We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the norbreck with friends first week in october, i found the hotel was far too far away from all the attractions, but we were happy to use the trams and buses to go from a to b.
The food was fine i had no problem with the food it was hot and a good selection, we found the hotel was very noisy,when people used there water the pipes made awfull noises.and also sometimes it was too hot and sometimes too cold, our rooms where big enough to sleep 5 people, beds were clean. I must say the hotel is in need of some T.L.C there was rubbish out side and something that looked like an old paddling pool outside could have been tidied up. but on the whole it wasnt bad enough to spoil our stay.

Room Tip: upgrade to premier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,267 - 4,273 of 6,064 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

I booked into the Norbreck Caslte for two nights 28-30 September 2012 with my partner and parents who are in their 70's and 80's.

Things that were not good:

1. Everything!
The hotel is shabby and dirty. The car park was littered with empty alcohol bottles, cigarette ends in the millions and a soiled nappy. One entrance used by the many smokers resembled a rubbish dump with rotting rubbish built up in a recess along the diabled access ramp.
2. On making our way to my parents room, (which I had asked to be easy access for older people, and was in fact a 10 minute walk away) we had to pass a disco in a function room. Multiple people in their 20's and 30's were marauding around in a highly intoxciated state clealry druink and with some on stimulant drugs. The atmosphere was mennacing and frightening to pass by.
3. The room allocated to my parents was hot ans stuffy and has only a small occluded window which with minimal opening. The windoe looked on to a flat roof which was coated in a pile of rotting rubbish and debris. This was unsuitable for my parents and so we elected to move them to a 5th floor room as this had a lift.
4. The lift which can accommodate 8 people was dirty and slow.
5. On arrival at the other room it stank of cigarettes. Cannabis smoked and smeel( I am a nurse and well aware of the smell) plumed from under a door two doors opposite and filled the corridor).
6. This appears to have set the fire alarm off at 00.20. The staff resposne was chhaotic and unprofessional. My parenst called fornt desk only to be shouted at to get out.
7. My parents had no hot water on arrival.
8. Both rooms were uncleaned after our first day. Neither had been cleaned well with dirty bathroom mirrors, staining on carpets, pubic hair in the sinks and bath.
9. Beds were un made and even my parents tea cups were not cleaned after use.
10. On attempting to get to breakfast we had to wait for nearly 15 minutes for the lift. There was nowhere to sit on teh lift landning casuing my father significant discomfort.
11. On arrival in the main restaurant lobby there were 58 people in teh breakfast queue which made little progress in the ten minutes we stuck it out.
12. The lfit to our room has a buckled floor which made an alrming noise as you entered the lift.
13. water was pouring thorugh the celing above one of the internal doors between hotel areas. No warning signs were in place to make people aware of this; instead staff pulled a sofa over the door.

Overall I can say that this hotel holds its guests in utter contempt. Seemingly many of them have decided to do the same to the hotel with their unruly and drunken and drug influenced behaviour.
It was frightening for my parents and nearly £500 was wasted on this trip. We could not stay for a further night and left. Staff were disinterested in our concerns and gave a weka apology. They would not enter into discussion about refunds advising us that we booked through a 3rd party.

Shame on you Brittania Hotels.

Room Tip: don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I arrived at the hotel on the 24th sept, wasnt sure what to expect, but couldnt be more pleased, yes the hotel was a bit in need of renovation but i didnt spoil my stay, food was great, room was great and so were the staff, loved the entertainment, I would definetly go back there with hopefully the same room, Thank you Norbreck for a great holiday,

Room Tip: Lower room levels are better because you avoid waiting at the lifts (which is to be expected)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

arrived at our room to find drawers dusty and still had clothes in from previous occupants. dining room was a nightmare,allocated a table only to find other guests still at the table after having their meal. didnt have any meals that was served hot....only warm. not enough staff to deal with all of the guests.was looking forward to a few days away but was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shar0nmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here in july, at a cheerleading comp. I was soo shocked at the standard. I exspected soo much more. On our first night we found a tshirt behind the bed, shower curtain was dirty and remained dirty throught out our three night stay otherwise room was cleaned well each day to an ok standard. Rooms are very old fashioned and are in desparte need of a revamp. tv didnt work great and no freeview, Food for nice and staff were very friendly in restaurant. overall disapointing stay and not worth what we paid

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We once again went to the Norbreck Castle hotel as in previous years we have always found it an enjoyable experience, however we were put in a room with wafer thin walls and could not hear ourselves think during the day never mind the night. We had a fire alarm at midnight which most people did not attend goodness knows what would have happend if it had been a real fire ( kids broke glass) then someone came knocking on doors telling us to get out. We got moved but still got disturbed by a drunk at 3am singing in the corridors.
Food adequate and buffet which is nice. Check in a nightmare 3/4 hour queue.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room but no guarantee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Childcare2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This could be a great place to stay. Unfortunately our first room would not lock and the floor dipped do much that my partner named it 'The Titanic Room'.
Our second room had a lovely view of the air conditionally vent which hummed all night and also had a wonky toilet.
It needs a whole lot of money spent on it to be able to be classed as a hotel or even a b&b!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,230 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,351 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
545 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,238 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £29 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing