We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thanks to De vere for a complimentary night away in Blackpool. Set back in the suburbs away from the hurley burley of the front and all the amusements and located on it's own championship golf course this hotel is ideal to see the area but still have a restful ( mostly ) place to come back to.
The hotel is modern, clean, has excellent facilities, pool etc and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our upperdeck room was just as advertised with a large flat screen TV with Sky movies and a great view over the 18th green ( room 307 for those golfers amongst you )
One gripe however stops me giving this hotel the 5 star rating that it probably deserves and this is something that seems to becoming more and more prevalent and which is more to do with todays society than the hotel, but breakfast was taken in the Buco restaurant, a lovely italian type but seemed more like a cross between a primary school creche and a telephone booth.Please, please please BAN mobile phones in the restaurants and have a separate small dining room for those with small screaming children who will not say no to their little darlings and allow them to shout and run around to the detriment of other guests. If I had paid full price for this stay for a romantic break I would have been furious. Having said that the breakfast was very good indeed and again the staff were very friendly and helpful although kept very busy dodging small children while carrying hot drinks etc....Health and safety ?
Would definitely stay again and next time take the golf clubs.

Room Tip: Upperdeck rooms are worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Cricketfitch",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were allocated a room with a view of our golf course.

We do hope you will come back and visit us soon and that you have the opportunity to play some golf next time?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,164 - 3,170 of 3,894 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We previously stayed here over the summer holidays but complained about the so called family room so came this time as we has been offered an upgrade. The room was lovely, very modern and clean and was a proper family room. It had two double beds, a sofa as well as a huge bathroom with double sinks, a separate shower and a bath. The downside was, we were over the main reception area so all night and early morning all we could hear was the automatic doors sliding open and closed which was extremely annoying. The pillows were also massive and rock hard so all three of us ended up sleeping without a pillow- there was no softer ones to choose from. Housekeeping don't seem to service your room though until later in the day; we returned at about 1pm for our son to have a sleep before going out later to see the illuminations but our room still had not been cleaned. We had put a hanger on the door in the morning asking for the room to be serviced but it wasn't acknowledged and yet when we changed it to "snoozing" in the afternoon, we bizarrely got a phone call from housekeeping asking if we wanted our room cleaning?????????????? The hotel was busy with delegates attending conferences so it has quite an impersonal feel but we didn't feel uncomfortable or out of place. The leisure facilities are great, children are able to use the pool from 9-12pm and 2-7pm, unfortunately this time the outdoor pool was closed due to maintenance work. There is also a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tub available to use. Breakfast is served in bucca di beppes restaurant. There is quite a limited choice compared to other large hotels we've stayed at but the cooked breakfast is really lovely, warm and non- greasy and the waiting staff are efficient and pleasant. It's not actually that far from blackpool centre, but it can be quite a slow journey due to all the traffic lights. A nice hotel but prefer to stay on the front in blackpool.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Caf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Caf S",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel and that you prefered the family room you were allocated this time.

I will ensure the team on site are aware of your feedback & comments and we would hope that at some point you would visit us again?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Herons Reach is one of the DeVeres better hotels catering for both families and golfers. It has a great leisure club with pool, fitness and spa facilities.

Breakfast can be hectic as it is always busy but the food is good . The sports bar does good bar snacks in the evening. The hotel is a couple of miles from the centre but that is a positive if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of Blackpool.

Rooms are clean and tidy.

If you get a chance go and wonder round Stanley Park across the road from the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Superswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Superswindon",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

Its great to hear that you enjoy staying with us when you do visit Blackpool and I hope you do continue to use us when you are in the area.

We do hope you come and visit us again soon.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here twice, upper deck is definately better, both nice though.
Food lovely, and swimming area is nice too, all in all cant really
Fault any part of either stay. We ate in the restaurant at night, staff all really good
And helpful, food nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast had a good choice too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to upper deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Clgez",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us this being your second visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Blackpool again.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

What a prize! The room was nice. Good amount of space in the room. Good food however there was a long wait for a table in the morning & all the hot food plates were dirty with bits of dried food stuck on so wasn't a case of just wiping it with a napkin(which isn't something I'd usually notice). My evening meal didn't really taste of anything unfortunately.

But great outdoor pool which was refreshing in the winter and loved the Starbucks. Wouldn't eat there again but would definitely stay as the outdoor heated swimming pool was very cool and the staff were friendly.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Aladiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Aladiran",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy your overall stay with us ... what a lovely raffle prize.

Its also lovely to hear when guests do want to return to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

After having paid £318 for two nights dbb, we were disappointed with the service. We went for dinner on the first night into the Italian restaurant, not really liking Italian food, the soup was inedible, and the pizza was the only other option on the menu that I could order was disgusting. The man on the next table sent his back, explaining that he could not eat it. The following day I asked reception if we could eat dinner in the sports bar and she said yes!! It would have saved a lot of awkwardness in the restaurant if we had been given this information on check in. We bought some toasties and crisps from Starbucks on the second night and ate them in our room!! The spa was fully booked when I went down for a couple of treatments. The pool was good but being half term it was crowded. don't waste your money upgrading to upper deck it's a waste of money. The toiletries are not worth pinching!! The maid Tracey was very nice, nothing was too much trouble for her. There was always a wait at reception although there was no one else waiting. And long queues at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendalkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "KendalKendal",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I would like to apologise for information not given to you at the time of having the option of dining within the main restaurant or Victory Pub ... this feedback will be relayed to our Reception & Restaurant teams.

Its a shame you also couldn't book any spa treatments during your stay, we are a very busy salon with locals and hotel guests but it would have been nice for you to have experienced this during your stay.

I do hope that you would contact me direct if you would choose to stay at the hotel again as I can allocate you a bedroom best suited to your needs.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Impressive from the outside then all down hill. 'Double' bed very small and rock hard, son slept in a pull down bed in between all metal workings! Room generally shabby and run down. Mice running around the bar eating all the crisps that had been left on the floor. Couldn't get in the pool as full to capacity. Had to queue for 15 minutes to get into restaurant for breakfast. Very poor show all round!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Toni C",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We were sorry to learn that you had a very disappointing stay with us recently.

If you would like to contact me direct to discuss your concerns further then please do not hesitate to email me at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,193 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,045 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £42 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing