter of taste. The bathroom was very small but clean and the bed large and comfortable but would have preferred firmer pillows but again thats a personal matter.
We had a drink in the Claret Jug/ Victory Bar(?) - rose wine being on offer- and felt comfortable there despite it being busy and "lively" noise-wise.
I was a bit concerened about the number of people staying and potential for noise late at night but was very quiet so we slept well .
The pools and spa facilities were great - I even swam outside ( VERY briefly) and enjoyed the experience!. The only surprising thing was that we had booked two rooms ,as there were four of us, and had been allocated rooms at quite a distance from each other.
Overall a good stay and no complaints for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torchello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Booked on late rooms £69 per night inc breakfast and dinner for 2 adults. room was good flat screen tv iphone docking, free wifi. Room comfortable, king size bed. Free use of gym and pool. Nice location better than some places in Blackpool. Down side, food was not very nice in bucca restaurant, orded meals from set menu on both nights, awful no flavour, even paid extra £5 for tuscan steak on second night which was also bland. My husband did complain along with 2 other people about his watery tasteless bolognaise but nothing came of it. The food reminded me of a cheap pub meal on a 2 for a fiver offer. Also, drinks expensive £16 plus for cheapest bottle of wine £4.50 for a pint of lager. Went to go swimming, communal changing area and then card didnt work in locker, re- dressed and went to reception area, girl said it was because my card needed holes in and mine never had any. After going through the embarrassment of undressing in front of everyone i decided against going back; Was not impressed. Hotel was very busy as the health club was a main public attraction open till very late in the evening. Overall, good value for money and a nice mid week break .

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angandyStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel was very nice and extremely busy. The room was spacious and well maintained. The bathroom was clean and adequate but very small. The gym facilities were excellent and the pool,sauna and steam room were great. We had an evening meal on the first night in the restaurant. It was good value for money and lively. The food was good and enjoyable(however they did run out of most of the desserts!) Breakfast was self service. Again it was good. A reasonable selection. It was all just a bit crazy though! The restaurant /breakfast room was Italian themed . Again nice but just a bit unusual!
There is a reasonable amount of noise that comes from other rooms. Doors slamming /thin walls etc!
There is a nice bar on site. A little expensive for your drinks but worth it. A pleasant ambience.

Room Tip: Not sure. We booked through groupon and got a very good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulnBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We received a voucher for one night B+B stay. On check in we were given room 427 and told to follow the corridor to the left, on rounding the corner we were greeted with a sign saying rooms 301-401 which was a tad confusing, much like most of the signs at the hotel which point you in the general direction but don't actually take you the whole way.

We were given a room overlooking the centre of the hotel (some gravel and a domed window), the room was quite dark. We had a nice big. comfortable bed and the usual tv, hair dyers tv/coffee making facilities and everything was OK. The room could probably use an overhaul, the bathroom especially was small and shabby with screws missing, rawlplugs showing and general poor finishing all round.

We had a snack and drink in the claret jug or victory inn, not sure which one due to the confusing signage, maybe they were one in the same. I quite liked the place, the food was OK, typical pub fare but there were a number of children running around unsupervised which may upset some.

Onto Buca Di Beppo's (nope, no idea either), we had a short wait for our table which was surprising as the place was over half empty. Brad (our waiter) was excellent, explaining what was and subsequently wasn't available on our cut down voucher menu. The food was quite poor to be honest and I wouldn't eat there again through choice.

Overall I'd stay there again but wouldn't eat there, I'm assuming the head chef has a timer and the most heard noise in the kitchen is ping.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali1967Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed 1 night dinner B&B , First room was very dark with no veiw , was offered another room (360) which had an outside pool view, After cleaning the windows and moving the dusty blanket on the bed the room was nice and warm and sunny.The food in the Italian Buca was ok , apart from the chicken been dryed up , the staff were very nice and helpfull , drinks a little expensive. The spa is well kept, I had a swim in the outside pool which was lovely and warm , to be swimming outside in January at teatime was great.
It would of been nice to have had some entertainment on the saturday night in this hotel, the bar area was very quiet.
We had a walk round Stanley Park which is straight opposite the hotel, lovely lake and a nice place to walk round. The Zoo is next to the hotel, you had ear the animals,
We would stay at this hotel again ..

Room Tip: Ask for an outside pool view, room 360 was nice and sunny and warm. we did have to clean the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokeyjoecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed one noght, as a guest of one of my suppliers. We were a group of 11. Rooms were very very cold,
No heating when out of room, so when you return, it was like a fridge. Towel
rail in room bathroom did not work, so have a shower at night and face damp towels
The following morning. Food - menu to big and complicated, food poor, service very slow and
Generally bad (example, could not find a corkscrew!).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
879 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £42 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing