We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The South Lea Hotel
Ranked #293 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The owners couldnt have been more welcoming. The hotel rooms were really nice with some lovely finishing touches. We especially loved the fridge with goodies in and a trust box at the side to put 50p in if we had taken anything. Would def stay here again especially if it was with family.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmarsh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for The South Lea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

my family wanted a short break which was reasonably priced in a great location,clean and friendly with a breakfast and the southlea delivered 100%.rick and jan were warm and friendly the rooms were clean and fresh,the breakfast set you up for the rest off the day.I'm sorry i can't find anything bad to say and if we go up to blackpool again i know were we'll stop.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Not sure of the clientele that have visited this hotel before but they definitely have very different standards and expectations for an 'excellent' hotel.

It was old, so old it seemed dirty, the decor was dated and cheap looking. We were told we had the best room in the B & B so I would hate to see what the others look like. The view of the sea is only if you look over a car park, over a main round and then strain your neck to the right! The bathroom was more of a cupboard with a pathetic shower and small, cheap thin towels.

The owners were very friendly but I would expect them to be more presentable as they didn't leave me with confidence that if they didn't take pride in their appearance would they take pride in the cleanliness of the place.

In summary friendly staff but place needs to be of a much higher standard to warrant the price and for me to want to ever stay again.

Room Tip: Chose somewhere else!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlysandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My partner and I stayed at the South Lea Hotel at the beginning of November. We had a lovely room at the top of the hotel with views of the sea. Rick and Jan were lovely and really made us feel at home. The weather was horrible but they made our stay wonderful and breakfast was excellent.

I would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had the worst room in the hotel but it was by no means disappointing
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Had a one night stay at the south lea, wonderful welcome, very family orientated, nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful owners....our grand daughter was right at home,was given a drink toys to play with..loved it ...room spotless ...great family room with a sea view...fab breakfast with plenty to choose from .....thanks for a brilliant stay....will definitely be back..best ever b&b .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirleytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

After I made a slight mistake with my hotel,myself,mrs,baby,mother and small dog were wondering around in the rain very wet and fedup near the south lea hotel when the lady of the hotel obvously saw we were destressed came out and invited us all in ..my dog included who was soaking wet and proceeded to give us a room to rest up get dry and feed and change the baby ..also brought us hot drinks and couldnt of been more helpful as the hotel wasnt even open to guests at the time and the room was lovely and extremly comfy and it was just a shame it wasnt open that wk and that id already booked up elsewhere ..but we stayed a few hrs while i found the right hotel and it just goes to show there are still nice decent people out there what a nice place id recomend this place to anyone :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustQuent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Absolutely brilliant..! Right be the sea, fab location. Unfortunately when we went to Blackpool the weather let us down a bit, bit that didn't stop us having a great time. The Gynn pub just a stones throw away and in short walking distance of everything you could ever want to do :). Carol and Jeff the best B&B owners I have ever met. Nothing is to much trouble, the rooms are absolutely spotless and the cooked breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Would recommend to anyone..!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kplace29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Craigmore
The Craigmore
#155 of 859 in Blackpool
100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#342 of 859 in Blackpool
120 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#279 of 859 in Blackpool
150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#141 of 859 in Blackpool
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South Lea Hotel

Address: 4 Willshaw Road | Gynn Gardens, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The South Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's high standard cosy rooms and low prices we offer excellent value. The superb North Shore location with lovely sea views in the heart of Gynn Square,the South-Lea Hotel is a special place for families and couples to explore and relax. We are a only 50 yards away from the tram station with easy access to Blackpool. All our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities. We take great pride in the standard of our rooms and the service we offer and look forward to welcoming you soon. There is a £10 deposit per room for towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The South Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing