We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel let down by pub staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night 11/08/14. First impressions were very good. The hotel drive is very nice and check in was excellent. The guy that checked us in was very polite and professional. We had booked an Upper Deck room which overlooked the golf course and was very clean and pleasant. Left the car in the car park and took a taxi to the Pleasure Beach which was £10. Returned later that evening and decided to have dinner in the pub bit of the hotel and this is what lets the hotel down so much. After waiting at the bar to be served we found a table which was sticky to say the least. After checking over the uninspiring menu we ordered a starter and main course and watched tables leaving (it wasn't busy) and not 1 member of staff cleaned the tables or removed dirty glasses/plates etc. Our food arrived after approx. 15 minutes and this is where it got strange. Our starters came with the main courses and it took 2 attempts to explain why we didn't wwant them at the same time?? The food was ok, wish I would have opted for the Italian. Had a good night's sleep and breakfast the next morning was good, I had continental while my partner went for the full english (I think the price is the same regardless, I just prefer continental). Again check out was as efficient as check in. Would I go back, probably not as I have no desire to visit Blackpool, however I would probably try one of the other hotels in the chain as I liked the room, just a massive let down in the pub area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "Julie G",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay with us but would like to apologise for the service you received within our main pub ... your comments will be passed to our Pub Manager so she is fully aware of your experience.

I do hope that if you are in the Blackpool area again you would choose us and its great to hear that you would use Village Hotels again.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,953 - 2,959 of 3,902 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked for 09/08/14 to 11/08/14 although reviews were mixed. Booked due to taking 2 grandsons aged 9 and 1 so handy for Stanley Park, Zoo and the hotel leisure facilities. Paid for dinner, bed and breakfast with a glass of wine each with evening meal and free wifi.

On arrival the reception staff were good, fast and efficient but too fast because they did not give me the password for the wifi. Unless you ask they don't offer. I find this poor service and should be part of the booking in procedure.

The rooms were reasonable and heavily used so a bit tired. Clean though but a bit cramped. It was only 19 degrees but the room was very warm and although you get a fan it was uncomfortable during the night so air condition units would be great. Pity help anyone if it was a higher temp outside.

We used the indoor and outdoor pools and the facilities were good. We never used anything else and they give you towels and the use of lockers.

Dinner on the first night was good and service very quick even though it was busy. There was a wedding on too. We booked a table, thought this was better than turning up and maybe having to wait, we were seated at the requested time. Waitress was nice, polite and friendly. Was asked what package we were on and told them dinner was included. They gave us 3 menus, one which was standard for the package we had, grill menu and a la carte menu. If we did not use the package menu we had £14.50 each go use towards the other menus. The package menu was fine as was the others. Meals were ok as were portions. Asked for bill and they had added the £29 subsidy for the meals rather than take it off. Did correct it though once pointed out. Was never offered the free glass of wine that was part of the package. So if you don't ask you don't get. Poor service.

The second night was very poor. Booked a table with female supervisor. Attended at time and male supervisor never had the booking. No problem he gets us a table right away as the restaurant was quiet. The grandson noticed figures that were made with balloons. He had seen these the night before and although they were giving them out he was not offered one. He was not happy but never said too much. A waiter saw him looking at them and told him he would get him one.

Seated and given a menu, the supervisor never explained about the menu or how the carvery worked and told us our server would be over shortly. Waited for ages and a girl took our drinks order. Noticed another couple were seated near us and they waited ages so got up and left.

Drinks came and once again we were never offered our glass of wine. It took another good 15 mins before giving our order and received the starts 10 mins after that. Too long. Went up to get our meal as it was a carvery it was a buffet style. Had roast beef and Roast gammon but no turkey left. Could help yourself to veg, potatoes, gravy and Yorkshire puddings. It looked good.

The grandson by this time was impatient for the balloon figure and get on about it. The female supervisor was asked and she became very rude, talked over us and told us that as they bought them in they only had so many and were all gone. No apology even though pointed out a waiter had gold the grandson he would get one and had not received one the night before. No apology or empathy shown. Poor and very rude service.

Spoke with the male supervisor who was more concerned and showed mor empathy. A couple of minutes later the female supervisor returned with balloons and a ballon figure but no real apology. Even though she did this it was too little too late. Pushed our meals to the side, asked for the bill and you guessed it they had added the subsidy again. Once again I had to get them to change it. Paid what I had go and the change I left for the waitress. A ruined evening and actually ruined the stay.

The breakfasts were alright, buffet style, cereal selection not great, jars of yogurt and fruit selection was not great either.

On booking out it was quick and asked how my stay was. The receptionist listened, was helpful, offered me to speak with a duty manager but as we were going to the zoo I declined but she gave an email address to contact them.

Was it worth it? It would have been if the problems in the restaurant were not there. Adding the subsidy is a training issue even though it happened 2 nights in a row. Not being offered the wine was poor service as was not receiving the password for the wifi. The rude restaurant supervisor though was unacceptable. It was not that busy, people were leaving due to waiting times and poor service and if she had treated other people the way she treated us then no wonder people write reviews which are not great.

Would I return? If there is no air condition, the service in the restaurant does not change and the female supervisor in the restaurant does not get moved away then no.

It could be a lot better if they made some changes.


Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "James H",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We would like to apologise for the disappointing service you did receive within our main restaurant and I will ensure that the team are fully aware of this.

We are pleased that you did have the opportunity to utilise the leisure facilities and that you enjoyed using both of the pools.

If you would like to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, there was a thick layer of dust on top of the bed headboard and light fittings also the clothes storage area. The bathroom floor by the side of the bath in the corner had not been cleaned properly as it was caked in dirt. This is not a 4 star cleanliness standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizzyblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "fizzyblue2",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We would like to apologise that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your room and hope that this was addressed by the team on site at the time of your stay?

If you would like to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Drive into the place was magnificent and the hotel looked stunning. Reception staff were efficient and welcoming. Room was comfortable and there was plenty of tea and coffee. Usual items in the room. Restaurant was ok. Bit slow but staff were attentive. Meal was ok nothing special.
Breakfast however was a bit of a farce. There was a queue and the wait period was at least 20 minutes to get seated. The breakfast was nothing special. Queues for the toaster!!! Bacon was undercooked. Mushrooms and tomato were cold. Plates to put the food on was cold. Needs a rethink to make the experience more welcoming and the food more appetising. Plenty of food though which is a plus. Plenty of car parking spaces. Hotel sits inside the golf course so plenty of golfers milling around. Also there is a sports centre within the hotel complex used by outside persons. Got very crowded inside the reception area. I thought it was good value overall and I would use the place.

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast room early to avoid the queues and a long wait........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "Colinrbush",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall experience of the hotel and I will ensure that both the Restaurant Manager & Executive Chef are aware of your feedback with regards to breakfast.

I hope you do return to the hotel again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Attended this hotel for a function and decided to have lunch in the bar. The bar are was very disorganized and all the tables looked like they needed a really good wipe. Service was very slow and the food was very poor and overpriced. I certainly would go elsewhere to eat in future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nick045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "nick045",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We would like to apologise for your disappointing experience within our main bar. Please be assured your comments will be passed to our Pub Manager.

We do appreciate all feedback we receive and if you would like to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the urban village resort in Blackpool on a family trip from Scotland to visit the pleasure beach. We choose this hotel as it's away from the promenade and all the Blackpool tack since we only travelled down to take the children to the pleasure beach and just wanted a short drive at the end of the day. If you do want to go down to the front to all the attractions then it is a good 30-40 minute walk. Driving up to the hotel was very impressive, and the decor inside is very modern. The rooms were a decent size, and clean however some of the decor was a bit worn and could do with a freshen up both through the upstairs corridors and in the bedrooms. The outdoor pool was lovely for a swim as it was heated, but there is parts of the indoor pool area and the changing rooms that could be doing with getting freshened up, as again felt a bit worn. Would definitely recommend the spa for treatments, I got a 40 min hot stone massage for £30 and it was amazing and so relaxing. Dining within the resort is really what let's the place down, we went to the Bar area to just get some pub grub but was informed that this would be an hour wait for the food to be made which is ridiculous for a burger and some fries so instead we decided to visit the restaurant as told we could have a table within 10 minutes. So we went along to the restaurant to wait to be seated then the girl started to seat other people before us as she said we never came over to her again after the 10 minutes even although we were standing at the door waiting. After being seated it took ages for anybody to come over to us to get a drinks order and had to shout someone over even although the restaurant wasn't even half full. The food took over an hour to come out and we had to keep reminding someone of our drinks order so we would have been better off staying at the bar. The food was very average and overpriced for something that was pre-cooked and jus reheated not made by the "chefs". Breakfast again was long queues to get in and very average food. Overall we had a pleasant stay, and would stay again if visiting the pleasure beach again but wouldn't dine within the hotel unless there was huge improvements to the service and standard of food or changed prices to reflect the type of food being served. This hotel is not to the same standard as other Devere hotels if that is what you are expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Amcb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "amcb89",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay with us and enjoyed your spa treatments.

Please be assured I will pass your feedback to our Restaurant Manager with regards to your experience within our main restaurant.

If you do wish to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I booked this trip with our six year old son. We booked the hotel because we wanted to enjoy the indoor and outdoor pool as well as be close to the activities within blackpool. On checking in, we were advised by Reception that there was a drainage issue and as a result all the leisure pools and leisure facilities were closed. They were unable to advise us as to when the pools would reopen. Out of a four day trip it turned out they were closed for 2 days. They have offered us compensation in the way of a refund on our zoo tickets approx 40 quid. We don't feel this is enough as we had to take our son to loads of different activities within Blackpool just to pass the time. Other issues with the hotel include the heat!! Seriously, the heat in the bedrooms and communal areas are awful. They give each room a fan but it does nothing to cool the room and if left on at night just stops you falling asleep as it's like a small aeroplane taking off! The Italian restaurant is nice but waiting staff take ages between courses to serve you even when the restaurant seems empty. The prices on the menu are expensive and over priced hence the reason we didn't stop to enjoy a bottle of wine at this hotel. The hotel has some good points. The housekeeping staff work so hard and always made the rooms up well each day and supply fresh towels. The pools ( once open) are great but somehow this just highlighted what we had been missing out on for 2 out of 4 days of our stay. We won't return to this hotel. If anyone wants a lovely hotel outside of blackpool with great facilities then head to Ribby Hall village which you can't beat especially for young children!!

Room Tip: Go for breakfast before 9 am or you will wait in a massive queue. Ask for a room overlooking golf co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi "Gazneli",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Urban Resort Blackpool.

We would like to apologise for the disappointment you and your family did experience with our leisure facilities being closed for a period of time. This was unscheduled urgent maintenance works and do understand your disappointment.

We are pleased that did manage to enjoy a few days utilising the facilities and if you do wish to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Kind Regards,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
880 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,047 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £42 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing