We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General review”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had no problems with the hotel it was a speedy check in/out service. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was open buffet with a wide range of choices 'eat as much as you like'. However the bar i ordered a Carlsberg, a bit later I ordered another and he said "Oh it's a fiver for 2. "I didn't know this where is the promotion advert?" It was on the side of the wall but i still could not see it clearly. It's an advert that can easily be missed. Then he tried to charge me to have another 2 pints. But i refused. There is no Internet or Wifi in the rooms only down in the lobby which can be annoying. Overall, it's a good hotel for a 2 day getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Derikasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for a friends 50th birthday, rooms were filthy, bed linen was not clean, bar man was very rude, would never stay here again, windows didn't open, breakfast was cold, very unhygienic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzannecorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel didn't live up to the glossy photographs of 1930's elegance that attracted us to book two nights at the 'Savoy'
I know the price is very reasonable, and some might say you get what you pay for.But there should be a minimum standard of cleanliness, hygiene and service which this hotel didn't deliver.

At best it should be a 1Star hotel. Or it needs a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MostonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

hi,
we have just come back from a weekend of hell, upon arrival check in was extremely basic and was told the times of breakfast (but not told where or if could have it in the room) just as was about to leave to risk what looked like the death lift to attempt to get to my room but decided against it and headed for the stairs when i got in to my room i was shocked to find that wasn't able to open the window as had been sealed shut and then an extra piece of glass sealed over it, stains all over the carpet and walls so i decided to call reception to see if could change rooms from 232 as i can't sleep with the window closed anyway they changed our room to 224 on the same floor which at least had windows that opened well one did after I had to get someone to come up and open it however in this room there was ripped wallpaper, a mattress that had seen better days in fact deserves to be nowhere else but a scrap heap, the whole room was in need of a desperate redecoration and clean as the bedding hadn't even been pressed before being put on the bed and the pillow cases were inside out thought it was the basics to get this right but guess not, to top this off then went in to the bathroom to find what i can only describe as my worst nightmare there was grime and mould all round the shower base and glasses that looked like they hadn't been washed in years, towels with marks on them, knowing it was to late to go elsewhere as had already checked in and if i left then i was going to be charged anyways so i decided to try and make the most of it as was suppose to be a treat for my boyfriend to visit his childhood holiday destination , when he arrived later that night we decided we weren't going to risk eating in the hotel and dined out at the pub near by called Gynn which is actually nice and reasonable for the cost on arrival back to our room the corridors stunk of cigarette smoke and again décor in need of desperate update, was already extremely tired as had been up since the early hours so went to head to bed, sleeping on concrete floor is better then sleeping on that mattress most uncomfortable thing i have ever had the discomfort of sleeping on, in the end after a very sleepless night we decided to get up and go out for the day make the most out of the rest of the break away granted the weather wasn't the best but we didn't expect it would be as its Blackpool in February before leaving we had left the please service this room sign on the door bearing in mind we were out of the room early morning however when we got back to the room that night after having 2 drinks in the bar (there was a damp patch on the ceiling with the paint bubbling just near by where we were sat) which turned out to be relatively expensive after struggling to get in to the room as the key card wouldn't work and had to go downstairs to get it re-encoded we found that our room had not been serviced at all so in need of fresh towels, we called down to reception to enquire why our room had not been serviced to be fobbed of with someone could of changed the sign round to do not disturb and asked if we needed anything so requested for towels to be brought up, when the housekeeper (Julie) turned up she seemed like it was a big effort to come and provide clean towels to guests staying in the hotel which is the basics of her job we excused the fact she had brought a young child up with her, when asked her what time does the rooms get serviced just out of curiosity she said around 11 0'clock which we were out of the room by that time and had left the sign but was faced with the same excuse of the sign must of been turned around which just thought to myself this is funny as was saying please service this room when we returned but left it, she enquired if we did need anything we declined as wanted to just get a shower and attempt to go to sleep, before attempting to go to sleep we filled out the continental room service breakfast card and placed it on the door at midnight in plenty of time prior to the 5 am deadline stated on the card with no other instructions on there as if to say were are suppose to notify reception or anything so we assumed that it was going to be sorted as did what it said on the card, however we woke to find it had not even been collected so contacted reception to find out if it was possible for a late check out as we didn't feel like rushing round as was extremely tired they said it is available but they wanted to charge us £10 extra to stay in the room till 12 so only 2 hours extra so we decided against it seeing as we had missed out on breakfast we decided to leave the nightmare hotel and go find somewhere for breakfast before heading back, when leaving they didn't even check who was checking out was just a little box left on the desk stating please place key cards here on departure and no one on the desk to deal with any guest enquiries or anything, one door was closed when leaving the hotel due to weather which was fair enough so we left using the available door as doing so notice all the marks on the wall right by the door which further showed us they do not care at all, so glad that it is over and managed to return home but never ever going to go back there again even if they gave us a free stay. I advise anyone looking at this hotel do not believe the lies on their website it is nothing like that it is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 594Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I recently stayed in one of the family rooms with my sister and our two babies. After reading the reviews we were really concerned what the hotel would be like, particularly as we were taking two young children. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby and the bar area, although they could have done with a fresh coat of paint, looked quite grand. Our room on the third floor was spacious and had a wonderful sea view. The linen on the beds all looked clean and the room was nice and tidy.

The hotel is old and as I mentioned earlier could do with some refurbishment. However for £45 per night, which included a lovely buffet style breakfast what more could you ask! We actually ended up staying a second night and had a fantastic break. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view family rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 335Catherine335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just appalling. I don't consider myself terribly fussy I just expect some basic requirements for a budget hotel but this one failed on all those counts. It was not clean, dirty sheets, mould, rot, damp patches. It was not going to give me a good nights sleep as we were positioned on the main landing. And finally hot water - it had no hot water in the basin tap. We were moved rooms but this room was very much the same except the hot tap actually worked. Was told I could not get a refund as had to go through the travel agent I booked with. I will not rest till I do. In case I haven't made myself clear do not stay here. Even some b and bs are cleaner, cheaper and generally nicer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Was a little put off by reviews on here but was pleasantly suprised! Clean and spacious room. Helpful and friendly staff! Hotel itself was quirky- in need or a refurb but for the price of the room great value! Even stayed an extra night! Breakfast was also tasty! We would definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#65 of 73 in Blackpool
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £28 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing