We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont see what all bad reviews are about!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dont see what all bad reviews are about!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Arrived at the hotel a little apprihensive after reading all bad negative reviews, already booked online so didnt want to cancel. First impressions, yes the outside looks very dated, very large building. Check in was relativley straight forward, not many queing at 2.40pm, receptionist polite, told us how to fing our room, meal times ect. The lift floor creaked, yes but certainly didnt make us feel like we would get stuck in it!, found the room no trouble, pleasantly suprised with the room, was dated yes, with old fashioned tv, but not a problem, as we brought laptop to watch dvds on anyway, and had free wifi to enable me to write this review from the bedroom. The bathroom was very nice, large whirlpool bath, (payed extra £10 when booking room for this ) , the bed quite comfy, large dressing table in the room included a hairdryer and tea/ coffee and kettle. The view from the room was a bit naff, with dumped old matresses and furniture, but hey we hadnt come to look out of the window!!
Overall we have been pleasantly suprised as we only payed £50 on bed and breakfast basis, for spa bath bedroom too, So dont be put off by peoples reviews try it :)

Room Tip: book one with a jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicholajayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Nicolajayne79

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you found your stay with us enjoyable. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates. It is through constructive comments, such as yours, that we aim to continue to improve our standards and the services which we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr. Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    782
    1,108
    859
    2,334
See reviews for
1,698
1,810
115
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

I was staying at the Savoy hotel 1 mile down the road, there was a problem with the power in the hotel and we got moved to the Norbreck, what a dump. The receptioist blanked me on arrival and it didnt get any better. Having walked what it felt like a mile to the room i was given, we opened the room door, what a shock dirty room maked and damage funiture and wallpaper coming away from the wall, the bathroom was the last straw dirty toilet that had not been cleaned damp and mold in the shower / bath. i had to leave i wast prepared to stay the night in the filth. avoid this hotel its a dump!

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank redmini963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear redmini963

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bishop Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Dirty bed linen
Broken Bed
Noisy - guests shouting and banging doors all night!
Booked a meal from the shown menu and when we got there the menu had changed - you have to pay for the meal in advance!
Queues for all meals and private coach parties given priority over every one else.
Plates and food stone cold.
This is like a cheap holiday camp!!
Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Dont stay here - go to a decent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnG4LRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear johnG4LRG


Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Our stay at The Norbreck was for a conference and we had our 10 yr old son with us.He watches Hotel Inspector and had great delight in doing the dust test in the room-she would have been horrified! The towels were threadbare and even once not replaced by the maid! There was tea &coffee making facilities. In a room for 3 we had 1 packet of complimentary biscuits! The window wouldn't close properly and on a very windy week-end constantly had a draught coming through,also the window itself was very dirty! Took my son to the pool but was told off for sitting on the pool side to watch him,then was told he had to be 12 to swim alone in the pool! The food was okay,but lacked fresh fruit or a salad bar.The coffee served by the hotel was cetainly not coffee! As conference delegates we had to pay for tea/coffee during breaks,unsociablly we went to our room to make one! The whole hotel needs a total referb. It is such a shame as it is a very useful conference centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear magicoldham


Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

As a regular traveller to blackpool and the the norbreck castle hotel in particular, i was really saddened and dissapointed by the standards i have just received from the hotel.
We travelled up from dover on the 8th of may overnight and arrived at the norbreck at 10.00 am. We were eventually allowed to check in at 15.30 because our room had not been cleaned and was not ready (understandable). But boy what a shock we got when we entered the room! (16) You could smell the damp and see the mould as soon as we stepped over the threshold. The skirting boards were mouldy along with parts of the carpet, the window sealings were all blown and hanging out,the curtains were hanging off the rails and would not close, there was bare walls above the curtains and to the side, the wallpaper was hanging off ( i would not recomend this room if you suffer from asthma as my partner does) and there was mould all around the bath. Anyway we unpacked and slept the night in the room because im not the kind of person who likes to complain! ! The next morning we made our way to the restaurant and sat down to have breakfast, My partner was halfway through her meal when she was just about to bite into a piece of toast when she pointed out to me that the bread was a different colour to the previous piece she had eaten... Yep you guessed it... It was full of blue mould!.. i went straight to reception and complained. They moved us to another room and appologised for the mouldy bread. That was my 12th visit to the norbreck and sadly my last. I understand that it is a very large hotel and is often very busy, but thats still no excuse for bad hygeine and poor standards. The short break was certainly not worth the £180 we had paid.

Room Tip: Always ask for a double executive room or better,
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank whittazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear whittazz


Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

This place is lovely.The staff are welcoming,helpful,and knwledgeable.We had a room with a view of the Irish Sea/Stunning.The meals are very tasty.Copper Jacks Pub is good.the entertainment lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbritishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear jbritishtraveller

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you found your stay with us enjoyable. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates. It is through constructive comments, such as yours, that we aim to continue to improve our standards and the services which we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr. Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We checked in for one night as my boyfriend surprised me yet again with a little weekend break. we arrived to a shabby inside and a very strong smell of food. we had booked a sea view which we where informed would cost an extra 10 POUNDS even though it had been booked on line. when we got to our room there was no view and so we had to moved to another. the bed was made but the maid had clearly only attempted to clean the room . There was someone else pubic hair all over the bath tub and sink soap scum all over the shower etc etc. they then said they would upgrade us to a bigger room which we thought was great except no sea view and just little a bit cleaner then before. Mirrors not cleaned the glass so dirty your fingers stuck to it... but after this going on for an hour and it getting late we decided to settle for it. Copper face Jacks the bar was nice and the barman gave us the best tip ever to eat in Sapori restaurant. You can hear all the rooms above and beside you and the room was impossable to find when sober let alone at three o clock in the morning....... Breakfast was plain awfull . Buffet style but all over the place and no attention given to the guests.... Dont stay go somewhere else we couldn wait to leave.

Room Tip: Make sure its clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justine140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear lornakerry


Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates.

As you will be aware we offer our services to a diverse cross section of clientele from all walks of life, with various age groups and demographics taking the opportunity to experience our unique ambience. The hotel is very popular with families, many of whom return regularly, as we offer a safe and friendly service.

I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and can assure that all the points, which have been raised, will be looked into in an effort to improve our standards and develop further the services that we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Mr Tony Banks
General Manager
The Norbreck Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing