We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as fantastic as the lights!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is our usual place to stay on our bi-annual visit to Blackpool. However yet again Herons Reach got the check in wrong again and we had other issues too.
Deciding to check in to the hotel for a rest after a day at the pleasure beach turned into a fiasco, after 3 times attempting to check into a room that was unsuitable due to the sleeping arrangments, the guy at check in lacked knowledge about the rooms and ended up sending us back to a room that was unsuitable for my sister, her daughter and me which we always explain at time of booking. We tried to phone reception to get the issue resolved but no answer after waiting about an hour to get this sorted we were upgraded to a suitable room. The room however was dark and dusty, for 4 star rating there was no bottled water either, the water glasses were dusty and under the bed quite frankly was poor, full of crumbs etc.

We did not sleep as the room overlooked the car park and all we heard all night were people going out to smoke and coming back in taxis. So we all went home shattered!! We tried to order room service but was told there was a delay as they were busy and after waiting 25 minutes for two glasses of wine cancelled.

The breakfast was average, the hot buffet style was luke warm and trying to toast bread was just ridiculous with toasters that were clearly not suitable for the task and all other guests just crowded round trying to get a bit of toast. The bacon was very greasy and fatty too.

The lesuire facilities are wonderful though and Ruth in the Health Club was excellent, although children swimming did not start until 9.00am (we went down at 7.30am, as we did not sleep) she listened to our concerns used her discretion and let us all swim incluing my neice whom is 11 years old.

On check out we were asked if we had a nice stay, I followed others whom complained about the noise too. I dont think we will be returning sadly after all these years.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieD776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "MelanieD776",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I was sorry to learn that you encountered some issues with your most recent visit to the hotel.

We would like to apologise for these issues and I will ensure that all the team on site are aware of your comments and feedback.

Please be assured we do appreciate all feedback we do received.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,354 - 3,360 of 4,089 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Possibly the worst hotel experience ever!! On our arrival, late in the evening with exhausted small child, we were given the pokiest family room ever and the child's bed not made up. Ok we thought, mistakes can be made so we told reception and went to a late dinner. An hour and a half later, the bed was still not made up! There were numerous things wrong with the room & hotel from being unable to adjust the temperature on the shower, the room smelling of smoke, carpets being dirty, having to queue in a freezing reception area to get in for breakfast - the list goes on. But by far the worst experience was in the restaurant. We were booked in for DB&B. As it was a holiday we didn't always know what our plans were, so one day did not book a specific time for dinner. We arrived about 6.45 to be told that there was no room all night! If she had said for us to come back later, fair enough as we didn't book a particular time, but to have no room all night when we were booked in for DB&B is appalling. We were directed to a dirty, smelly, beery pub at the back where there were loads of drunk blokes shouting at the football. Not really where I want to eat my dinner with an 8 year old. So we asked to see the restaurant manager who didn't apologise and simply said that they accepted non residents as they had a business to run. One thing I should be grateful for however is that at least for one night I wasn't met with the sight of waiting staff scraping plates into what can only be described as slop buckets wheeled around the tables. The sight of congealed egg being scaped into these buckets every morning was enough to turn me off what was already a mediocre breakfast.

Room Tip: Simply don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "SallyBlackpool",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am sorry that you had a very disappointing stay with us and would like to apologise for all the issues you did encounter during your stay.

We do endeavour to ensure all rooms are made up to the requirements submitted by our guests at the point of booking. Therefore, this will be raised with both the Reception and Housekeeping team to investigate this.

It is also unfortunate that the restaurant were unable to allow you to dine due to the volume of guests who had already pre-booked their reservations. Again this will be addressed with the team.

If you do want to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Last night at a dinner dance I encountered the worst bar service I have ever experienced.
The management placed five young men behind a bar who's only interest was to serve girls their own age. I was ignored for others more than twenty times .I actually had to demand service to be served and then asked for three drinks but was only served with two as the barman forgot the last. The night started badly when we arrived in gales and rain and then found there was no coat check in service so to then struggle to get a drink just ruined the night. Having had a career in television and national newspapers I have extensive experience of hotels but the performance here was very poor!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_bamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Steve_bamford",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I would like to apologise for the slow service you did experience with Bar Service at the function you attended and will ensure your feedback/comments are relayed to our Food & Beverage Manager on site.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

stayed here several times with my sister and my daughter our yearly visit to see the lights we always ask for 3 beds but as yet they have never got it right, we waited to check in then was given a room on entering we saw a double and one single we tried to phone reception but no answer so we proceeded back to reception and then joined the long queue again we spoke to the man on reception who said he will send up housekeeping to separate the beds so back to the room again housekeeping came and said the bed did not separate so then we waited. We got moved then to another room and then it was sorted but wasted an hour of our time. The hotel was terribly noisey we didn't sleep at all and we did hear other guests complaining also, the room wasn't the cleanest under the beds were disgusting, dust in glasses and the rooms are far too dark with very poor lighting and breakfast very average. I would like to thank Ruth who works in the leisure part for allowing my eleven year old to swim before the children times she listened to us and understood our frustration and used her own judgement. really disappointed and have come back shattered not a pleasant stay and will book somewhere else next year so sorry herons reach you have lost a two times a year sometimes booking please learn from this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Sally g",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I would like to apologise for the issue you did have with being allocated a room best suited to your family requirements.

I will also pass on your comments about the cleanliness of your room to our Head Housekeeper who will do her own investigations on this and act upon.

I will make Ruth aware of your kind comments about her, although we do have restrictions in place with regards to swimming times for Children to allow adults only times for both our guests and leisure members.

If you do wish to discuss any of your issues further, then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had 3 fantastic days the staff could not do enough for you its a hidden gem in Blackpool . Family friendly, pools times withoutunder 16 years , vast gym classes, indoor & out door pool , fantastic food . As long as you book activites & beauty you can enjoy a relaxing time with your family or without , Woodlands top explore my Holly Labrador tried girl !!!!!!!!!
This hotel shold be 5+ they have a fantastic team who cannot do enough i have stayed in many hotels in the UK & Ireland , i wished i knew you before!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Happy Manchester Family will use again with or without children!

Room Tip: We had interacting rooms so children & Holly could walk freely in & out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollycityblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Hollycityblue",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

What a great review with lots of lovely comments about the hotel and the team who work on site. I will ensure all are made of your feedback.

Please come back and visit us again very soon.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thanks to De vere for a complimentary night away in Blackpool. Set back in the suburbs away from the hurley burley of the front and all the amusements and located on it's own championship golf course this hotel is ideal to see the area but still have a restful ( mostly ) place to come back to.
The hotel is modern, clean, has excellent facilities, pool etc and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our upperdeck room was just as advertised with a large flat screen TV with Sky movies and a great view over the 18th green ( room 307 for those golfers amongst you )
One gripe however stops me giving this hotel the 5 star rating that it probably deserves and this is something that seems to becoming more and more prevalent and which is more to do with todays society than the hotel, but breakfast was taken in the Buco restaurant, a lovely italian type but seemed more like a cross between a primary school creche and a telephone booth.Please, please please BAN mobile phones in the restaurants and have a separate small dining room for those with small screaming children who will not say no to their little darlings and allow them to shout and run around to the detriment of other guests. If I had paid full price for this stay for a romantic break I would have been furious. Having said that the breakfast was very good indeed and again the staff were very friendly and helpful although kept very busy dodging small children while carrying hot drinks etc....Health and safety ?
Would definitely stay again and next time take the golf clubs.

Room Tip: Upperdeck rooms are worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Cricketfitch",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were allocated a room with a view of our golf course.

We do hope you will come back and visit us soon and that you have the opportunity to play some golf next time?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We previously stayed here over the summer holidays but complained about the so called family room so came this time as we has been offered an upgrade. The room was lovely, very modern and clean and was a proper family room. It had two double beds, a sofa as well as a huge bathroom with double sinks, a separate shower and a bath. The downside was, we were over the main reception area so all night and early morning all we could hear was the automatic doors sliding open and closed which was extremely annoying. The pillows were also massive and rock hard so all three of us ended up sleeping without a pillow- there was no softer ones to choose from. Housekeeping don't seem to service your room though until later in the day; we returned at about 1pm for our son to have a sleep before going out later to see the illuminations but our room still had not been cleaned. We had put a hanger on the door in the morning asking for the room to be serviced but it wasn't acknowledged and yet when we changed it to "snoozing" in the afternoon, we bizarrely got a phone call from housekeeping asking if we wanted our room cleaning?????????????? The hotel was busy with delegates attending conferences so it has quite an impersonal feel but we didn't feel uncomfortable or out of place. The leisure facilities are great, children are able to use the pool from 9-12pm and 2-7pm, unfortunately this time the outdoor pool was closed due to maintenance work. There is also a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tub available to use. Breakfast is served in bucca di beppes restaurant. There is quite a limited choice compared to other large hotels we've stayed at but the cooked breakfast is really lovely, warm and non- greasy and the waiting staff are efficient and pleasant. It's not actually that far from blackpool centre, but it can be quite a slow journey due to all the traffic lights. A nice hotel but prefer to stay on the front in blackpool.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Caf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi "Caf S",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel and that you prefered the family room you were allocated this time.

I will ensure the team on site are aware of your feedback & comments and we would hope that at some point you would visit us again?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,255 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,244 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing