We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and Scruffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Big and Scruffy”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

There were around forty of us in an extended family group. Place was noisy , doors were sticky and difficult to walk around due to the sheer numbers. One thousand meals at a sitting.
The lifts were small and limited in number. Poor as most of the clientele were obese, aged or suffering from a visible handicap.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or if you are stuck there, ask for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 603Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    805
    1,152
    893
    2,415
See reviews for
1,769
1,863
130
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Went for an overnight break to this hotel. Although its quite far out from the main attractions I still found it to be a good hotel. It has its own pool which was really clean and also the entertainment was good at night, my son found the inn house arcade which was pretty good. The drinks were a little overpriced in the bar but had machines with cans in for £1 each. The breakfast was very good but long queues formed to get it. The bedding was extra clean and therefore overall I would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slybacon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

They wrote to us a couple of weeks before saying we were being moved from grand metropole to norbreck castle (both owned by brittania) We had already purchased coach tickets, so basically didn't really have the choice to cancel. A bit cheeky considering it made such a difference to travelling in and around the centre; particularly as the traffic was busy, trams were full to capacity and we ended up paying a fortune on public transport. I was told by the locals that they overbook and subsequently move customers here regularly.
Our original room was filthy, cramped and had a view of a building site. The room smelt of stale cigarettes, stains on the sheets, wallpaper stained and peeling. There were chips of paint in the bath and the whole room in general did not look like it had been cleaned. After complaining at reception, we were moved to another room...when we got there, and walked in the room, it was already occupied and there was somebody in the shower!! Ran out very quickly, so didn't have an awkward conversation although did spend rest of the trip worried I was going to bump into them. What a gross security risk!! There was a handbag just sitting on the side; left me concerned about the safety of the rooms.
Finally got a clean room with no other residents. Nothing special, but not to be sniffed at. At least it was clean.
Food fatty, bland very greasy and basic. Both at breakfast and dinner. We ended up eating out after sampling the hotel's cuisine.
On our last night, a fire alarm went off at 1.15 in the morning. When we went downstairs, there was a security guard telling people it was a fault and to go back to bed.
There were lots of other things I could mention, but to be honest I'm hoping this puts people off enough to save their money for somewhere else. Considering the facilities they offered us were as repugnant as they were, I would have thought they might attempt to redeem themselves with customer service, but reception staff were unhelpful and acted as if we were an inconvenience to them. After writing a letter and an email of complaint, we received nothing back, not even an apology. Do not visit this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burkeybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

m yself and 3 friends stayed here for a 2 night break on august 31st this must be the worst hotel in the COUNTRY T HE rooms are dirty and very very tired we did not have any toilet paper in our room this is such a basic thing how can it be it the staff were rather rude and not very helpful i would not stay here again even if they paid me it is a total mess

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Great staff very friendly and helpful food good and plenty of it .I read loads of bad reports and did worry a bit but i shouldnt have. We had 2 rooms both were very clean and were cleaned every day .showers were great plenty of hot water and good pressure.Ok the hotel is a long way from blackpool centre but unless im missing some thing not all hotels can be in the centre and it would be a big job to move either the norbrek or blackpool a bit nearer. Hotel was very quiet during the night so no probs sleeping . In this like you get what you pay for if you want the Ritz you wont get it at this price.As for the long wait for meals ,the hotel was full when we were there in august 2012 and i never saw anyone wait for longer than a few minutes. This is an honest review of the Norbrek castle hotel and i and my family will be returning there again .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

went for1 night 1st ser on national hols,waited 2 hours before you got froom,the room was ok but rest of hotel was filthy needed a goodclean,food awful,kids games room every game excepy 2p slots was out of order,if i was here for more than 1 night i would have checked out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Not for us. Grottsville ! But saying that there was probally over 1,000 people in the hotel, alot was elderly, as hotel was equipped with lifts ramps ect. And all seemed to be happy with it, but it really depends what you go for, and we didnt go for this, and would never go again.Weather was beautiful. The edges of carpark are full of junk, food, broken, glasses, bottles ect, the entrance steps and doors are rotton and absolutly filthy, and both these 2 points could be sorted instantly with staff there. Furnishings are old, carpets are very very old and ground dirty, its tac ! throughout, but again people seemed happy, and didnt seem to notice they were all loving it ! (we were amazed, and couldnt wait to get out of there.. ) We booked 2 rooms, and they could only find 1, eventually we got 2, we were hoping they would have to move us, as they were overbooked. Now the swimming pool looked ok. Most of the breakfast was ok ish, but cold fry up is not good. The bed linen was clean.bed was old, and pillows old n grey! room was old tac, ripped wall paper, hole in wall, bad mingin paintwork, tacy old bathroom. We were not allowed to be allocated our rooms til dead on 3.30, even if it was ready, and at 3.30 all hell breaks lose when there was hundreds checking in, this was a sunday, apparantly its 3pm otherdays. We are really fussy and like the best, allways 4-5* id give this a 2* we were only there, as popped with children to see the Illuminations, and decided to stay over, the best thing about the hotel was being outside, accross the road, looking out too sea !

Room Tip: If you want a lovely room and surroundings dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
453 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing