We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“1 night break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great hotel,facilities and food all really good.Swimming pool very nice,sauna and steam room and even an outside heated pool.There is a bar were you have a drink and watch sky sports.The rooms are very spacious and clean.The only downside is the distance to the town if you want a drink a taxi is nearly a tenner each way.

Room Tip: The upper deck rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "Les48",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us and also took the opportunity to use the leisure facilities.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future as we would love to welcome you back.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    940
    675
    297
    190
See reviews for
774
1,233
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked to go here on a spa day and night for my hen party. When we arrived at 9am in the morning we were all able to check into our rooms, all very nice apart from the disabled room we had booked.
We asked for a twin disabled and this was a double, when we asked at reception we were told there where no other rooms available but the could separate the beds in that room. This room was tiny so when the beds got separated it meant the room was no longer useable as a disabled room, there was barely room to walk around never mind get a wheelchair in. The beds had basically just been dumped in the middle of the room with fixed bedside tables above the head of the bed. Disgusting attitude to disabled guests.

The spa was lovely and cannot recommend this spa and the girls in here enough! Everything was on time, it was nice and relaxing and everyone loved all treatments.

The meal in the evening was a set three course menu we had paid for as a package. We hadn't been told this on booking. We thought it was the full menu. Most of the food was nice, wouldn't really go again though. Chocolate cake was awful and not one person ate it, needed a chainsaw to get through it.

There were no lifts in working order when we stayed when we asked a member of staff about this his reply was, 'nothing works in the place, good luck'

The host in the evening restaurant (Richard) - lovely man and very polite but someone needs to tech him personal hygiene. When working front of house in a restaurant, people do not want a waft of extremely bad b.o every time he walks past. Very bad customer service, actually put us of our food.

When I complained about this visit we got a bottle of house wine and strawberries on our next visit.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a disabled room, stay elsewhere if you need good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. On arrival at reception we were sent off on a route march to our room as the nearest lift was being repaired. This hotel seems to be suffering from an identity crisis. It's not sure if it's a golf club, health club or hotel. Unfortunately, It seems to set it's priorities on the first two. The rooms are dark and, be honest, the soap dispensers in the bathroom are just a money saving exercise I would expect from a travelodge and not a 4 star hotel. Usual room issues, kettle plug is nowhere near a plug socket and insufficient light for ladies to put on make up at the dressing table.

Having stayed here before, I expected the usual queue for breakfast and wasn't disappointed. There does seem to be a lack of care and attention with the table laying. If you place setting has a mug, there will be a teaspoon in it. If it's a cup and saucer, there will be no teaspoon. There will not be a knife on your side plate so you will have to ask for one. Had to wait at the hot food area as there were no eggs (fried or scrambled) and no member of staff behind the counter. The bread by the toaster had a thin layer of ice on it and I gave up trying to find either a bowl or a side plate.

The management do seem to respond to negative reviews on here. Personally, I would rather that they spent the time teaching the staff about acceptable service standards instead trawling tripadvisor for poor reviews. Get the service right and the good reviews will follow.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Petemk1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "petemk1965",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your most recent visit to the Hotel and I do hope you did raise your issues with a Manager during your stay?

We are a resort and as such we do offer a wide variety of facilities to enable us to cater for all.

We also endeavour to respond to all reviews via all websites and social media sites if it be positive or negative as we like to be fully aware of our guest experiences and of course yours being no different.

I do hope that you would consider returning to us in the future?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I appreciate that when you book a hotel through groupon you will not get one of the best rooms but when I opened the curtains in our room I was so surprised to have a view of a roof about 12 inches from our window that I had to laugh. The room itself was ok but nothing special but it was clean and of a reasonable size. We ate in the hotel on the first night and the food and service were excellent, the breakfast was also of a good quality and again the staff were very good. As a fan of real ale I was pleased to see the casque Mark on the bar but was disappointed that .both real ales were off on that night.
Overall, we had a couple of relaxing nights in a reasonable hotel where the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matjam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "matjam65",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the room you were allocated ... please be assured these are not allocated according to who you book through. We would have been more than happy to allocate you an alternative room if necessary.

We are pleased that you did have an overall enjoyable stay and took the opportunity to relax.

If you do wish to return to the hotel, then please do not hesitate to contact me direct and I will oversee your booking and allocate your room.

My email address is Janine.whur@btinternet.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit cautious but I needn't of been. It is great value for money, lots of facilities and breakfast for £65 a night- I can't get that at some premier inns.
The staff were so friendly from the outset, the lovely lady on reception was very warm and chatty, our 2 year old took a shine to her. On arriving at our room we found that the sofa bed hadn't been made up. After a call to reception, house keeping arrived within 5 minutes and made the bed and left our little girl a juice and some sweets.
We used the pool facilities both days of our stay, though members of the public were using the facilities, there was plenty of room in the changing room and in the pool. The added extra of the outdoor pool was fun too.
We chose to eat in the victory pub both nights for ease of convenience with a little one and we're very pleased to find out under 5's eat free when adults are eating. Two good meals, without a wait and with friendly service.
A great family break would recommend, will definitely use again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "Claire H",

Thank you for you recent review of Village Blackpool.

What a lovely review ... we are pleased that you did choose to stay with us and that you all had a great time and utilised the facilities.

I will ensure that the team on site are aware of your positive comments and please do not hesitate to contact me direct should you wish to return soon. My direct email address is Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on valentines day I couldn't have asked for a better stay! Some people ask for to much you get what you pay for! We went for a swim sauna and steam the had a pub meal in the victory pub which was brill but massive all reasonably priced including the wine there was a live band which was very enjoyable I would recommend for the price

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nowellllaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "nowellllaura",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased to read that both you and your boyfriend enjoyed celebrating Valentines Day with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct in the future should you wish to return and I can keep you informed of any offers we may have.

We do hope you both come back and visit us soon. My direct email address is Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. The facilities were excellent and numerous (two restaurants, a bar, a starbucks cafe, squash courts, leisure centre, swimming pools, championship golf course). However, they are completely overrun by the general public, which I suppose is quite fair enough. But when the major selling point of the hotel is it's excellent facilities, perhaps there should be some sort of priority service for guests. It sometimes felt like we were hanging out at the gym, rather than staying in a supposed 4 star hotel.

We stayed in a standard room, which was spacious and clean, but all things considered, it might as well have been a Premier Inn. Apart from a few nice fixtures and fittings, there was nothing that really distinguished it from its budget counterpart. It was comfortable, but very basic.

We dined out both nights, so I can't comment on the restaurants, but we did have breakfast on both days. It was a buffet of hot food and continental choices. It was perfectly adequate, but again, nothing more than you would get in a Premier Inn.

Overall, we had a pleasant and comfortable stay at the De Vere. However, the impressive array of facilities are covering up what is in fact a quite basic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_P121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi "Mr_and_Mrs_P12...",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay.

As you do state we are a busy venue due to the location and the facilities we do offer at the hotel.

I do hope if you would stay with us again should you be in the area?

Kind Regards,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Beach) Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing