We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but poorly organised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
1 review
“Pleasant but poorly organised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Staff all polite & friendly so no issues there. No complaints about the food itself but bugbear was the poor organisation and long delays! Our first round of drinks with our evening meal took about 30 mins to arrive and then mine was forgotten and when it did come was spilt over table by waitress. Ok accidents happen and poor lass was mortified & very apologetic but it seemed to set the tone for the evening..... Lots of apologies for delayed deliveries of food courses, forgotten dishes, long waits for drinks, etc. The general cleanliness of bar & restaurant facilities needed a good steam clean, floor felt constantly sticky under foot & tables never got wiped down. Several times had to get drink exchanged for clean glass as original not properly cleaned - ugh hate getting a glass with remnants of someone else's lipstick. Our bedroom was clean but furniture scuffed/dated, bathroom very good. Location of hotel good and pleasant but general maintenance/upkeep of hotel poor, lots of peeling paint and lack of imagination in some areas

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi "Debs B",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We would like to apologise for the long delays you did experience during your stay within our Food & Beverage outlets. I will ensure that your feedback to relayed to the Management team on site as we do appreciate all our guest comments.

If you would like to discuss your issues further, then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Kind Regards,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    984
    707
    302
    194
See reviews for
829
1,283
86
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of June. I was a little apprehensive as I have read some poor reviews. I was however pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
I found the rooms to be clean and the beds comfortable. On a down side the single beds are so close you could be fooled into thinking they were a double bed. They also had a tendancy to skate around the room when sat on.
The grounds around the hotel were lovely and gave the effect of being miles away from anywhere, although not far from central blackpool.
The breakfast service staff were friendly and helpful.
Considering the price I paid for my break I will certainly return again. Excellent value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi "Jean D",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be situated in such a lovely environment and are glad that you loved the location.

You have stated that you will be returning so we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My whole family stayed at the hotel for my cousins wedding and it truly was a memorable visit.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we checked in by the lovely friendly staff.

The staff and the hotel itself are what makes this a great place to stay in Blackpool. I would certainly return if I am ever in Blackpool.

From the lovely bar overlooking the golf course to the health centre and swimming pool.

Coming from Birmingham on such a long journey the hotel was the perfect place to hold a wedding!! Thoroughly enjoyed!

Big hats off to all at the village hotel Blackpool!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sun1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLBLACK, General Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 September 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Village The Hotel Club Blackpool.

It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us in order to improve and grow our business and I will be sure to pass your comments back to the relevant departments.

Kind Regards

James Stewart - Senior General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A good standard of hotel but problems checking in noted as well niggles with staff and poor procedure playing golf later in the evening. Not as good as De Vere / Village resorts elsewhere in the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi "Alan S",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We would like to apologise that you did experience a few niggles during your stay. If you do wish to discuss these further, then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Kind Regards,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just got back from our two night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and very helpful. This hotel has everything that you would need with its great facilities. The restaurants serve very good food and Chantelle who was our waitress on our first night was lovely and very helpful. The swimming pool was excellent, pity about the outdoor pool though as there seemed to be a problem with the water which was a shame as the weather that day was warm and sunny.Our room was very nice.

Room Tip: our room was alright it was on the ground floor facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi "mangyGlasgow",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay but would like to apologise that you were unable to use our outdoor pool during your stay. It is normally open all year round but we did have a technical fault so had to make the tough decision to shut it whilst it was repaired.

I do hope you will return and stay with us again and have the opportunity to use the outdoor pool as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

So I've travelled all around the world staying in various classes of hotels and I can't believe this isn't rated higher. It obviously beats some dingy little hotel on Blackpool front. The facilities are excellent, indoor and outdoor pool, gym with lots of classes, pub, Italian restaurant and a Starbucks. Oh and a beautiful golf course. Every staff member we have come across has been absolutely wonderful and have gone out of their way to be friendly and efficient. We had a slight glitch with our room when we checked in so they upgraded us ... Considering we got a £72 deal bb this was brilliant. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Some people really are picky but you can't not have fun here :) the only downside is no air con but it is 26 here at the moment so not exactly usual weather and we did have a fan waiting for us :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raycatcher80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi "Raycatcher80",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

Its great that you feel we are the number 1 hotel in Blackpool. We do try and cater for everyones requirements and we do offer great facilities.

I will ensure that all the team on site are aware of your very positive feedback as they all work so hard and will be thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much.

We hope that you will come back and see us again soon?

Thanks,

Janine Whur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#11 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing