We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“great staff”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have stayed here several times business and leisure, lovely welcome by friendly staff. Very convenient for all facilities but feels like staying in country.Always very clean.
Just booked again both Sarah and Claire reception helped me with a complex booking made easy!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "Jill G",

Thank you for your review of Village Blackpool.

Great to hear that you have already booked to stay again ... I will ensure that the Reception girls are aware of your lovely feedback about them.

We hope that you enjoy your next stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    1,108
    786
    343
    222
See reviews for
959
1,501
98
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stated in last Saturday night as part of the £30 January sale and what a brilliant time we had.

Friendly and swift check in.
Lovely leisure club facilities. Swimming in the hot outdoor pool in winter was amazing.
Had a beautiful "Upper Deck" room which had huge comfy bed and stunning decor. We didn't get the usual Upper Deck facilities such as Bose system, Starbucks coffee, and movies but as we were on sake offer, I guess these were removed. Very quiet rooms, no noise from corridors. Double blinds so very dark. Had best nights sleep in ages.

Not so good
We didn't stay for breakfast but queues were very long
Tiny bathrooms, difficult to get out of shower
The bar was not so welcoming - full of loud sport TVs, so we had a drink in Buccas.
Quite a busy hotel, full of children in foyer and in pool. Maybe time of year or due to the January offer?
Location was away from centre, surprised by £12 taxi fare to front!!

Would definitely return at a quieter time of year. We felt revived and happy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "warnzy",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you had a brilliant stay with us and that you had a great nights sleep.

We have been very busy this month and I quite understand that the next time you do want to "escape" you would potentially come back during a quieter period. I am more than happy to advise you of this so please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed at The Village Blackpool on many an occasion this year, some weeks staying as many as 3 nights. Whilst there I visited the Gym, which is great. I spoke to the staff there about the gym membership and the savings that can be made with the great discounts on rooms, from as little as £53 on the members site. You also get a good discount off food and drink.

I joined the membership and thought I would now take advantage of the offer, only to find that it is a scam, on the members site the rooms are marked as from £53, when you click on the room you get a different rate that is double that amount, I questioned the rate with the sales director at the site who kindly informed me that they do not do the £53 rate at this hotel.

A bit disappointed, so voted with my feet.

The hotel is generally OK, the Italian restaurant is not great as the portions are too small, the Barolo is not the best I have had, so do go for a cheaper wine.

The sports bar is great for a bar snack, good portions, if you do not mind walking across the hotel to the cash machine as the card machine is cantankerous, ( may be fixed now, but if so they took their time), it is relatively simple catering food though, but it is what you would expect, and reasonable quality.

Rooms great, not near the squash courts though.

The staff are great, may be let down by management, or micromanagement from head office?

Overall, good potential, but there lack of customer care forced me to look elsewhere, The Cartford Inn, same money, great quality.

Room Tip: If you like an early night, away from the squash courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "Dominic M",

Thank you for your review of Village Blackpool.

Its disappointing to read that you do not feel appreciated especially if you have stayed with us on a regular basis?

We would want all our guests to feel appreciated but we cannot always offer a rate of £53 B&B ... this would be dependant upon what rates we do have available at the time.

I am more than happy to discuss this further with you if you do want to contact me direct I can then advise you of when this particular offer would be available at this particular Village Hotel.

My direct email address is: Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had booked to stay xmas eve to boxing day a package that included a meal in the italian restaurant on xmas eve, breakfast for 2 mornings and xmas lunch.We really enjoyed our stay we stayed in an upper deck room which was spacious and comfortable also had a view over the golf course.The only negative we found was the lift was not working when we got there and as we were on the 2nd floor it was a bit of a pain to carry bags up the stairs,although reception did say if we were struggling they would find someone to carry our bags.Our meal in the Bucca on xmas eve was just ok (we have had better )they ran out of 3 of the desserts on the fixed menu and it was only 8 o' clock.Breakfast was good as always and Xmas day lunch was good also although we had to join a large queue to enter the restaurant it was rather chaotic.This was our second xmas we had spent at Herons Reach and would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an upper deck room they are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "julesmcfc",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your festive celebrations with us and that you enjoyed your room with a view of the golf course.

Its always lovely to hear when guests will return and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night. Classed as one of the best hotels in Blackpool we were really excited for our visit.
More pricey than some, we really wanted somewhere with a spa which is one main reason for booking this hotel and something a bit more special. On top of the room price we also had to pay for a taxi which we knew but still, it bumped up the price.
We arrived before 3, but the friendly lady on reception checked us in anyway, in a way I would rather have waited as the room was not clean. Certainly not to the standard it promotes itself as. I've stayed in lower rated hotels and they have been much cleaner. All mirrors were finger marked, the floor was not hoovered properly and the light switches were covered in greasy finger marks. Also, the window ledge and window were sticky, spilled drinks. I would rather the room be clean and check in at 3 than check in early.
The spa: no outdoor pool, maintenance, led to indoor pool been overcrowded and a very small sauna. Disappointing considering this was one of the main aims of our trip.
The pub; way over priced and only one cider choice. Pool table good and plenty of seating. Poor bar service. We stood waiting and then the barman served someone who was just walking towards the bar while we stood there money ready in our hands?!! (Yes I did contact the hotel with regards to my negative points.)
Breakfast was crowded and rushed, tepid food.
Overall, if i got a cheap price I might stay here again but I will be looking elsewhere for my next visit to Blackpool. Shame.

Room Tip: Upper deck room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bee088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "bee088",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us.

Your points will be addressed with the Management team direct and you do also mention that you have also contacted us direct with your issues?

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct if you do feel your issues have not had a positive outcome? My email address is Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good hotel in nice grounds and area. Spa and pool good with helpful and friendly staff. Solarium door wouldn't shut though which became a pain as you never got the full benefit

Room was nice but water was not hot enough for a bath and I could get the heater to work in the room. Slept in jumper and sock with pjs on the first night!,

Breakfast good but not as much choice as in some hotels of the same caliber. The hotel was shabby in places and the steps walking up to the entrance are waiting for a claim to happen as they are a little loose!!!!!

The bar was expensive for drinks as was the food but again you don't really have a choice as you were not in the middle of Blackpool so it's a captive audience really.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "jo f",

Thank you for your review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay with us but's it's a shame that you couldn't work your heater within your bedroom as I am sure any of the team on site would have been happy to assist you.

We do hope you will return to stay with us again should you be visiting Blackpool?

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripponden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back from devere village hotel today after 2 nites stay me and my partner and my 3 young children had the best New Year's Eve family party was excellent food was excellent . The rooms were clean and comfortable the staff were very friendly .the swimming pool indoor and outdoor was good for the children we loved our stay and will be returning in the future thank you for making our New Year's Eve memorable Emma waddington and family

Room Tip: The family plus room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi "Emma W",

Thank you for your review of Village Blackpool.

It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your New Years Eve celebrations at the hotel. I will ensure that all at the hotel are aware of your great review.

We do hope that you and your family will return and see us again this year.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,106 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
841 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing