We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice upper deck rooms and pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice upper deck rooms and pleasant staff”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Upper deck room cost £460 for 3 Nights the receptionist was very nice and helpful, room was nice and clean, decor a bit too stripy for me, sky movies, tea and coffee etc. lovely comfortable bed. Quite alot of noise could be heard in the room from the corridor. Breakfast was ok with some choice. Didn't use the pool etc but it looked nice. We were not impressed with the hotel restaurant didn't have some items on the menu. The steak we ordered without cheese came with cheese went back then it went back again as it was rare not medium rare it was of a very poor quality meat half of it was fatty and inedable hard chips but the waitress was very polite and helpful. Monday morning breakfast finished at 9.30am but the receptionist hadn't told us this. But overall a good experience nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik_915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    1,046
    739
    318
    201
See reviews for
879
1,385
91
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here last weekend for two nights and was very disappointed. The hotel staff in the restaurant were rude. The food was hopeless. Night one I had to return my cremated rare steak, the staff completely forgot to bring my father's main course and then forgot his desert too. We played golf on the Heron's Reach course on the Saturday and were told for the first time on the 1st tee that trolleys were only allowed with winter wheels. No advance warning and then charged us for hiring replacement trolleys. The hot breakfast counter was unnacceptable - crusted baked beans and bits of egg spattered everywhere. Not what you expect for £155 a night. Below par (unlike the golf). The girls on reception and those working in the Victory Bar were the exception and deserve a special mention.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

used as a overnight stay ,as a trip to see the illuminations,we spent more time in the spa and pool than seeing the illuminations as blackpool itself is very dirty so was nice to get back to the hotel .would go to the hotel again (blackpool maybe not)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

this hotel looks the part in the photographs but it has a few tierd looking areas in the bedrooms. furniture was a bit old looking and shower knob inside the shower was missing and had to be closed using a nyloc nut. staff were generally ok but theres always one funny one! food was good with plenty of choice. nice place but when paying £160.00 for one night we expect it to be tip top.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Sunday carvery was not nice, if you times it right then I am sure the food could be lovely. We had dinner at 5.30pm most of the veg was cold and the sauces had been there all day they hard gone hard and crusty on the top, and not a great choice. The idea of having 6 course seemed great but most of ot looked stale. Breakfast on the other hand was very nice.
Rooms were very basic, no hairdryer in our room, and no biscuits with the tea and coffee. The kids liked the idea of sweets on there pillows. Room lighting was awful, both rooms we had were very dull and with black wallpaper we could not see a great deal.
Would stop there again if I ever felt the need to re visit Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibongo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 3:20pm and was sorted out with our room by a very pleasant receptionished who was very chatty and happy, we had stayed here before so new what was on offer.

This time we upgraded to upperdeck which had a huge very comfortable bed over looking the golf course also we got sky movies as part of the upgrade along with starbucks coffee and biscuits.

The room was spotless and clean and no problems with anything in our room.

We went for a swim in the pool about 4:20pm which at that time had a lot of kids in which wasnt a problem, but if you want a pleasant swim would recommend after 6:00pm when much quieter, they also have a large warm outside pool and sauna and steam room.

We went to Mandarin chinese for our food recommended by reception staff in hotel which was very nice, watched a movie when we got back and then fell asleep.

Next morning got up for breakfast a help yourself buffee type which was very nice, you could eat as much as you want but after one plate full found that enough for me.

All in all a nice place to stay, when we booked was £99 per room including breakfast and all the extra,s so was very happy with what we got for the price, look forward to our next stay and will probally play golf again next time, if you are a golfer great course quite a challenge but fair.

thank you

Mike

Room Tip: We have stayed in a few rooms at this hotel and would say we both have enjoyed the upperdeck room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I thouroughly enjoyed my stay here. I paid just over £200 for two nights, 2 adults and 1 child, one evening meal and two breakfasts included. That was for Wednesday/ Thursday, one room with a king size bed and also a fold down bed.

A lot of the negative reviews base their judgement on the fact that this is a De Vere hotel and that is true. But this is Blackpool, and De Vere have adapted to the environment - the Victory bar proving this point. They have tried to recreate the typical country pub within the hotel, and they have done this very well - too well in fact. The Victory bar is similar to practically any pub you have been to for a bar meal, which means it is an average bar meal pub. This is no bad thing, the menu is exactly what you would expect, and the meals are regular bar food fare. If you like chips and pies you will not go wrong.

I stayed in midweek and the foyer was always busy, I can imagine the weekends will be very busy indeed. There were groups of golfers, and there were also business meetings going on, it is a popular hotel. The staff were very attentive and professional, the bar staff in the Victory were equally efficient and very friendly. I had no problem with waiting times for meals, both evening and breakfast.

The room was similar to other De Vere rooms I have stayed in, they seem to favour darker hues and subtle lighting. Not to everbodys taste, but it was fine for me and I found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet. The bathroom is small as others have described, but again, it is perfectly adaquate.

This is not your usual De Vere experience, so do not expect refinement and opulence. This is De Vere Blackpool style, just relax and enjoy the ride.

Would I stay here again? The answer is a definite yes, but only if I got discounts on the official rate for the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
1,199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing