We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will stay the night in the street but not in that hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northlands Hotel
Ranked #831 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will stay the night in the street but not in that hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

It's very bad nothing good to say about it aviod that place no matter what !! The rooms are bad dirty plugs broken kettles not working doors does not lock beds un comfatable . Bathroom dirty and mouldy shower not working toilet does not flsh . Not nice at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotsoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    25
    9
    9
    80
See reviews for
18
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our stay started with a greeting from a man with a bleach dyed fringe stuck to his forehead. I went to the tiny bar with my mate and asked for a Cider, she gave me a can of cider and a filthy glass, so we decided to drink straight from the can for our own health. We had two rooms, the bedding stunk of ash ! The bunk beds were held up by about 3 metal slats, my kettle went missing throughout the night. I'm sure the lady who run the hotel was on Jeremy Kyle on the 28/08/13. All in all what a dump !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

If I could give this hotel a more negative rating than 'Terrible', I absolutely would. My friend and I booked this B&B expecting something very basic considering the price we paid (£45) - however we at least expected to feel safe in our own room.

We arrived around 8pm to find that our room was a complete mess - plaster all over the floor and bedding strewn around the room. We were ushered out and told that the lock had been kicked in by another hotel guest the night before and that the room still needed to be cleaned after the new lock had been fitted. This was surprising as the staff had even telephoned earlier in the day to check what time we'd be arriving, so there was really no reason that the room should've been in that state when we arrived. We waited for this to happen and were very polite and understanding despite the inconvenience - we were in Blackpool to attend a festival and really needed to get going. Bev, a member of staff there, was friendly and offered us a drink on the house as a way of apologising for the issues with our room, which was appreciated.

After our room had been cleaned we decided to leave our bags in our room and head to the festival, however we then discovered that the new lock that had been fitted on to our room still wasn't working - we weren't able to lock it and so we really weren't comfortable leaving our bags there in an unsecured room. While a male member of hotel staff - who was quite rude - worked on repairing the lock, we eventually decided to take our bags to a friend's hotel and return to Northlands later when the lock had been sorted.

We returned to Northlands around 2am as the staff on duty told us this was when they'd be around until. When we arrived there was no one there so we went upstairs and entered our room - it seemed that the door was locked when we arrived, so we assumed this was fixed.

We prepared to head back to the festival, but while we were in and out of our room we kept being bothered by a group of rowdy drunken boys next door, who were being quite intimidating and letchy. We left the room and tried to lock the door again but with no luck. Both of us tried to lock the door a number of times, from both the inside and the outside, but it just wasn't working. It looked to us like the lock had been fixed to the door frame slightly wonky. At that, we decided that we weren't able to stay in that hotel room. We didn't feel safe staying in a room with no lock on the door, especially with the group of boys staying just next door after some of the comments that they made.

We left the hotel with our things and the key and telephoned the hotel to leave a message explaining what we'd done. Fortunately, a friend of ours was so helpful and assisted us in finding another B&B with vacancies - quite a difficult task considering how busy Blackpool was with the festival on! We were really lucky to find a room at The Georgian Hollies hotel just down the road, where there was also very friendly and helpful staff. We're really grateful for everyone that helped us find a clean, safe room at 3am on a Saturday night!

Hotel staff telephoned us back and were quite unhelpful - they wouldn't believe that the room wouldn't lock and asked us to drop the keys back in the morning, saying that it was unlikely we'd be given a refund despite everything that had happened. We did drop the keys off the next morning but we asked that the manager give us a call to discuss a refund - we were told the manager would be around on Monday so we could discuss the matter then.

As of Monday afternoon, we've heard nothing back from Northlands management but will definitely be endeavouring to get our money back as it's unacceptable that we were left feeling unsafe in a hotel room that we'd paid for - the very least we could expect was privacy in our own room. We've also been sure to let all of our friends - who visit Blackpool every year for the festival - know about the state of Northlands Hotel and how unhelpful the staff have been so far.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Stay at any B&B in the area but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allllliiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Filthy run down hotel. Went on a hen party last night had rooms 8 and 21 door wouldnt lock on room 8 and had a horrid man with a rude attitude fixing it, since when has swearing been good customer service? Plaster coming off walls tiles in bathroom a hazard and looked as though it had not been cleaned in a very long time. I no its cheap bt its not worth that money absolute dive needs knocking down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxsammi13xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

1 is a gernerous rating for this stay!!! Rude staff, smelly place, doors that didn't lock... A two hour wait for the door fixing, a leaky bathroom, bunk beds with no bars and a toilet that didnt flush. You don't expect 5* for your money but you expect basic cleanliness. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. And the cheek to ask for a damage deposit is ridiculous. Should have been paid to stay.
It was that bad that we rang several hotels for another room. Do. Not. Stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flowellaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Some of the reviews are spot on. Yes it is tired. Yes in places it is scruffy. But it is bloomin cheap and does what it says on the tin. Good craic for a stag weekend even though the bathroom ceiling fell down and the door lock was broken. .....it did not matter we were not sober enough to worry. Happy days !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayd here saturday 2 lads. Where do I start we was greeted by a horrible looking man who looked like triple h on drugs. The place stinks. The rooms are tiny bed was broken . Holes everywhere. Half to share a shower and toilet with other people. This bnb should be demolished I would never stay here again. Even if they would pay me to. Who ever writes a good review about this place is either been paid to or its the owner herself. Dont be fooled guys . Its absaloutley disgusting!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkiepeter, Owner at Northlands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
These 'people' were causing severe damage in the hotel and we had to call the Police to get them arrested and they were forced to pay for the damage. Anyone who does not believe me can email me and I will happilly give you the Police log number so you may check for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#216 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#345 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#459 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlands Hotel

Property: Northlands Hotel
Address: 31-33 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Northlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Northlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing