We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Conflicting Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel on business purposes.
After looking at the description of the hotel on the hotel website and tripadvisor, I thought I would give it ago.
The first room that I was given was directly above the squash courts. You could continually hear the ball hitting the wall and the players shouting. After informing the reception team that I was not happy, I was moved to another room. This room was on the floor above, unfortunately it was also the same. I could still hear the squash ball vibrations carry up the wall cavity when trying to sleep. The noise from the vibration stops at approx. 22:00. If you require an early night, there is no point checking in here. The beds are also brick hard.
Apart from this, the rest of the facilities are top class. The fitness suite/swimming pool are great. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean. The wifi access is also excellent. However, as a good nights sleep, its not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webbie2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi "Webbie2004",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am sorry that you did experience noise disturbance during your stay, if you will be returning to the hotel in future then please can you contact me direct to enable me to allocate you a room in a quieter area of the hotel.

My direct email address is Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,357 - 3,363 of 4,223 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stopped at the village a number of times when on business in Blackpool. The rooms are clean and basic and the only time you get decent toilettes is if you upgrade.

The breakfast is not great and it takes ages to make a slice of toast, depending on the time you go down for breakfast will depend on how fresh the breakfast is and sometimes the cooked food has been sat for a while.

The pool and gym is very nice and Starbucks site is good.

Its fine for a couple of nights on business but I don't think I would book for pleasure as every room I have stopped in has been quite dark.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite dark, suggest a view of the golf course on a higher floor to get a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi "Linzi B",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you do choose us as the place to stay when you visit Blackpool on business and we take all feedback seriously.

I will ensure that your comments with regards to breakfast is relayed to our Executive Chef.

If you do want to discuss your feedback further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct on: Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay here. Clean and cheerful room, with a very comfortable bed. Good buffet breakfast, handy if you like your food. Staff are friendly and check in efficient. nice area away from the tacky central area of Blackpool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows overlooking the golf course as the pool view rooms can be very noisy whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovemygrub888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi "Lovemygrub888",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you liked the area in which the hotel is located.

We do hope you will return to the hotel again in the near future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed there this week for two nights.

The entrance to the hotel is nice with Starbucks ect. The problem is when you go up to the rooms. The hall ways had food on the floor that wasn't vacuumed for over 24 hours. Our room was dirty drink spills on the desk area crumbs all over the chair food on the floor. No hand soap in the dispenser. The furniture was old and chipped the pain was chipped in all the skirting boards and had been touched up with pain that didn't match.
We ate in the Italian restaurant which was fine we also ate in the pub the food was fine but the rambles weren't clean. And it wasn't really suitable for families in there even though it was only 3.30 pm due to the men in there from golf. They were swearing at the till point where the food was ordered the staff didn't step in and ask them to tone there language down. It seemed like they were regulars as the staff knew them by name. We ate our food and quickly left.
On day of check out we nipped back to our room after breakfast at 8.30 am and our card wouldn't work it had been turned of I know they want to clean the rooms quick as the cleaner was in the room next to ours but surely before check out time is not acceptable.
We had heard really good things about this hotel but wouldn't recommend it to others

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi "sophie205",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are sorry that you were disappointment with your stay of which we do apologise. I will feedback your comments to the Management team on site.

If you would like to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct on: Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everything except the service is great, they staff spoil the venue by being miserable and not at all helpful, big delays for sime things like ordering food in the bar up to 45 mins wait, just not acceptable,

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi "Scott T",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the service within the hotel of which will be relayed to the Management team on site.

If you do wish to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct on: Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we spent a long week end in this outstanding hotel and it was wonderful.it was so relaxing we really enjoyed the spa that was included in the price of our stay.the room was quite comfortable and clean.the staff was very friendly and helpful.also in the hotel there is a pub where the food is really good ,the service amazing.we really recommend to chose this hotel if you happen to go to blackpool also great for golf fanatics

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLBLACK, General Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Village The Hotel Club Blackpool.

It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us in order to improve and grow our business and I will be sure to pass your comments back to the relevant departments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart - Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here w/c 23/4 having not been to the hotel for at least 2 years.

The first thing that you notice is the amount of time and money that has been spent on the public areas. Gone was the the old fashioned Hotel Restaurant that I never noticed busy, replaced by a reasonably priced Italian Pizzeria. The pub/golf clubhouse has dioubled in size & was very busy, even on a Wednesday.

My only criticism is that perhaps they could have spent some more money on the rooms as they are starting to look a lillte tired (this may be next on the agenda, I don't know).

Check in was smooth despite it being very busy at 5pm, just the relevent information given instead of the the endless drivel given out by some reception areas!

My room was perfectly acceptable for the one night I was staying with a plesent functional bathroom, small in size, but ok. The decor, as i said seemed a bit tired which made for a rather dull room.

I had a meal in the Victory Pub which has replaced the old golf clubhouse & I have to say it was excellent and, together with the drinks prices, relatively reasonably priced for a Hotel. A previous cricicism was that this area could get very busy at times but due to the extensive buidling work that had been done since my last visit, this was no longer an issue.

Breakfast the next morning was also excellent with a wide choice of cereals & hot food. The cooked breakfast did not taste like it had been under lights for some considerable time, a failing of many places that serve buffet style meals.

All in all, I would say that the hotel has improved considerably over the last 2 years but i do feel that they should look at the rooms next.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthEast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,298 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
908 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £35 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing