We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even the rats have left”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 29 July 2014

terrible hotel ,shower didn't work ,chairs were filthy wanted non smoking room got smoking room ,couldn't see out windows so filthy toilet was blocked water running through electric light and it didn't just happen it was rusty so it had been doing this for a while ...definite hazard wallpaper hanging of the wall and smelly with damp and mould food was terrible sausages were really sawdust in disguise people with false teeth take a spare pair incase first pair break ..tables in lounge were filthy and sticky and everything was just dirty and falling to bits...what must foreign or international visitors think of the shambles...think twice its your hard earned money you are wasting

Room Tip: dont go .!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank redcaz1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I honestly thought the reviews were exaggerating but unfortunately they were not. There is so much choice in Blackpool that this hotel should not be considered, ever! It is worn, dated, dirty and the staff have all but given up. They practically apologise when you are booking in! Our room had a threadbare chair and slats missing from the bunk beds. Seriously, it's such a shame as it looks so substantial from outside. I think with some investment from Britannia it could be magnificent but until then, choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JoEdmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Please don't ever consider staying at this hotel, we have spent just one night of a two night stay , at this health hazard , and thankfully the second night was overbooked , so we managed to escape.

It started with a booking issue , but that may be the online booking company to blame for that (b*****g.com), but once we did get our double room (with a sea view), things started to get progressively worse.

I think that the pictures will probably tell the story better than I could ever articulate , but safe to say that for this hotel management to be prepared to allow a paying guest to sleep in this room is beyond me.

Also , we had booked B&B , but to be honest if the room quality was so poor then my confidence of the kitchen was lacking,so we passed on breakfast .

A truly shocking experience ,(although Blackpool was fab !!!)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked the savoy for one night then read all the reviews and thought OMG an going to stay at faulty towers
we booked so that we could get into the room at 12am so we arrived at 12am to be told by a face pulling receptionist that they hadn't got a room yet for us so we called for the manager more face pulling who straight away found us a room and then to be honest it was all uphill ok the rooms are a bit dated and the furniture is rough but for the price you pay its not going to be the Ritz
the rooms where spacious and the breakfast was good we had snacks from the bar which where cheap and good value for money so over all an average stay

I suppose you cant blame the girl on reception for not being bothered if the company its self cant be bothered to make this hotel look grand again come on Britannia hotels spend some money on your properties
yours sincerely rooms 353 and 323 24/7/14

Room Tip: 323 good family room but views poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eric1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

from the moment we booked in we were looked after by the smiling staff who could not do enough for myself and partner the hotel lift was up to date and had plenty of room for guest and luggage the hotel rooms on the odd numbered rooms had great views and the windows opened smoothly to let the sea air in making the room cool and inviting the rooms had a modern decor that had an ambiance of the art deco style the hotel it self was well maintained and clean O.K BEFORE I GO ANY FURTHER and i am taken to court for slandering the savoy with writing the above lies about a hotel that is a disgrace to hoteliers all over England we arrived at one thirty pm to be told we couldn't go into our rooms while three pm next the lift is so tiny that it would only take three people and three small suitcases and when you have traveled over one hundred miles and get stook behind a bus loads of holiday makers all making for a bee line for the lift you feel like your hearts been ripped out "but wait" having reached our room that was on the third floor and finally after ten attempts to open the door with the electronic key we where met by shabby not chic decor wall paper falling off the wall windows that had never been washed for years and looking on to a air vent system that made a noise like a concord engine obliviously we went to change rooms to find a conga line already forming to change rooms or complain. It was an and hot roasting day and myself partner decided to sit in the lounge bar for a drink only to be met from a cascade of water coming from the cieling above would i go to this hotel again I would sooner poke both my eyes out with a red hot poker sitting on a bag of viper snakes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You get what you pay for, and we paid very little, £35.00 for two with a decent breakfast.

The room was OK with a sea view, sheets were clean and bed OK. Fast free wifi in the public rooms, good shower, and away from the tackiness of the Golden Mile

As others say, it is terribly run down and maintenance seems to be poor, our lavatory seat was very loose, and the lift was limited to three people, which, for a hotel of this size is totally inadequate. We had to call maintenance when our card entry door lock failed.

My main beef however was that the dining room closes at a very early hour, and we had to go out for an evening meal. .

Room Tip: Insist on a front or side room, the inner rooms look out on a tip, and the back rooms on depressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We needed a single overnight stay in Blackpool at short notice. This hotel showed up on the booking sites and seemed cheap and cheerful. For the price, it seemed a good deal, so we booked. Then I read the horror stories about this place. In my years I've stayed in some dreadful places so went with an open mind. As I always do when visiting somewhere for the first time.
So, what did we think of the place on just one night.
To start with the staff were reasonably friendly though mostly very busy.
The hotel itself is a beautiful building. In its heyday it would have been something quite grand.
If you look around you can see some of the marvellous architecture and craftsmanship in the building. It has a lot of real potential to be something splendid again.
But what have they done to it?
By mistake, (don't know whose) we, non smokers, got a smokers room. Smelt of cigarettes but what would you expect? We were going to complain but only realising the mistake in the morning and staying for just one night, decided not to bother.
And the rest of the room?
Very lacking in general maintenance. Although the bathroom was very spacious and had recently had some re-tiling done, the rest of it was showing signs of needing refurbishment. The shower worked well, as did the toilet and all other furnishings, (note the taps wrong way 'round, hot on the right, cold on the left). The bathroom door closed but no latch or lock, the door handle though fairly new was a bodged job.
The paintwork was peeling, and generally speaking it all looked very run down.
The furniture also looked like it had seen better days, stained, cracked, chipped.
However, all the bed-linen and towels were clean and fresh.
In the breakfast room, part of the carpet was fraying, a potential trip hazard. Just looking around that area, paint wallpaper and plaster were all peeling or flaking or cracking.
Though I'm not an expert, my impression of the place is that a decent D I Y enthusiast could do a better job of looking after the place, all of the obvious repairs seemed very amateurish.
All of this makes me think - "do the managers of hotels ever read these reviews?"
So over all what do I think? Would I recommend this place? If it's just an overnight stay and décor isn't a priority and you don't mind the lack of maintenance and you want somewhere cheap, then it's worth a try but not if you want to be choosey.
This is a gorgeous building with so much to offer yet whoever is in charge seems to be letting it all go to waste. There is nothing wrong with this hotel that proper maintenance and decoration would not put right. There is another side to this. The price we paid was very low, you cannot expect too much for that kind of price. But it could still be a very good hotel if they tried!

Room Tip: Don't make the mistake we did, check if it's a smokers room or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing