We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have stayed here many times as we have family in nearby Lytham St. Annes. The last stay was in February on my birthday, my husband paid for an upgrade to an Upper Class room as a surprise. The room overlooked the golf course but was quite small for an upgraded room, the only difference that we could see was the Starbuck drinks package, toiletries, Sky Movie package and the Bose docking station for an iPod. The hanging space for our clothes was compromised by the drawer unit underneath that meant that our clothes were crumpled at the bottom. The room decor is quite gloomy and I found it difficult to dry my hair and apply make up in the poor light. The iPod docking station was excellent though.

We have previously eaten in the main restaurant (Buca di Beppo) and do not rate it at all, poor selection, small portions, expensive for what you get but nice surroundings which are spoilt by surly staff, so opted to eat in the Victory Pub and Kitchen. We had some vouchers which were given to us on arrival that we tried to use in the Victory Pub but when we presented them we were told that they were not valid (the vouchers are very misleading, the logo matched but the name of the bar didn't).

The Breakfast was good, plenty of items, all hot and nicely cooked, the toaster (which they have replaced from the usual slooooow hotel toasters) had a bit of a problem as a piece of bread had lodged in it causing it to smoke very badly and the staff had to take it away for a short while to clear it but no problem.

The Starbucks at the front of the hotel is very nice where you can relax with friends/family and chill out. We looked at the leisure facilities and swimming pool, they looked inviting but didn't use them.

In the evening on the check-in desk, I noticed that there was a website for Upper Class residents that included special offers, I asked the receptionist what it was and she apologised for not telling us about when we checked in, I tried to access it but was unable to so returned to the check-in desk and asked if there was a problem with it, she told me she would call head office in the morning to investigate, we were leaving the next day and she assured us she would e-mail us on our return home, and she did, and explained there had been a problem with the website which was a shame as we may have used some of the offers while we were there

We would stay here again because the surroundings and environment are very pleasant but in reality the hotel has no real competition and we feel that the management is complacent and don't need to try too hard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walki_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "Walki_1",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay, but would like to apologise that you were not informed of all offers available on your arrival.

We do have alternative upgraded rooms which I would be more than happy to advise you on should you return to hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

I will also ensure that the Management team on site are also aware of you feedback which is appreciated.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    940
    675
    297
    190
See reviews for
774
1,233
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Lovely hotel in a good position. Comfy beds, nice room and friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay. The food was great and the service perfect. Would use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "Debra B",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and loved the bed.

I will also ensure that both our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager are aware of your positive feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct to advise of any offers we may have when you are looking to return. My direct email address is Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The room was scruffy needed new furniture. We went down to Breakfast and there was only cold fried food. No continental so if you did not want fried cold food tough all that was on offer was a stale croissant. The table cloths were PLASTIC and on the table was plonked a large naffy type mug with a spoon. There was nothing else on the table. It was like a transport cafe. I did complain to the hotel at the time but they said it was the new De Vere look. Disgusting and it is certainly not a 3 star.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "dor m",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, please be assured the Management team on site are aware of your feedback, of which we do appreciate.

We do understand that the tablecloths are not to everyone's taste, but unfortunately this is a branded Restaurant of which this is part of the concept.

Again we apologise for your disappointment.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Cleveleys, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Would just like to say a big 'thank you' to a very helpful and friendly young man from your housekeeping team. I am a bridal gown designer and was showing at your recent bridal fair. I work alone and Steven ( I think that was his name) saw me struggling with my display stands and gowns. At once he came over and offered to carry most of my things into the hotel. He was most helpful and very friendly. I had my little dog with me and he even offered to take her for a little walk if i wanted him to during his lunch break. Thank you very much. Look forward to your next fair.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "Jonathan D",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you chose to exhibit at our Wedding Fayre and hope this was a success for you.

I will ensure that your "thank you" is passed to Steven in Housekeeping ... I know he will be thrilled to have a mention.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely hotel. Welcomed warmly our room was a large family room lovely decorated, very modern.
Starbucks cafe in reception lovely friendly service from the guy who served us and he wrote my daughters name on her hot chocci. lean room plenty of large bath towels and small hand towels. Beds are sooo comfortable .The child's pull out bed had no bedding so we asked reception, a full set was sent including a fruit shoot and sweets for our daughter.Pool large steam room .sauna and jacuzzi. Outdoor pool heated but we didn't venture out.Changing rooms spotless shower gel and shampoo in the showers, Towels given so no need to pack your own. Next door to the zoo so perfect for a great day out. Breakfast is plentiful and loads of choice for everyone. We had breakfast with Birmingham City football team and Paddy Mcguinness so a great morning. (paddy mcguinness is great).
Spent evenings in the outside inn for our meals as its brilliant and only a short drive away.
I would recommend this hotel for a break and we will be returning !

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "Suefaye",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

It sounds like you had a lovely time and what a bonus to have breakfast with some footballers and a celebrity ...

We do hope you and your family will return to the hotel again although I can't promise the above.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with regards to any offers we may have available when you do wish to return.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Village Urban Resort in Blackpool in March 2014. The hotel itself was easy to find with a very grand entrance driving up the driveway - almost like a stately home!

The parking was free - which was an added bonus and a deciding factor when I was booking a hotel in the area.

The reception was welcoming, staff very friendly and helpful. Amazing Starbucks coffee shop in the reception area - heaven!

The room was spotless, bed was large and very comfortable. We had a door adjoining the next room and at times we could hear everything the people next door were saying and didnt seem to offer much privacy.

Paid a visit to the onsite pub, again staff very friendly with a good atmopshere in the pub; however, nearly £8 for two pints of lager seemed a little steep.

Overall the hotel was a good choice and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my sister when we went to see Shane Filan playing at the Opera House. Great quality room -large double bed, bath and shower, large room space with sofa, huge desk and excellent temperature control. I don't normally sleep well in hotels, but this was an exception, I slept straight through. Huge choice for breakfast. At £89 for B&B, great value for money and great location, easy to get to from motorway

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeatherScott_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi "HeatherScott_10",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

What a great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and had a good nights sleep.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again when returning to Blackpool.

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Beach) Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing