We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spontaneous night away”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked at the savoy on whim for last Saturday night as the price seemed great value at £45 per room including breakfast. This is one of the old once grand hotels of Blackpool's North shore which although a little tired at the edges I still thought was a reasonable place to stay. Room was clean apart from a few tea stains on the floor around the refreshment table but other than that I thought it was well worth the money, nice big room very warm which was good in January and ideal for a night or two in the Las Vegas of the North. Self service Breakfast had a good choice and all was well cooked, especially liked the nice thick bacon however dining room did get very busy just after we sat down so I think we timed it just right.. I thought the hotel was reasonable value at £45 but dont think I would pay much more having stayed and experienced the level it as at maybe £50, £55 at a push. We did not have a sea view room which I think are more expensive

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Husband and I stayed 11th January. Booked a double room but were given a twin room instead, so had to get that changed. The room we stayed in was too hot but the thermostats on the radiators did not work so we opened windows instead! Windows by the way were dirty - inside as well as out. The bathroom had black mould, particularly around the bath and the windows. The white wall tiles hadn't been cleaned either. Pretty disgusting to say the least! The floor boards in the room above creaked so every time its residents moved around we were disturbed by the racket so we didn't manage to sleep very well. The breakfast was ok but of quite poor quality food -a lot of tinned stuff, cheap cereals and no coffee. The dining room was not clean enough there was dust everywhere. Also the hotel charges £2 for a credit card payment and 50p for a visa card payment. Pathetic! Overall a shabby, none too clean hotel whose web site is very misleading.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

NEVER AGAIN! We got to the hotel and it seemed very nice until we got to the bedroom the first thing we did was go to the loo and found a whole in the floor covered by the carpet the heating is on constant and when you turn the heater off the pipes just kick more heat out!


UPDATE YOUR PHOTOS! AND GIVE THE HOTEL A REFERBISH!!

Room Tip: AVOID!!! never again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Run down hotel, bed must be at least 10 years old, would have been more comfortable sleeping on the Beach. Woke up covered in bites, well when I said woke up, did not get much sleep, you could hear every movement from rooms next to you and the other side of the corridor.
Breakfast was fine but the ceiling above the hot food was falling in so god knows what was in the food. I guess for £45:00 a room per night you should not expect much.
Is it possible to get a good CLEAN hotel or B&B in Blackpool?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I booked in for 2 nights at an amazing £27 per night which included breakfast , the furnishing bedding etc is tired but our room was spacious,clean, warm and plenty of hot water the bar prices where on a par with pub prices. We chose to stay another night and as it was Friday expected a price increase but for the same £27 we had to change rooms but ended up with an even better one with a bay window seating area with a sea view. Before people criticise they ought to compare everything including what they have paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janpet1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here as a family in between Christmas and new year, can't fault the food and had a lovely sea view room drinks from bar were well priced an staff helpfull. Rooms were very warm which was great as it was wet and windy outside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for one night in January 2014 for a night away. I will never stay here again. When we got checked in we were told we were on the 4th floor but the lift only goes to the third floor and will need to walk the last set of steps however the lift never worked. Once we got to the room we found that the window was hanging off. we got our room changed but it looked very dirty like it had not been properly cleaned. The wallpaper was also hanging off the walls in both rooms. The room card stopped working repeatedly and we had to keep walking up and down the building to have the room card reactivated.
The breakfast was cold, there was no butter for the toast, the eggs tasted like rubbery, the sausages and bacon were also cold.
I thought the Savoy would be a nice hotel to stay at but I will never stay there again and would rather stay at a B&B.
Other guests also seemed to be having problems with one group saying they were booked for the weekend but the booking system had them for 1 night, another group had to also be moved due to problems in there room.
The only good thing was the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carl201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#14 of 73 in Blackpool
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £29 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing