We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap crap crap”
Review of Bond Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bond Hotel
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Arrived at the bond hotel with my wheelchair ridden grandmother and parcially sighted auntie, not even half an hour into my dtay there i had to get new towels ( that were the size of hand towels ) because mine had stains on them and went to make a cup of tea to find dust mites in the mugs, which put me right off. We went down for the evening meal which was terrible no taste at all, felt like cardboard in my mouth, for me the beds were tiny as im 6ft 3 my feet hug far off the very uncomfortable bed, fair to say it will be the forst and very last time we stay there! Advise no one to go at all!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mudditt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay In the bond, couldn't fault them! The staff were so friendly and always smiling! We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much! The evening entertainers were great and really got everybody involved! ... Mike's cooking was amazing and there was a varied choice of food each day, morning and night. The rooms were clean and spaciouse and we got fresh towels, tea and coffee in our rooms daily. The service and help received from the staff was brilliant! We would definatly visit again next year! Thankyou all so much! Sammy, Debbie, joe and Marcus xx

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHolidays, Manager at Bond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Hi Sammy,

The Big Switch On Weekend was a great weekend at the hotel, thank you for the positive comments which I have passed on to our staff this morning. We are glad you all enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind Regards
Bond Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Bond hotel the only true accessible hotel in the country wishing they had others nearer. Just leaving today with our 3 residents. They have had a fantastic time during lights switch on. Food great and plentiful all our dietry needs catered for. Big thanks to all kitchen restaurant staff and all reception staff fantastic weekend. We will be back very soon.
You all do a great job big thanks to the team in blackpool

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clareseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHolidays, Manager at Bond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Clare,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay during the Big Switch On weekend for Blackpool Illuminations. We are very proud of our team here at the Bond Hotel who work very hard to ensure our guests really do come first. We hope you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to welcoming you agian in the future.

Kind Regards
Bond Hotel, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked by a friend so we really didn't know what to expect. Now, dont get me wrong its great that its especially catering for disabled people or old people so access is easy etc but you kind of get the feeling that you're unwelcome if perhaps you're not in a wheelchair or aren't old! The toilets by reception werent particularly pleasant and the floor was covered in (hopefully) water! Our room was right outside the back of the building in some kind of back building, obviously these rooms arent suited to old/disabled guests due to the distance away and all the stairs. The rooms were reasonable, with twin beds and tv's etc but nothing out of the ordinary. Wouldnt return because i just felt uncomfortable and out of place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroraLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHolidays, Director of Sales at Bond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Aurora,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding a stay you had with us back in October 2011. Unfortunately due to the time that has passed in the year since your stay I cannot comment on the break for the time you stayed with us, however if you would like to join us again in the future please feel free to contact me and I will ensure you are in the main hotel. We do have a seperate building that runs alongside the main hotel. If any bookings are made for there we do explain the layout during the booking, we mainly use the rooms for guests who wish some quiet time or carers who are supporting on holidays who are on waking watch and need to sleep during the day, giving the peaceful quiet area to do this.

Kindest Regards
Karen
Bond Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just home from a great week's holiday in the Bond Hotel...The staff are great, nothing's too much trouble.My mum & i met some lovely people, staff and guests..the food was great...chef Mike & restaurant Manager Carol great people, really good fun..The Entertainment is first class..looking forward to going back again..Thanks again folks..

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionadickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHolidays, Manager at Bond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Fiona,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Bond Hotel. I have passed your lovely comments to our team, including Carol & Mike. They all work incredibly hard to ensure our guests have everything they need during their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bond Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Bond Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This was our first time to Blackpool and choose this hotel because it catered for my daughters needs. The hotel and service is all dedicated to the disabled persion and not their carers. When booking I requested a profiling bed and hoist which was in our room. The profiling bed was comfortable, not so the single beds for us. I then realised I needed a fridge which they prompty supplied. The Bond is called a hotel but it does have the feeling of a care home which for thoses travelling alone will give them some comfort and I witnessed how the staff supported them especially in the dining room. The best thing about this hotel is the dining experience. From arrival you are allocated a table which is yours throughout. It has a buffet style delivery which suited us but heard previously it used to be waitress service. They ensure you have tea or coffee delivered to your table. The daily menu is available to view along with the whole weeks so you know what to expect. Some items are not always out on display, ie vegetarian options, but this is because to make sure the true vegetarians do get their choices. There are 3 choices off each course that are very fulfilling and they do not make you feel greedy. My daughter who generally eats very little had a feast each evening without feeling all eyes are watching you when she dribbles or makes a mess with her food. The catering staff are also on hand and constantly removing plates that are finished with. This experience was very relaxing with plenty of space to manouvre a wheelchair. Having spent the day visiting various attractions, we returned to a hearty evening meal. Because my daughter was so tired from the sea air a gentle walk along the sea front was enough to walk off the meal and then return and settled in for the evening. Every night in the main hall there was 2 singers to entertain you. We didn't always get to see their full act as we were caring for our daughter and I choose to remain in our room, listening to the tv but would occassionally pop down for 5 minute view on the act whilst my husband made his way to the bar and would feedback to us. I enjoyed Nicola, the scottish lady singer as she mingled with the guests, got them up dancing and involved. She even allowed a disablrd guest complete a duet with her! All the acts were appreciated by their audience. All guests soon became familiar with each other and no-one got looked down upon or made to feel uncomfortable because of their disability. Overall, we enjoyed our holiday because the holiday was booked around our daughters needs. We choose to travel by our own car but if we did not, they had daily trips available which was wheelchair accessible.
Final review outcome: Postives are staff constantly available and can't do enough for you, equipment supplied to suit our needs, good location, excellent dining experience (compliments to the chef)
Negatives with some suggestions - The whole place could do with some money investing into it to give it a revamp. This really shows when you visit their sister hotel in St Annes. Removing carpet and replacing with wooden flooring would make it easier with wheelchairs. To give it the hotel feeling a welcome guest meeting would help. This would break the ice amongst guests to start making friends and be informative about how the hotel runs ie meal times, who's on, places to visit etc. The only negative I have is the fire alarm which seem to go off more than once on a false alarm. How staff react to this situation should be reviewed. Moving disabled guests in an emergency is difficult and you need to have drills and procedures in place but when you hear the fire alarm go off more than 3-4 times you start to get used to it and think its another false alarm therefore not move. This is not good because the 5th time could be the real fire!
Tips for wheelchair users visiting attractions: Wax works covers 5 floors but only has a small lift. Wheelchairs can go all the way to the viewing platform in the tower but they have an additional 2 floors only accessible by spiral staircase. The boardroom fully wheelchair accessible even if their direct public entrance lift is not working. Staff happy to take you through the staff areas. The dungeon has no stairs but there is a final small ride that is not available to wheelchair users. This does not affect the whole experience. Do not pay the extra for a wheelchair user to go on the rides in the pleasurebeach unless they can get out off their chair. The only ride available to take the wheelchair onto is the trainride which is free. You still have to pay a £5 entrance fee but there was lots to watch especially other people looking queezy. No wheelchair access at all to the believe it or not experience. The entrance has a large high ramp but it is set over 2 floors.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHolidays, Manager at Bond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here at the Bond Hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. We have taken note of all of your comments and we will be discussing them all with the various members of our team. From all of the staff here at the hotel we hope to welcome you again in the future with your daughter.

Kindest Regards
Bond Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have just return from the Bond Hotel with my disabled brother and mother, I would have say this is the worse stay I had. The management need to check rooms as I had to complain about a bed not being changed and also I got woke up at half three in the morning due to guest tv.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandybabes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHolidays, Manager at Bond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sandy

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback. It’s only with feedback such as yours that we can get better and better. So we appreciate you helping us improve. I certainly regret that we didn’t meet your expectations and we did discuss your concerns over your room with the housekeeping team who had a few new members that had just started work during your stay. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about guests who watch TV at 3am, if we were made aware of the problem we would have dealt with it for you. Please accept our apologies that we did not provide the experience that we would have wished to during your stay. Thanks for taking the time to write your review – we do appreciate all feedback here, good or bad, as we strive to provide the best value for our guests.

Kindest Regards
Bond Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Hotel

Address: 120 Bond Street, Blackpool FY4 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Blackpool
#7 Business Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £22 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Hotel in Blackpool is the UKs largest fully accessible hotel specialising in holidays for guests with disabilities for over 25 years. With a full range of mobility equipment available free of charge along with wet floor showers and level access throughout the building you will know that the practicalities of your holiday are taken care of so you can enjoy your time in Blackpool. We can also offer optional door to door transport, tailor made care packages using our very own CQC registered care agency and daily coach trips. There is live cabaret in the hotel every evening from some of the best acts in the North West. The hotel can provide: Profiling Beds Ceiling Tracked Hoists Portable Electric Hoists Reclining Shower Chairs Stand Aids Commodes And much much more There is a large car park on site and every bedroom is fitted with an emergency call system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bond Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing