We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst birthday weekend ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 14 April 2013

omg!!! where do I start, from walking in the visual appeal was dia. The décor, curtains. carpets bedsheets wallpaper etc, felt like they where dated back to the 1920's, the whole hotel smelt of a old musky rest home smell. Even the corridors reeked of skunk
(weed), the manager was rushing around spraying air freshner to eliminate the smell, the corridor we where in was full of young yobs, making serious amounts of noise, slamming doors, blasting music, shouting and screaming at 4am in the morning. The first room we were given was a dingy prison cell, small, colourless and 100% un appealing. The mattress felt like it had been squashed by an elephant for the past 30 years and you could physically feel the bed frame on your back. Cheap sods buy some new mattresses. Overall it was the worst weekend of my life and completely ruined my birthday. I would not send my worst enemy here and they really need to shut this place down and inject some money into it.

Room Tip: Don't go!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,907)
There are newer reviews for Norbreck Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,718 - 3,724 of 5,907 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

my wife and i took a mystery break with d uruqharts tours , and we finished up at the norbreck castle blackpool, THE BIG MISTAKE WAS WE FORGOT ABOUT THE SCHOOLS STILL BEING ON HOLIDAY. we arrived at the hotel about two fifteen on the eighth of april,
the reception was very slow it took forty mins to get the card from reception so we could go to our room
the room was adequet for two and clean , but the furniture was a bit dated , but served its purpose

the bathroom was clean but the bath had seen better days . having some surface damage but this was only miner,it took a long while to get hot water.there was a shower over the bath,, the bathroom was cleaned every day ,
the bedroom walls were very thin and people could be heard next door .the decaration was good . but there was a lot of noise from pipes and the constant hum from some pump all the time .the windows were double glazed but needed a wash.

the food was self service , but soup was served. the food was ok with a good choice but the self service ment it was only luke warm by the time you got back to your table, the staff were very good at taking away used plates etc.(full marks to them)

the big snag during the week was unsupervised children .in the dining room very small children walking about , when there are other people carrying food on plates (this is a accident waiting to happen 0and i think both the managment and parents should look into this before some child is hurt

all drinks were served in plastic beakers but i think this is a local requirment.

we had trouble on two evenings whilst trying to use the lift with young lads pressing the button outside the lift and opening doors.,there seems to be no security in this hotel to stop some young people doing just as they please .climbing up banisters was one thing we saw and running around very fast when there are other people trying to get around .

d wilkinson

Room Tip: i don`t know one in this hotel there are so many rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONALD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Friends of ours booked the rooms for us, they arrived on Thurs 11th for 2 nights & we arrived on Fri 12th for 1 night. Everything was booked through Brittannia Hotels. Firstly we were told the hotel Is In walking distance of Blackpool, How wrong they were, I`m sure they must have meant Fleetwood. We were told the price would be £45 for each room, with seaview, so it was booked. On our arrival on the Fri we checked in & was told we had to pay some further money has it was outstanding, this didn't go down to well, we paid the money then our friend came to reception to ask what was taking the time, we explained what was going on, & we got our extra money back has our friend kicked up a fuss has they where trying to charge us an extra amount, which everything had already been paid for via a credit card. We had to wait until 2.30pm for our keys, but waiting over an hour for our keys we thought the room must extra special, haha what a joke
that was. There was a very small double bed right upto the back of door & a metal door stop right in the middle of the floor, the décor & furnishings were like something from Noahs Ark lol, the bathroom was just has bad the glass doors on the shower cubicle had never seen a clean cloth wash over them, we only had 1 hand towel & 1 bath towel, we did ask for another one of each but got told they only provide 1 of each, even tho there is 2 people in the room. The amount of dust in the room was appalling, I don't think cleaners had heard of polish. The room was very very dated & very cold, the bed was falling apart but that was quite funny lol. The breakfast was a buffet style, the only thing which was nice was the bacon, thick quality, the sausages were black I think if you would have taken a bite out of them you would have broke your teeth, the beans were not Heinz, the juice was so transparent it looked like coloured water, & the toast oh dear, that was just warm bread, the staff where very unhelpful, they just could not be bothered trying to make you feel comfortable. They need lessons in customer care & customer service, has you can guess we will not be going back to this hotel. But overall all 5 of us had a really good time together, Its just the hotel let us all down.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CritterMan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Booked break with David Urquahart as exspected clean rooms hot shower 99p Bar.Cooked breakfast, choice of evening meal starter main dessert .Days out included.Pool gym sauna etc. What more can I say Bargain at the price don,t know how they do it .Yes the place.is old and in need of a facelift it,s not perfect but what do people exspect for just over£110 for coach tour 5days and a fantasitic driver well done everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights with national holidays. We were given an executive room which had whirlpool bath so great surprise, comfortable beds as well but we were at the back and our window was filthy. On first night our room was freezing until we figure out the heating just before going to sleep. Food was as expected in a Britannia hotel and the waiting staff were all very friendly. The swimming pool was absolutely freezing but jacuzzi was lovely and warm. I reported a problem and it was dealt with very quickly although when our key card stopped working we were told it was our fault and woman dealing with us wasn't very pleasant. On last morning I bought a couple of things from coffee bar and was shocked at prices, we'd have been better off going to cafe behind hotel, also noticed that the prices in vending machine doubled when new ones were put in, fruit pastilles 50p on Tuesday but £1 on Wednesday, again use the shops behind hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We were staying here for two nights. After checking in at the hotel we went to our room, on entering the room the first thing we noticed was the bathroom door, that had obviously been broken and a piece of plywood nailed over. We had booked a family room, which had a bed missing. We were given another room, which was dirty, wallpaper peeling off the walls, my daughters bedding had holes in it, the base sheets on the bed had stains on them, the shower was full of mould, the radiator in the bathroom didnt work.

We had booked half board at the hotel, the food was tasteless,most of the staff were very unhelpful and miserable.

The outside of the hotel was being painted, they should be painting the inside instead.

It was a few miles from Blackpool centre, however the one good thing was that the tram stop is just across the road, and the trams run regularly, a family day ticket costs just £9.

Will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't even think of staying here.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Ok read the reviews before we booked and took a gamble. Paid £35 for a family room and you get blooming good value for that. If you expect five star at £35 then don't bother continuing reading!

Yes hotel needs a lick of paint and some tlc but the room was big the beds clean the sheets clean and a fantastic powerful shower. Yes the room and bathroom are tired and dated but again £35!!!! For your £35 u get pool access which is more than fine! Has a gym a sauna a jacuzzi (over 16 only) and a perfectly fine and warm and CLEAN pool!

Tram stop just outside hotel, cheesy entertainment on the night if you want it and perfectly acceptable food again with a full breakfast included in the price.

So don't come with lofty expectations and you won't go away moaning. You gets what you pay for plus a bit more. Crackin value and hey, it's Blackpool cheese is the name of the game!

And by the way, the travelodge is £30 and you don't get half of what you do here and hotel in same state generally!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Toole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,790 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £31 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing