We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking rooms”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #65 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Shocking rooms”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Not a cheap hotel to stay at at all. The 2 rooms we had for family were both falling to bits. The curtains, when trying to close them were hanging off the rails and the carpet was threadbare in places. The sink took an eternity to drain and we found a lolly stick and a packet of fizzers behind a chair. I don't think the rooms are cleaned at all.... Plus side is the staff are brilliant and the food is gorgeous, I feel sorry for the receptionists with the amounts of complaints we overheard. Luckily we were out of our rooms most of the time.

Room Tip: Say you have checked Trip Advisor and want the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    339
    357
    343
    855
See reviews for
595
826
51
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I booked this as last minute with booking .com. Can I say this was not their fault. We were shown up to our room in the tiniest lift ever. The room was nothing like the one advertised or I would not have booked it. The window frame had holes in it so you could see outside with a crack in the glass. The legs had been taken off the bed, everything was falling apart. There was cleaning fluid left in the bathroom. My partner decided we should stay because were else would we get at last minute. He took a shower there was no cold water coming out of the taps only warm out of both. He let it run then got in as soon as he stood under it the water got hotter and scalded him on his neck and back, it was a good job it wasn't a child. I went to complain, they were not interested but offered me my money back. We packed went down stairs showed the receptionist the burn mark, again not interested. I told them I would take this matter further they said, ok do so, and does this mean your checking out. I have never been so disgusted in all my life

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel worst one ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I booked for one night stay B&B and evening meal direct with the Savoy as my daughter had booked previously for herself and her son through a booking agency. On arrival I was given my room key and told it was on top floor but the lift did not go up to that level. I explained that as I was using crutches this was not suitable for me. The 2 girls on reception told me that there was nothing else available, fortunately a more senior(female) member of staff looked at the issue and found a room on the 2nd floor to which I was greatful. The room was basic, the bed was tidy but cleanliness was out of the window. About the windows, they were covered with bird muck, the window in the bedroom had no opening, the shower, mildew, hairs and stained. I went for the lift to go downstairs to find that you could not call for the lift (the only one in the so called hotel)from that floor. The only way was for someone to be getting out of the the lift on that floor when you were there to be able to use it. The housekeeper was very helpful she could see my situation with mobility and went to another floor and brought the lift for me. She said that the lift had been like that for a good while. When I eventually got downstairs I went to reception and complained, the 2 girls on the desk were very rude. I asked to see the manager, his attitude was even worse. He told me that the hotels engineer was very busy, because the chain of Britannia hotels was very large, this I thought was one big joke. When I laughed at this excuse asking if only one person was employed by the company to cover the work not just in Blackpool but nationwide his answer was if I was not happy don't stay and leave. I told him that not only does the hotel need reporting to the media but himself and the the other 2 on reception. His reply was to me you won't get far as he was a friend of Anne Robinson. I would never advise anyone to stay at the Savoy or any of the other hotels owned by the Britannia Group which also owns Pontins ENOUGH SAID. They say cleanliness is next to godliness, the Savoy is Hell. Manners maketh Man. Well I do not know what that manager is.My advise to booking agencies is to vet this hotel prior to advertising!

Room Tip: Don't go there in the first place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Quiet location opposite the beach, close to blackpool north railway station and bus and tram stops. Even using crutches found it a gentle walk to north pier and tower (along the beach) in under 30 minutes. Polite staff with friendly manner, keen to answer my questions and the many questions of my 7 year old daughter! Easy to relax in the comfortable lounge area and enjoyed evening entertainment. Found our room secure, tidy and comfortable and we enjoyed the spa bath. Quick response from reception on first day when I couldn't figure out how to drain the sink! Glad of the complimentary tea and coffee which was replaced every day and the informative literature also provided in the room. Stayed here on Bed and Breakfast basis and there was plenty choice of foods. Between us I think we tried a bit of everything and all was fresh and delicious. Made use of the room service on first day to have snacks brought up and this was arranged in an impressively timely manner and the food was again fresh and delicious. Also asked for an evening meal on the last day which was booked easily and top quality. Appreciated the use of the cloakroom to store my suitcase after checkout so we could enjoy our last few hours in the area without struggling.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Craig Hull
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We booked a family short break here and on arrival found the parking was poor ,and with luggage for 4 children and 3 adults found this very disappointing & was told to park on a side street near by.
The rooms was as the title explained disgusting and horrific,I've worked all over the world in back and beyond places and I have to say it's the worst I've ever experienced.
Blood up the walls along side the toilet ,urine stains along the bathroom floor ,hairs hanging off the tiles in the bath,food on the floor,are many problems we found on our arrival.
The deco was very dated ,and furniture thread bare.
Needles to say we checked out the following day

Room Tip: Find another hotel completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plymouthcouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel, the rooms do not resemble the ones advertised on the website, our room was disgraceful, the wall paper was peeling off the walls, there were patches of mould and damp over the walls and ceiling, dead flies over the window sills, cob webs hanging from the ceiling, the bathroom was rotten, it needs some serious updating and decorating throughout, we asked to move rooms but we're told they had no spare rooms, I asked for a discount and the manager was suppose to arrange this for me, 5 days since the visit and I'm still waiting!!!! Do not stay here if you have standards regarding health & hygiene! Staff were unhelpful and miserable, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

£65 for a rabbit hutch hidden away on the forth floor room 3386 not a good start. Lift that only holds 3 at a time only went up to the third floor was told only a couple of steps to the next floor (what a fib) finally when we managed to find the room we were greeted by wallpaper hanging off the walls and some held on with cello tape ,windows that do not open but let in the rain ,mildew on the windowsill ,dirty skirting boards and a bed that was supposed to be a double more like a 3/4 the duvet only just fitted the bed so when you got in and covered yourself it was really to small (bedding was clean ) furniture was sparse no chair very small old fashion television The bar area is small and not enough room for everyone some comfy seats not many and some small chairs, breakfast area small and far to many tables and chairs you have a problem getting out and getting your food and when you do it's like a cattle market no organisation at all , plates are hot but food is not. The best part of this hotel is the exit doors which we used the next morning thank goodness .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank woody559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of your stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. I have recently taken over management of the hotel, and I am going through all reviews, past and present, in order to highlight areas in need of improvement.


Regards,

Craig Hull.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
3.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing