We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at the Norbreck Castle Friday and Saturday 22/23 Nov 2013 as part of a group attending the Kingshill line dance event. We were three women in our early 70s, still active enough let it be said. When we went up to the room allocated we could not believe it - the floor sloped alarmingly down towards the window. The sleeping arrangements we were expected to use were one double bed and two bunk beds, which wobbled when touched. The bathroom was grotty. It took two attempts to persuade them to change the room. This room, in a different, more modern wing, of the hotel, had the required three single beds. However, it was freezing cold on one the coldest nights so far in November. We naturally turned on the heating, but the room did not warm up while we were line dancing. In fact on returning we found the heating had been switched off for the night. We asked for more bedding, as the single duvet did not seem adequate. The heating came on briefly between 8.00 and 8.30 am, hardly warming the room at all. And the bathroom had no heat at all, plus the WC handle was idiosyncratic in its performance. Overall, I thought the hotel staff had been reduced, the restaurant staff were overwhelmed. The food was adequate if uninspired. This hotel badly needs bringing up to modern standards of comfort. Did I mention that the TV was an old 15" with a total of 4 channels? Altogether a very disappointing stay (but the Kingshill bit was brilliant).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeQ427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,434 - 3,440 of 6,169 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Room terrible food terrible staff unhelpful extortionate prices for drinks
(This is due to coach parties getting a couple of free drinks included in their stay) so they have to get their profits from somewhere overall not impressed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank asdwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a 1 night bed and breakfast stay as part of a coach tour. The food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. Lots of it, served buffet style. The evening entertainment was good (Abba tribute band) but the venue was absolutely huge and consequently lacked atmosphere. That's the good bits.
The room we were allocated should be condemned, it had wet walls in one corner due to damp and the radiator only worked intermittently. It was freezing cold and smelled of damp. Quite frankly the room was a health hazard. I complained to reception and they said to go online and complain to the company. I complained to the tour rep and her comment was 'oh they're not still using that room are they'. As I say you get what you pay for and it was cheap!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Windsor Wing ground floor room 20 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

8 of us have just had a fabulous weekend break at the Norbreck , the rooms were spotless ,the food was excellent and plentiful , staff friendly and very helpful. The evening entertainment was first class , We booked a bargain break and had 5* treatment !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here after a week stay at the Best Western Hotel in Stoke-On-Trent. After a long day & drive I felt like a sleep but when I pulled back the covers OMG urine stained sheet. Complained to manager & got offered other rooms but just as bad & tired. Wallpaper peeling off the walls, cracked sink, very bad dust on extractor fan which didn't work, dead flies on lampshades etc. Disgusting place & Nowhere near Blackpool tower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbaz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have just returned from a rather pleasant week-end at the Norbreck, and were pleased to find it was nothing like as bad as some of the previous reports have indicated. The building is very old and is obviously showing signs of wear, but generally it was clean and the rooms were serviceable. The earlier correspondents would probably have been more comfortable just down the road at the Hilton, the problem is, the Hilton charges more for one night than the Norbreck charges for three and doesn't include any food!
The hotel is very large, and despite there being several private events taking place, the hotel coped very well. We found it was just a question of avoiding the busy periods at meal times, otherwise it could involve a wait or sharing a table. All the meals were buffet style, with the waiters bringing the drinks. There was a reasonable choice of food and all that we had was good.
The first room offered to us was along many passages and involved numerous stairs and ramps and seemed miles away from reception. We pointed out that we were a little old for assault courses and were immediately offered an alternative room which was quite satisfactory. There is an upgrade available for £10 pppn which includes a separate restaurant, but we were happy where we were.
The evening entertainment was centred mainly on bingo, which we hate, it was followed by a 'Cabaret' performed by the resident staff, they were ok but didn't come on until about 10.15 and then for only about 30 mins. Luckily the many attractions of Blackpool were only a short tram ride away.
There is a happy hour in the bars from 4pm to 7pm when the drinks are reasonably priced, but then they increase considerably to around £3.55 per pint. The discerning drinker may have to run up a bar tab, we did!
The hotel staff varied from the extremely pleasant and helpful to the almost manic depressive, but the overall atmosphere was friendly.
Our bus passes worked on the trams, but only after 9.30am. It you don't have a pass, the Newsagent opposite the rear car park will sell you a day transport pass for £3.50 (£4.50 if bought on the vehicle), it represents good value.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Windsor wing are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackhawk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a weekend for the illuminations with parents and infant daughter. Room was fine, clean enough but old. Whole hotel needs a good refit but it's huge and needs millions. Pool was fine though water was quite cold for kids. Food was great, staff were excellent. This is a big hotel that gets very busy at weekends. It's a feat in itself to get everyone fed. Evening meal was great and always enough choice with replenishments quickly brought out. Cheap drinks meant some people who should know better were drunk early but we just stayed out of their way. Evening entertainment was fun. Breakfast was very busy and we had to queue but again how to feed so many!!!! This was a cheap weekend break and well worth the money. Not sure I would kill myself getting back there but two nights bed breakfast and evening meal with extra free drinks for £55 you really can't complain!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayelounelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
4,336 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,429 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#65 of 73 in Blackpool
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £27 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing