We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just appalling. I don't consider myself terribly fussy I just expect some basic requirements for a budget hotel but this one failed on all those counts. It was not clean, dirty sheets, mould, rot, damp patches. It was not going to give me a good nights sleep as we were positioned on the main landing. And finally hot water - it had no hot water in the basin tap. We were moved rooms but this room was very much the same except the hot tap actually worked. Was told I could not get a refund as had to go through the travel agent I booked with. I will not rest till I do. In case I haven't made myself clear do not stay here. Even some b and bs are cleaner, cheaper and generally nicer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Was a little put off by reviews on here but was pleasantly suprised! Clean and spacious room. Helpful and friendly staff! Hotel itself was quirky- in need or a refurb but for the price of the room great value! Even stayed an extra night! Breakfast was also tasty! We would definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Last time i said if its good enough for Jimmy White its good enough for me
.How things have changed.
The bedroom drawers had pieces of left over kebabs, the bedroom furniture is falling apart.
The cleaning of the room was extremely poor to summerise it was virtually non existant
with the cleaner( Kelly) over looking us completely on the Saturday.
A good offer on bar prices 2 pints for £5, but the sign on the bar said go to reception for bar service.Four patrons waited a good 10 mins.including two trips to reception before a staff member came.
On Friday & Saturday there was an organist but the room was freezing also was the breakfast room this is unacceptable we had to wear coats just to keep warm.On speaking to the young man on reception about the cold dining area & bar he said "it was on full.-----TOUGH."
The manager should take control the young man on reception should go on a PR.course
The cleaners are taking money under false pretenses & likewise need retraining.
We spent 3 nights at the Savoy,we will not be going back.Once bitten twice shy.
Wonder if Jimmy White still stays there?

Room Tip: Do not go find another Brittania hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUMPTYDUMPTY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for one night (thank god) what a dreadful place on check in we were given room 355 which should have been a executive room when we get to the room the furniture would have been outdated in the ark,chairs all stained and ripped,mattress if you could call in that was all springs,double glazed units in windows cracked and full of cobwebs,stains all over ceiling,walls filthy,but we thought for one night we would grin and bear it.
Went down for dinner and most people were sat eating there meal with there coats on because it was that cold plus I have had better food in a transport cafe after the meal we went into the lounge same again most people sat with coats on.
We went back up to our so called exec at about 11oclock just as I thought things could get no worse we get in the room to find creepy crawlies in the bed and up the walls we was going to drive home but we had both had a drink so ended up changing room at 11 15 pm NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booked this hotel just as a night away, had read some bad reviews but hey thought we'd give it a go!! When we arrived for check-in there was friendly member of staff on reception happy to help even upgraded our room to sea view at no extra charge!! The furnishings are a bit out of date but hey what do you want for £27 a night?!

The room was boiling on arrival but then stayed cold until departure!! The room was clean and smelt fresh although one of the windows was glued closed and the other once open, stayed open! The bedding was fresh and clean along with towels.

The bar was cold on the night time's with a cold draft, reasonable bar prices except spirits!
Was happy enough with the hotel and the staff that even booked another night, expecting to be changed rooms we didn't :)!

The breakfast was tasteless..the hot breakfast counter looked really nice too apart from the sausages and mushrooms, i have no idea what they did to them!! The breakfast could have been so nice if cooked properly. The cutlery was far from sparkling!!

Refurbish and i think certain manor-less, lazy, half-job staff would need replaced as it does have a big impact on the hotel and they aren't doing it any favors!!

Overall, was a great stay, good location also with tram and bus stop directly outside, if you drive probably best to leave your car at the hotels car park as this get very busy and hard to park if you do go out.

I am definitely booking this hotel again!! Great staff including John who I believe worked night shift, always friendly and up for a chat, happy to help with any requests with not even a moan!!

Look forward to staying again!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentyboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed at the Savoy for one night with a group of friends and was a little dubious after reading some of the revierws on here. We paid £29.00 per room through booking.com for bed and breakfast, which amounted to £13.50 per person as we were a group of four. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to sea-facing family rooms which was a lovely surprise. I was allocated room 106 which was adjoined with 108 to make a massive suite room! Our friends were also upgraded to a family-for-four room so we both had more than an adequate amount of space. At first the bed seemed to be a little too firm for me but I ended up having one of the best night's sleep I've had in a long time! Breakfast was self service so we helped ourselves to a very good amount which set us up nicely for the day. The food quality could be a little better but we really couldn't (or wouldn't want to) moan, considering the price. All staff we came into contact with were helpful and friendly. The decor and furnishings are a little dated and the hotel could do with a bit of investment but I believe this is reflected in the price you pay. As the Front of House Manager of a hotel myself, I am all too familiar with the negative impact some reviews can have so it only seems fair to stress that in the case of the Savoy, if you are looking for a stopover with lots of character and charm which is brilliant value for money - look no further.

Room Tip: Room 106 was massive - adjoined with 108 into a suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What a shame this beautiful old building has not been given a little TLC to maintain its former glory. The hotel is tired out, the windows and sills are rotting and are in desperate need of replacement, with the rain and wind the curtains were blowing in our room! The bar area was exceptionally cold due to the ill fitting windows. Our room was dated, the furniture and fittings certainly not from this decade (or the last 3 either!) But aside from the furnishings this hotel has a major cleanliness problem. Dust was present everywhere and the crockery at breakfast was far from sparkling. The food was a throw back to an old school dinner, just about edible but certainly not something you would wish to repeat in a hurry. I would seriously question the no smoking signage in the hotel too as there was definitely a stench of smoke throughout the first floor. The web site says the hotel has recently undergone refurbishment but we saw no evidence of this in any of the areas we used.
The redeeming factor was the friendliness of the staff who are sadly fighting a loosing battle to maintain any standards in this sad,tired hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
4,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £33 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing