We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish music weekend”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #65 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Irish music weekend”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I joined friends at an Irish Country Music weekend on the 21st to 23rd February. To be fair after reading some of the comments on this site we were a little apprehensive. It is clear that the hotel could do with having money spent on it and the room we had was very basic and showed signs of wear and tear. That said it was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed two good nights sleep in it. I'm not sure if as a cost measure they have a policy of not ironing the pillows and quilt as initially they gave the appearance of being not changed from the previous guests. Closer examination showed that they were in fact clean and smelt fresh but just did not look the part.

The hotel staff where brilliant and the food provided at the hotel was excellent and they gave their guests plenty of it. The prices at the bar was pegged at £2.50 a pint and was really good value.

What we paid for the hotel and with all that entertainment represented excellent value for money so much so we had no hesitation in having booked again for next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    342
    359
    344
    862
See reviews for
600
829
51
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a room to stay the night for a time out from home life, on checking in was given a smokers room that stank like an old ashtray, I complained and was moved to a none smoking room, that was the start of the dirty filthy night, the bedroom window was stuffed all the way round with screwed up toilet roll to stop the draft, a hole in the wall was stuffed with a rolled up towel, the chairs in the room was stained, the dust on the lamps had been there for months not days, all handles on windows was broken or missing, bathroom pipes were not cleaned, the draws dirty and stained, on complaining the following morning on check out the woman on reception did not seem to to be bothered, and just said put it in righting, on returning home I emailed the manager phill croft and rang him, had to get them to ring me back, and yes you guessed, no email back and no phone call, having said that, we was not the only people not happy so it could take him a long time to get to out complaint, this hotel in my opinion should not carry the name of SAVOY, it should be called THE PITS,

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My reservation was for a suite, hoping to spoil ourselves after a hard few months renovating our house.
We were given room 206. Before going to the room I learned that it was a smoking room, so was a little doubtful, but thought I would check the room anyway. Going through the fire doors on the second floor we were met with a stinking smokey atmosphere. We had trouble with the key card but finally accessed the room.
It is certainly large, separate lounge and bedroom but I can say that this was the biggest disappointment that we have ever had with any hotel room. What a dismal example, completetely devoid of decoration or colour, pictures or any sign of comfort, bare stained tables, no blind or curtain in the bathroom, an absolute shock. We were upset.
Going back to reception I actually asked if she was expecting us to decorate the room or what? We would not stay there.
Luckily she managed to move us to the Metropole which was much much better.

I should also point out that the hotel had two floors designated as smoking and there were definitely serious smokers in those rooms. I thought that smoking was banned from ALL hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Hotel has TWO floors for SMOKERS - Suites are rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DOS1Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

we booked kind of last minute from fri -sun last weekend,and paid only £64 for both of us for 2 nights B&B ,now I'm not sure what kind of place people are expecting if only paying £16 each a night and getting your breakfast.We were in room 324 which was clean ,a wee tiny bit of broken sealent in the shower room but it didn't stop us using the facilities.The hotel is realy warm and although our window didn't have a view it was frosted glass so at least the light was getting in but we never had to look down at bins or whatever is at that end.The breakfast room had a variety of cereals,fresh fruit ,nice fresh bread to slice to whatever thickness you want,and then there was mushrooms ,eggs,sausages,bacon,hash brows,tomatoes,fried bread and toast ,fresh fruit juices and tea/coffee.Evening entertainment was an old guy playing keyboard and singing,he was that bad but was still good ,lol people sang along to him playing a good variety of popular tunes and enjoyed our night with a few drinks.....I found the bed to be very lumpy and the mattress was a bit ripped but they had a mattress cover then sheets over it which were spotless,but it was only for 2 nights so didn't complain .Most of the people I spoke to had concerns after seeing some of the reviews on here but all have said the same as us,if we were looking for another cheap weekend to Blackpool again we would go back to the savoy,the staff were all very pleasant and were always cheerie in the mornings .The furniture in our room was old fashioned but we liked it.Yes they could do with a good paint job getting done but we were down for the weekend to get out and about not to stay in our room looking at the paintwork round the windows etc.As I said we would go back...oh meant to add that we were in a non smoking room but could sometimes smell smoke,thats not the hotels fault thats because of guests who have no consideration for others and think they can smoke where ever they like,even in their room with a window open ,don't they realise other people can still smell it...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartanthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

No Heating, No Hot water, No lift, Water Coming Through Bedroom Ceiling! I ask you! Can things get any worse? It simply beggars believe. What made it worse was that the receptionist and duty manager were informed THREE times of the water/heating issue (between 20:30 and 23:00) but did absolutely nothing about it. The pretty young girl just insisted it was about to come on, despite all evidence to the contrary. The only member of staff who was competent and helpful was the night porter, but sadly that was his last shift! Bedroom was also very dirty and breakfast table had a dirty/sticky feel to it. This is a great shame, because with the right staff and competent management this place could be so much better. With a customer approval rating of just 22% it's amazing the "management team" keep their jobs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunHunterXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just had a weekend break here and it will be the last.
The hotel could be really good if they employed cleaners who knew how to clean. The rooms are very dated with chipped furniture peeling wallpaper, ceilings with mould and water stains and windows which look like they ve never ever been cleaned. The skirting boards and especially the pipes had months of dirt and dust on them and you could write your name in dust on the window ledges. Our bathroom was clean but had a huge cigarette burn on the toilet seat which was most unhygienic and especially as it was a non smoking room. The foyers had 2 chaise longues which were absolutely disgusting, full of stains and damp mould. The lounge table were clean on the surface but the pedestals were filthy. The dining room window ledges were dirty and there were drips coming from the ceiling over one table. We must have been lucky on our trip as the food, I have to say was very good and very hot, so no faults there. To get a drink from the bar in the afternoon you have to ask at reception for service which is fair enough if there s not many people in but to have to do this at 8.15 in the evening was ridiculous. The poor chap was running backwards and forwards from bar to reception.
Still you would nt stay in the bar long at night anyway as the ;entertainment; was absolutely horrendous. It was even worse than Karaoke in an infant school. Many guests left and went to the hotel next door for the entertainment.
It could be a good hotel but needs a manager who is good at the job and not just playing at it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is disgusting. It was dirty, and not maintained. The blankets in our supposed executive double suite were dirty. the room itself was supposed to be a executive suite but only just had enough room for a double bed with just one bed side unit. The tv's in the rooms don't work and there was dirt and mould all around the bathroom. Everywhere was inch thick with dust which I believe to be bad enough to be a health and hygiene risk. This is a Britannia hotel to whom I have complained to with no response. their own website states that complaints will be answered within 28 days... I complained on the second week in Jan and to date I still have not had any response. If you do visit this hotel I wish to firstly before you go to your room draw your attention to the display cabinet near the dining room doors... This is displaying items about weddings... It again is thick with dust and the sweets in the wedding favour bag have gone black and are rotting through the net bag and turning the bag black too. This is way out in front as being the worst hotel in the world. I think it would have been cleaner staying in a shanty shack in a third world country.... AVOID THIS HOTEL LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.... AS A STAY HERE WOULD PROBABLY SEE YOU CONTRACTING THE PLAGUE. DISGUSTING!!!!! As for Britannia not replying to any complaints... My name is Dave Robson and you have my contact details if you feel you can answer any of my complaint satisfactory and email address is dave.robson@live.co.uk

PLEASE PLEASE HEED THE WARNING PEOPLE... THIS PLACE SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daverobson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,970 reviews
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 69 in Blackpool
1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
484 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#18 of 69 in Blackpool
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing