We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“care staff reports”
Review of Bond Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bond Hotel
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2010

we were picked up by the transport section which turned up late leading to us getting to the hotel at 5.30 evening meal was then rushed due to alloted times of meals, we were told if we were not down for evening meal before 6 that there would only be cold food that could be provided due to the severity of disablement are service user had this would not be approprate. when we eventually booked in at the establishment we found staff to be unhelpful and misserable. cleanliness of the hotel in general dirty and smelly it actually smelt of dried urine. i felt very concerned on our stay there was a young girl aprox age between 10 and 13 entering the kitchen area and collecting glasses from tables. on the concerns of kitchen area it appeared any of the staff was allowed in to the main kitchen this included front of house workers maitance workers ect. i was also very concerned to see that staff were serving care staff looking after vunerable adults alcoholic beverages management was actually sat at side of the bar and didnt seem to mind this infact it seemed to be encouraged,

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amanda5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Two of my staff and a resident visited the hotel in Blackpool. It was shabby, run down and basic. The bedrooms were tired and some of the areas did not smell very clean. The meals were adequate. Some of the staff were very friendly others were not.
This could be so much better with the right management/staff. Our resident enjoyed it that was the main thing!

Two staff and one resident also went to the other Bond Hotel in Lytham St Annes they found this a whole lot different! newer, cleaner, fresher! It also has a swimming pool!
Again our resident enjoyed his stay. the entertainment was good at both venues.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndahMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I travelled to the Bond Hotel with residents and colleagues who i worked with, It was a long journey for us as we travelled from the South east all the way to Black pool...This hotel is said to be to be for the "disabled" so we had hight expectations!

On arriving at the Hotel there was a faint smell of urine and a strong smell of cabbage having been cooked in an old tin pot.

We arrived at 17.40 in a panic as the window for the evening meal is "between 17,00 and 18.00" We rushed in, dropped our bags and hurried down to dinner...

The dining room looked pleasant and busy which we were pleased to see as we were told if we were late for dinner we would have to do with sandwiches! Some one came and ordered our meals [8 of us] on returning with them they had bought out the completely wrong meals and put them down, I questioned the waiter what had happened and asked him to bring them back and to bring the correct meals out..there seemed to be a lack of communication and another waiter came over to me and proceeded to blame me for the mix up and to NOT NOT RETURN THE MEALS BACK TO THE KITCHEN NEXT TIME, he was rude and pointing his finger to our residents who were getting worried as they thought they were being blamed, [these guys have learning disabilities] the whole meal situation was a mess and the way it was all served was like a school canteen the food that evening was very poor too.
Breakfast the next morning was the same situation, all muddled up waiters/waitresses rolling their eyes because they couldn't understand what our residents were saying! the food choice was limited Orange juice or cereal! 1 slice of toast unless you ask! They provided a fried breakfast which was very nice.

we spent all day out of the hotel and the evening entertainment was second to none our residents enjoyed it so much, the bar staff weren't very friendly they were huffing and eye rolling because our residents were slow at asking and paying for there drinks

The bedrooms were of very low quality, my sliding door did not close properly so my resident i share my room with had to use the toilet with the door half open! the shower was grubby. My bed had a plastic cover which made me sweat terribly, i couldn't open my window because there were people underneath my window outside talking until 2am smoking! this woke me up on 3 night out of 5!!

The people on reception were very nice to us and very accommodating can't complain about them at all especially the woman.
The parking is limited...as its a disabled hotel this needs looking at as it posed a problem to us we were "locked in" a few times.
i am now working with other people with L/D and would not return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

just 23 days before we return with 6 service users to the fantastic bond! everybody excited and cant wait for the fun to begin(guaranteed fun on our 4 past visits!!) cant praise the staff and manager enough!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklands92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

we stayed at the bond hotel with a service usser and there were 2 staff we stayed in the annex but been told to ask for the premere rooms next time it was a bit awkward with the wheel chair to manouver arround the door ways to get to the main hotel , the beds were very comfortable and clean.the entertainment was good had 2 or 3 singers on each nite and made service usser feel involved with the singing and dancing.im on a gluten free diet as i have coaliac disease the cheff was aware of this and he got me gluten free bread,cobs,desserts,i had a cooked breakfast every day and a good choice of eveving meals.the restaurant staff was very pleasant and helpfull,always rememering i was gluten free .the reception staff was helpful as well they gave us a refund as we payed to go to the wax works but when we got there we could only go on the first floor with the wheel chair so they refund our money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I have just returned home from a trip to the Bond Hotel in Blackpool with a disabled client in a wheelchair. From start to finish, this has been a pleasurable experience for both client and carer and I cannot congratulate the management and staff enough for the effort they made on our behalf throughout the duration of our stay.

From the moment I picked up the phone to enquire about the possibilities to the time when we arrived at the venue, I can honestly say that there was not a moment when we were wanting for attention, consideration, flexibility or professionalism.

We had a great week, with trips to all the most interesting tourist spots in the area readily available, with empathetic and pleasant drivers who assisted throughout, and superb and vaired evening entertainment that proved to be motivating, amusing and appropriately tuned in to the customer base.

The half-board menu was both varied and appealing and the service and the attitude of the staff, across the board, was exemplorary.

Considering the needs of our client and the requirements we had with regard to her stay, we can only express our appreciation for the efforts made and the provision of equipment that made our holiday so enjoyable and a much easier exercise, having to bring nothing from home.

Anyone choosing a Blackpool holiday for a client with disabilities should look no further for a venue than The Bond Hotel.

A truly welcoming and empathetic set up, ready and able to assist client and staff to make the most of a wealth of excellent opportunities that have been researched and facilitated to benefit all parties.

We will be back!!

Hilary A, Hilary C & Lisie xx

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

l stayed at the Bond Hotel with friends in March, l have been there several times before and find some of the staff very rude, however l was more than dissapointed to find Vicky La Plumb was no longer performing there, what a great shame his act and costumes was fabulous and he catered for the audience no matter what, taking time to go round everyone and have his picture taken with them. Such a shame

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nottmguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Bond Hotel on your return home, I can confirm that Vicky is back with us for the upcoming season and our guests have been loving every second of his act! A lot has changed here at the Bond Hotel and if you would like to make a further visit to the hotel I am sure you will agree our team here at the hotel will surpass your expectations with the level of customer care and service that they provide.

Bond Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,071 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Hotel

Address: 120 Bond Street, Blackpool FY4 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Blackpool
#7 Business Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £21 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Hotel in Blackpool is the UKs largest fully accessible hotel specialising in holidays for guests with disabilities for over 25 years. With a full range of mobility equipment available free of charge along with wet floor showers and level access throughout the building you will know that the practicalities of your holiday are taken care of so you can enjoy your time in Blackpool. We can also offer optional door to door transport, tailor made care packages using our very own CQC registered care agency and daily coach trips. There is live cabaret in the hotel every evening from some of the best acts in the North West. The hotel can provide: Profiling Beds Ceiling Tracked Hoists Portable Electric Hoists Reclining Shower Chairs Stand Aids Commodes And much much more There is a large car park on site and every bedroom is fitted with an emergency call system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bond Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing