We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Weekend Spoilt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Myself and 15 pals attended the Herons Reach on a Golf Stag Do Weekend on 22/03/14 to celebrate our Pal Brys last few days of freedom.We are all well presented hard working blokes and in no way rough and tumble chaps that are sometimes associated with these types of gatherings. The golf was great on Saturday although the weather was awful which in no way obviously can we blame the hotel for.Unfortunately what we can lay the blame on the hotel about is the horrible horrible food they presented to us in the evening.The so called Mixed Grill was nothing more than a Child's School Dinner at best,it consisted of a Sausage Curl, gammon, steak and a piece of chicken along with thin packet chips and mixed veg (peas and carrots).The items were approx 60mm square and so tough the knives could not touch them, the sausage was probably the only edible item.The shift manager came to talk to our best man but to be fair nothing was sorted and the chef wouldn't come out to talk to us about his mistakes etc.It took so long that the rest of the party had got past the hungry stage and we retired to bed hungry fed up and not to happy.I think the last word was that the shift leader would get in touch with the manager to discuss the situation but alas we haven't heard anything yet.
To conclude.It was terrible terrible food but the hotel is fantastic for sport.Beware.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cooljonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi "cooljonny",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am sorry to read that you did have a disappointing celebration stay with us ... I hope that you have now been contacted with regards to your issues? Please can you contact me direct if this is not the case. My direct email address is Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,457 - 3,463 of 4,299 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on 22 March. This hotel is located on a gold course just out of the main town. It is close enough to the main nightlife with a short taxi ride - and far enough out of town for peace and quiet.

It is the usual high standard you would expect from a De Vere hotel. Spotless and well maintained. The on site Starbucks is very busy and a welcomed treat after a long drive.

Breakfast. Good quality buffet with a wide range of choice. In short a good quality hotel in Blackpool.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank northants90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi "northants90",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you liked the location of the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again when you are next in the area.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed recently at this hotel as part of a small family group and were a bit concerned before the visit after reading some mixed reviews. We booked a dinner bed and breakfast deal which turned out to be good value for money.

The rooms we were allocated overlooked the swimming pool but were quite dark due to the dark "urban" wallpaper and in one of the rooms the crazed double glazed window panel, whilst the rooms were not large they were clean and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed using both the outdoor pool which was warm once we were in it, and also the large indoor leisure pool and sauna facilities. The well equipped gym area was very busy in the evening with lots of local people using it as well as others waiting for the various classes that were taking place.

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful as were the evening restaurant and bar staff, the mature staff at breakfast were less friendly and welcoming.

The dinner menu we could choose from as part of our deal was limited but we were all able to find something we liked and could have chosen from the full menu with an allowance of £14.50. if we had prefered. The food was hot and tasty but did take some time to arrive but as we were not in a rush it did not matter too much. Breakfast was the usual hot buffet and was more than adequate.

If we were visiting Blackpool again we would use this hotel as it is in a quiet area of the town and the rate we paid was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLBLACK, General Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Village The Hotel Club Blackpool.

It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us in order to improve and grow our business and I will be sure to pass your comments back to the relevant departments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart - Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a charity function. Good big room with 2 double beds. The bar area was comfortable and the food with the meal good. Decent bathroom too.
The rooms are quite dark and in think they are going for a Malmaison theme. But the rooms are dark enough to give the ladies problems when putting make up on.
We did not use the pool or gym but we heard good reports from other guests.
Breakfast was slow although it was a very busy Sunday morning.
A lite surprised that the reception staff all wear jeans. It might be something to do with the hotel theme.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi "Ernie Traveller",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay with us and had a good time attending a function.

I will ensure that your constructive feedback is passed to the Management team on site and we do hope that you will return and stay with us in the future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just had one of our best short breaks ever at this hotel. Service was excellent, room spotless and extremely comfortable. We dined in the Italian restaurant each evening ....food was of a high standard, beautifully presented and service not to be faulted. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodynlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi "woodynlu",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

The team on site will be thrilled that your stay was one of the best short breaks you have ever had ... it sounds like you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice in a week, first time with 4 couples on a golf & spa weekends, what great value. 5 course carvery in Bucca De Beppo Restaurant, was delicious, breakfast was excellent. Rooms were large and clean, and modern, with comfy beds. 2nd time we came with the children, swimming pool, indoor and outdoor, kids had a great time, would definitely stay again, friendly staff, quick check, Starbucks coffee shop, bar serving food plus the restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicshep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi "Nicshep4",

Thank you for your recent review/s of Village Blackpool.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and that adults and children had such a great time.

We do try and cater for all and its lovely to hear that a good time was had by all.

We do hope that if you are in the Blackpool area again you come back and visit us?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a spa day the the De vere today, I cannot recommend the Spa enough, from the staff, to the treatments and the facilities. We came out of the spa feeling really relaxed and rejuvenated. As we had not eaten all day we decided to have dinner at the victory bar. BIG MISTAKE. The staff behind the bar clearly did not want to be there, its not hard to crack a smile is it!!! We ordered nachos to share as a starter with two burgers to follow. Not exactly rocket science. After what seemed like a lifetime of waiting, and having to move tables due the cackling drunken golf wag at the table behind, we eventually got our meals...with the starter and the main all coming out at the same time. We decided it was too much hassle to send it back so had them together. Nachos were mediocre, but the burger was horrendous. Dry and stale bun which was that brittle it fell apart as soon as you touched it. The burger, if it can be described as that was a nasty,dry and shriveled effort which was to me, inedible. I expressed this and received a refund. I then went for a burger at Mcdonalds, it is a poor state of affairs when a Mcdonalds processed burger is significantly better quality than one from a 4 star hotel! Sort it out victory. All in all a good day, just don't bank on the food being any good!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi "Marie F",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am sorry to hear that after such a great spa day you were disappointed with the food and service within Victory Pub. I will pass your feedback to both our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef.

I will also pass on your lovely comments to our Spa Manager and her team.

If you would like to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £49 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing