We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The South Lea Hotel
Ranked #220 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We've stayed at the South Lea in September, and we were really impressed. It has an excellent location, stone throw away of the promenade, overlooking this large square, and next door to a tram stop. The owners were amazing, really fun people to be with. Jan's breakfast was really tasty, and Rick's bar is a nice and cozy little place. Jan also helped us out a lot by assisting in deciding what attractions would be worth to visit. Can't fault it at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband, son & I stayed here on a recommendation from a friend - so glad we did.
Totally agreed with the other good reviews on here of the South Lea. Staying here made our 3 day break for us.
A modern, clean & comfortable hotel & room with excellent breakfast and evening meals. Then the extra touches like fresh milk, sweets, tissues and full sized shower gel in the room. My son really liked the pop and chocs with an honesty box for the late night munchies!
The hotel sits just off the quieter sea-front with a tram-stop very close (tip:.buy day-savers for the trams - great for popping up and down from Stargate to Fleetwood and gives your car & driver a rest).
Best of all, Jan & Rick are lovely hosts - a real pleasure to know them. We will definitely return here, hopefully with other family members. With love, Mo, Pete & Ryan x

Room Tip: Room 5 - lovely suite with excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our 3 children they was more than accommodating made us feel very welcome and even helped us in regards to getting to Blackpool Zoo. Room was excellent aswell as the food. In an ideal location right near the beach and loads of car parking space at the front. We will defiantly always use this hotel not a fault at all :)

Room Tip: family room was spacious and really comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unknownManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is right by the beach, there is a tram station just around the corner and there is a large carpark across the street. The hotel itself has a cozy bar with a good selection of drinks, a pool table and the staff are helpful and friendly. My room was clean and comfortable, with a t.v. and a kettle for tea/coffee. It also had an excellent newly fitted en-suite. Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: The room at the front on the first floor looked amazing. (Room 5 I think.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Took my girlfriend down to Blackpool for a few days because she hasn't been before and managed to get a last minute booking here. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Much prefer B n B's to posh hotels because it does feel a bit more personal and honest. I managed to interact with the rest of the guests in the bar area and they were all lovely people...found it really hard to go on a night out because there is so much happening in the bar with the rest of the guests.
Overall the hotel was clean and immaculate with friendly and memorable people and i would recommend this to anyone hoping to get away for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

An excellent place to visit for the weekend as it away from the noisy end of Blackpool while still having easy access to the city centre via the tram line which is only a short walk away. The owners, Rick and Jan, are extremely nice and helpful and even though our group was quite large, they still managed to accommodate us all. The room we had (7) was excellent and well kept, shower and toilet area was clean and tidy and the beds nice and comfy. There’s even a bar on the bottom floor, complete with pool table and a TV in case there’s any news to catch up on.
Would highly recommend staying here and I plan to visit again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Fantastic hotel, lovely hosts, really didn't want to go back home after my stay :-) most definately planning another week away and will be staying here again, also can't think of many more places that have both a fruit machine and pool table in they're bars top notch!

Room Tip: Any, they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewy61969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#243 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#225 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South Lea Hotel

Property: The South Lea Hotel
Address: 4 Willshaw Road | Gynn Gardens, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The South Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's high standard cosy rooms and low prices we offer excellent value. The superb North Shore location with lovely sea views in the heart of Gynn Square,the South-Lea Hotel is a special place for families and couples to explore and relax. We are a only 50 yards away from the tram station with easy access to Blackpool. All our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities. We take great pride in the standard of our rooms and the service we offer and look forward to welcoming you soon. There is a £10 deposit per room for towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The South Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing