We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably great if you are a golfer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Room fitted with energy saving bulbs, great but the room is too dark to get in when you first arrive until they warm up. Food terrible, but in fairness part of an event and catering for aprox 70.

Did not like having to go past sweaty squash players in the viewing gallery to get to the bar. Especially as they were quite ignorant and blocked the passage way

On positive it was quite clean and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,712 - 3,718 of 4,106 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

We arrived on a very cold & wet weekend but were greeted with a warm welcome which was the highlight of the stay as the room was dark & depressing & we might have well been staying at a premier inn as we felt the standard of the hotel was not "devere standard". Breakfast was not only extremely busy but the plastic table cloths left a lot to be desired & seeing fellow guests accidentally knocking food onto the floor & then putting back onto the serving table for unsuspecting guests to eat put us off eating from the continental breakfast table. This hotel was adequate but definately not worth the price charged

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Accommodation basic but Ok
Outdoor swimming pool excellent especially at night, lying in warm water looking at the stars is special!
Food in main restaurant is mediocre to poor. But good burgers in bar

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Now a DeVere Village hotel we stayed here 21st October for one night as a couple with one child so we could have a couple of days exploring Blackpool.
The location is perfect for being near enough to the sights of Blackpool but enough distance to get some peace and quiet.
We were given a room on the first floor but was right by the air conditioning unit and was too noisy so we moved to a room at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor.
Room was nice enough and clean but was not huge and we were surprised there were no little extras such as biscuits or toiletries, small things but can make your stay extra special.
Room was also dark with no big bright overhead light, just dull lamps, not great in October!
Staff were friendly enough, and the hotel was clean.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and we didn't have to queue for a table.
We used the pool area which was nice and the Outdoor pool is amazing, like a giant bath!
We were disappointed with the evening meals we ordered in the pub area, the children's meal was awful - pizza but it was tiny and more like a piece of pitta bread with a bit of cheese and ham toasted on top - not worth the money - avoid!
Overall we had a good stay and the spa area and location made up for what the hotel lacks in other areas.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel unless staying on a Sunday night as the recycling bins are emptied at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklelexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

After being regular stayers here for the last 2 years, the standards have gone to the lowest levels especially in the bar area, where cleanliness is never thought of considering food is being supplied in that area. Seems to be now catering more for group of beer swilling golfers rather than families and couples on a genuine 2-3 day break, we will never stay again! Cost £160.00 for one night, there was no milk in the room and could not get to breakfast as the que was out into the lobby area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triangle_Testers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in an "upper deck" room which really is not worth it unless you intend staying in the room all night and using the included movies (not box office) and free Internet.

On getting the room about 15.30 we were horrified to find that the bathroom had not been cleaned and that someone had Clearly had an upset stomach the night before!!! Needless to say I went straight to reception to complain. The reception staff were extremely apologetic and as we were setting out shortly after cleaned it whilst we were out.

We paid £132 for one nights stay which really I think is too expensive for such a room although the facilities were good.

Would I stay again? Probably but would opt for a normal room and they really need to smarten their act up regarding room cleaning. I also was disappointed that I wasn't offered even a slight discount for encountering a soiled bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linthwaitewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and had a lovely time but sadly can't say the same this year. The room was fine, but the restaurant meal was diabolical. We ordered meatballs with spaghetti and I never had anything so tasteless. The inside of the meatball was raw, they then cooked us another one which was a lot better. The receptionist also gave us the wrong information about where to catch the lighted trams. I would have thought with the Illuminations being on every year they would have had the correct information. We also got caught out by the small print thinking we had booked dinner bed and breakfast for myself, husband and grandchild but were informed that the child's meal isn't included. Very misleading. There were also dried blood marks on the duvet cover.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindajharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing