We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We checked in on Sunday 26th August and the hotel was extremely busy with National holiday tours but were checked in by Tom who was so polite and friendly under the pressure he was under. As i arrived one of the passengers off the tour smashed the door to entrance and just stood and laughed about it! I would have been appalled if i had caused that damage. On going to our room i was pleasantly surprised to have a large family room with great sea views and although the room was in need of a spruce i was still pleased. The food was ok for what we had paid and we were waited on by Sophie who could not do enough for us, was just a pity we did not have her for the rest of our stay as we wern't so lucky with service after our 1st night. All in all our stay was ok and the childrens entertainment was good for the kids. We normally stay at Butlins Skegness and although this was not as good, it was half the price so goes to show you get what you pay for. So if you have high expectations then the clue is in the price. Simple really.

Room Tip: request sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karengp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,905)
There are newer reviews for Norbreck Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,195 - 4,201 of 5,905 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

After booking this hotel Monday Morning to arrive later that day I decided to check the reviews on here and was horrified to be honest I got a decent deal with Britannia for b and b and evening meal for 3 nights I expected the worst really, reality was it was Ok and had a decent time here better than expected that's for sure

Location - Quite far out of Blackpool centre (bout 2 mile) would take 45-50 mins to walk to the tower easily tram stop outside I didn't mind the travelling in and out on the tram some people prefer it quiet rather than stopping bang in centre of Blackpool

Rooms - Double bed was not that comfy to be honest but Ive slept on worse thats for sure had a travel cot provided for my son it was clean bedding was clean and was in very good condition
Had a basic Tv channels 1-4, tea coffee facilities provided room could have done with a lick of paint but was Ok. Bathroom was clean power shower was nice and powerful

Food - Breakfast was very good in my opinion really good selection of Cereals toast Juices etc and a good selection of hot foods Bacon Sausage beans scrambled egg fried bread black pudding tomato toast etc self service

Evening meals were Ok nothing special and the food was edible( my only issue would be whilst menu changes daily every night its roast potatoes and veg to accompany them Norbreck should change this up so its not the same every night the deal I got with Britannia included 3 course meal every night so was better for me and my family to do this rather than eating out each night, Service was Ok must say though slow at cleaning tables so you end up with stacked bowls plates etc with it being self service deserts were fantastic great choice well presented

Entertainment - Again was Ok nothing special a lot of youngsters there when we were there really could benefit from some sort of separate kids club on an evening as there are groups of kids running around being kids and a fair few older people just wanting to enjoy a quiet drink waiting for the bingo or summat lol

Saw a couple of warm up cabaret acts decent enough never going to be anything more really is it. The price of Beer was £3.25 for Carlsberg they did a 3-5 happy hour in one bar knocked £1 off the pint

Staff mostly were very good and very pleasant sometimes its easy to forget how tough their job can be its a big place with a lot of guests to please this is a busy time of year for them with summer holidays and now illuminations so service prob has suffered so it seems with alot of the reviews I've read lately for me its was Good though

So to summarise we enjoyed our trip there are faults and Obv alot have not had good experiences at all but for me and my family it was Ok we went with an open mind and Didn't really expect to much I was pleasantly surprised with our stay maybe I was lucky who knows

Anyone who wants to ask any questions feel free to msg me

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Absolute Disgrace Total [--] Take .Dirty Depressing place Vile inedible food Miles away from the centre of Blackpool Cost a fortune on the tram family of six £28 . I will never again travel with National Holidays .It is 2012 for crying out loud the least you should expect is cleanliness and edible food .HOVEL

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerniLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Arrived on Sunday of the August bank holiday weekend, unfortunately too many complaints to mention. Exactly as the other two reviews on this hotel. Do not go here if they offer you it for free - or free with a £50.00 voucher to spend. Problems with keys; reception; cleanliness; food; staff; etc etc etc the list is endless - This Hotel should have a serious health warning with it.!!!

Room Tip: I booked a superior room - it was an absolute joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Myself, my friend and my mother arrived at this hotel on friday 24th August around 1.30pm, by 2pm i was on my phone looking for different accomodation, as soon as we walked up the stairs to the main entrance we all looked at each other in disgust as it was very dirty, ther was a tea cup and saucer sitting outside on the steps.... it was still there on sunday when we checked out, the headboard on my bed was broken,blood stains on the walls and other stains on the carpet, there was empty little evaporated milk cartons and used tissues under the bedside cabinet, a thick pile of dust everywhere of which i have an allergy too, that was funny...not, we had to get our ceiling hoovered at 2am in the morning as it was covered in flys and bugs, they were all over our bedding too, went in the shower next morning and the bath started to fill up?? i thought jeeez i have left the plug in or something??? but i didnt and it took about 20 mins for the water to go away, the hotel had a strange smell, its minging and thats no lie, but the reception manager told me after we had complained several times that it was exceptional value for money, i asked him if he was a comedian, but i must say that most of the staff tried their best to help us, the hotel is disgusting scabby and very very dirty, but we made the most of it and had a laugh, spoke to different guests which all had the same views as us, some only stayed one night, oh did i mention there was electrical cables hanging out the wall, these belonged to the room telephone that didnt work either, no of the toilet doors had locks on them in the bar, i could go on and on but i wont, hope you get the message folks, they need to get grime fighters into this hotel asap....

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

On arrival the only thing that jumps out on you is how far away from everything you are. Yes there is a tram stop across the road but for our group of adults and kids ( nine in total ) in cost £40 to go to the pleasure beach and back on the tram. The main problem was finding our room and there were loads of people in a similar way. We went up a floor ( three flights of stairs ) , along a corridor , through a door then down some stairs. Along a corridor , through a door then up some stairs down the corridor then down a ramp , through some doors then up another two flights of stairs , through another door and we were there. All this to get to a family room , god help anyone who uses a pushchair. The feeling at night is more of a social club than a hotel with the lady singing to music that was so loud you could hardly hear her , maybe not a bad thing. As the building is so old , trying to sleep is a nightmare because all you can hear are old pipes settling down and banging , or if you were lucky enough to be in superior rooms like some of our party then it will be the air conditioner unit bang outside your window that you hear. Relieved we only stopped one night . Buffet breakfast was a free for all , no , cutlery left , no salt , and unclean tables. On the whole I am glad it was only one night and maybe I should have researched it more. We could have stayed in a cleaner more convenient hotel for half the price !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyblade0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights august bank holiday. Chose this hotel, because we use to stay as a family with my grandparents when i was a child, thought it would be nice to see it again and reminisce.
What a disgrace!!! Arrived to find the entrance, littered with cigarette butts!! Once had directed kids through the butts, walked in through the turnstile doors, which you wouldnt think had glass in them, more like obscured glass they were that dirty. Had to help an elderly lady with her suitcase, trying to squeeze into the turnstile to check in, as the two side doors were locked due to the wind, and a note wrote on them, not to be opened. Qued at reception for about 20 mins to check in. A lot of guests were returning saying they couldnt get in their rooms, as their card key wasnt working. Eventually got our key and were directed to our room. Trudged through the main seating/bar area with 3 kids, 5 bags and nanna, to find the tiny filthy lift and squeezed in. Only one lift in that area for hundreds of people. Found our room, which was very spacious, and had a lovely sea view, but was filthy. The beds were clean, but the sheets had been put on inside out, the valance on the bed, was just thrown on any old how and had never seen an iron. Legs/wheels were missing off every bed. The door frame was all cracked and broken, there was a hole in the wall, and wallpaper peeling off everywhere you looked. Furniture was old fashioned but did the job, handles were loose on some drawers. The hairdryer had a cable threaded through a drawer so had to kneel on the floor to use it. The tin bin had been squashed at some point. The kettle and cups were filthy, and there wasnt enough tea bags and biscuits for the 5 of us. There was a settee in our room, which i would have given to my dogs years ago. The bathroom was disgusting. The floor had not been cleaned, and i would not have dared go in there barefoot. Dust in every nook & cranny, toilet wasnt screwed down, and was all rusty. The sink would bubble everytime another room flushed their toilet. The bath and shower area rusty, mouldy, smelly, falling to pieces, the tiles all cracked and filthy, the bath panel was rotting away. The door didnt close or have a lock. The towels were thread bare, some had holes in them, and had never been anywhere near fabric softner. One roll of toilet roll between 5 of us, which was thinner than the cheapest toilet paper i have ever seen. The corridors were in need of decorating, the doors were falling to pieces. The stairway had a different bit of carpet here and there, all the windows had mould/damp. Duck tape was holding carpet together in certain places. The main communal area had a small coffee shop, with very rude staff. The carpets were disgusting and i never once saw a cleaner either hoover, or wipe the tables down. Dirty glasses were rarely taken away. The bar staff were quite polite, although the bar area was sticky and dirty. The entertainment area and stage, was falling to pieces, the chairs were filthy and torn. The dining room was quite nice, if you dont mind eating like sardines. The choices left a little to be desired. Most of the staff were quite rude. I was filling a glass of orange juice, when a waitress came over took the top off and tipped a huge pot of juice into the dispenser, all while i was filling my glass!!! Tea took a long time coming, you could have got up and gone and made your own, by the time they came round to pour you one. Childrens main meal choice wasnt a choice it was chicken nuggets. Breakfast time was like queing for the last meal, overflowing into the main communal area. So busy that they set up more serving tables in the main conservatory with cereal & juice on them. Those checking out had to manouvere past the hoards of people waiting to be fed. The ball room was locked and out of bounds, it would make a lovely evening venue, instead the conservatory is it!!!! not enough seating for all who want to watch the entertainment, which doesnt even deserve an audition on britains got talent. Far too loud, for those who would like to sit and have a quite drink. The rest of the hotel is just wasted open space for children to run around like lunatics. Outdoor there is a small lake/pond style thing. I wouldnt go near it though, you could end up in hospital with the germs in there. There is some sort of derelict garage in the grounds of the carpark, not sure whats happening there. The outside of the building is looking tatty, could do with a repaint, the whole building needs a complete refurbishment, and some decent cleaners, failing that pulling down... although in its day it was a lovely hotel, needs a lot of money investing in it.

Room Tip: doubt there are any good rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jody641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,100 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
3,789 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £31 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing