We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of been swayed by reviews”
Review of Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland Hotel
Ranked #125 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Having read other reviews, we were very disappointed by the stay at this guest house, as previously we have stayed in well know larger hotels, but this was a family celebration and I wanted a personal touch, I discussed this on phone and I was optmistic after speaking with Kay. Rooms are clean if a little dated, breakfast is not as good as commented, strange taste to some items (10 of our party thought this). If you have any young people in your party dont bother, they were made very unwelcome. On leaving, while one was looking for key, a common act by 21 year olds, we were told very rudely that it would cost £150.00 if it couldnt be found (it was found almost immediately). On return we receieved a notification to say we had been charged to a credit card £80 for smoking in a room - we had booked 7 rooms - no one smoked - so beware

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

This review should start once upon a time. The only truth in this fairly tale is the £80 charge for smoking in the room, and we very much welcome this being in the review as its correct we will not tolerate anyone smoking, your son did smoke in the room and couldn’t even be bothered to move the ash from the bathroom window. To go on and answer your points. Breakfast tasted strange. Only 4 from your party of 14 ever made breakfast as the others were out till 4 am causing trouble in a restaurant that we recommended, Then coming back to wake most of the other guests in the hotel, many of the reviews below will indicate how the breakfast tastes. We did explain when you made the reservation we are family’s and couples only and we took your reservation only because you assured us all your family are all well behaved people and you would take full responsibility for the younger ones, if you ask our other guests and the restaurant guests they would not quite agree, one of the young ones was very rude. The remainder of your party was all very nice people, it only takes one bad apple.
The Lost Key, I do apologise if someone was rude to your 21 year old son but he was not at all bothered about the lost key and just stood there having another princess moment amazing when confronted with the charge he soon sent someone to find it.
We are pleased you prefer larger hotel groups this tells us something , You went to great lengths to tell us you are a head teacher at Alexander Collage Tipton may we suggest you start at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have been staying at the Rutland for about 15 years now and we have been entertained by a number of different owners. Every time we have stayed there we have been made to feel welcome This year 2012 we noticed that there had been a number of changes/improvements to the decor, all of which are designed to make the visitors stay there more comfortable. Kay and Adrian do there very best to make visitors feel welcome. Their approach is one of professionalism tempered with consideration for their guests needs at all times. Their management of this charming hotel could be a lesson to many of those in the larger chains we have stayed at over the years. Blackpool is lucky to have hotel owners of their caliber. . Jenny and Keith Hughes Windsor Berkshire

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Keith it as been a pleasure to serve you both over the years, and we do hope to be seeing you for many more years. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

excellent hotel great value for money,i booked 5 ensuite rooms all rooms were clean and cosy.
nice friendly greeting from kay and adrian.
nice pint of carling on tap,and a good pool table 50p a game which is very rare in a b&b and the breakfast was great thats if your sober enough to eat it.hope my guests weren't to loud ,see you next year if my liver can stand another trip to blackpool.

Room Tip: try to get the sea veiw best veiw ever from a toilet when your reading the paper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you Dave for the kind comments. We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay and pleased you have booked the hotel again. Will make sure we have plenty of carling on order. Cheers Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the Rutland from the 28th October till the 4th November 2012. We were freeted by Kay who gave a lovely smile and warm welcome. We had 3 rooms, 1 to the rear of the hotel and 2 at the front. All the rooms had en suite shower rooms and a good amount of storage space. Tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished each day and best of all TV with DVD players in all the rooms which the boys loved. The food is absolutely fantastic. A good choice of menu which changed each day and you pick the evening meal at breakfast oh and with that thought the full English is definately the way to go. Becca was our waitress and although young is brilliant, She runs the diningroom with style, poise and never panics. She is a great credit and asset to the Rutland. Adrian, Kays husband and owner looked after us in the bar and I also believe he does all the cooking (great job). He very kindly showed me how to play the fruit machines, which I did endulge a little bit in playing, he is also a pretty good pool player. All in all I would have to say it really did feel like a home from home and I would reccomend the hotel to anyone, so if you get a chance take a visit there i am sure you will be as happy as we were. Thanks for reading this review. Dave, Maz and Family from Rochford

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea at the front of the hotel, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments really enjoyed meeting you ,hope to see again in the future ,Kind regards Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Excellent accommodation, very clean. The hosts Kay and Adrian are very friendly and approachable nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed there 4 times and going back next March. Very easy to find and parking if you get there early enough is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us it was a pleasure to meet you all Thanks again Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

this was my 1st time in this hotel, the hotel was very clean and the owners were very friendly also very helpful. We have a party of 10 and we had a super stay. You are not to far from the centre but far enough if you know what i mean. so what more can i say hopefully we will be back next year sometime.

Room Tip: all our rooms were nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrenzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Wow! thank you for your great comments look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind regards Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

we stayed at the rutland 27- 29th oct we arrived early,and was greeted by kay it was a warm welcome and we was lucky as our room was ready, the room was warm and cosy just like the rest of the hotel breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice.tram stop just outside hotel two stops from tower, walking took about 15mins.we would defintly stay here again very pleasant weekend

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietorsBlackpool, Owner at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments the pleasure was all ours hope to see you again ,Regards Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#65 of 73 in Blackpool
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rutlands Hotel
Rutlands Hotel
#355 of 863 in Blackpool
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Hotel

Address: 330 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing