We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Nearly Spoiled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend Nearly Spoiled”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. I will NEVER go back again to stay over.
We were booked into "Twin Executive" room. This consisted of two single beds - which where the most uncomfortable beds I have ever had the misfortune of sleeping in, a television with 4 channels (yes 4 channels in this day and age) a bath that was dirtier than blackpool beach has ever been and just enough space left to put our suitcase in.
The hotel site says that we can enjoy the views (of portacabins and cars from our window) Health club with Heated pool (colder than the north pole) and a 36 seater cinema which we were informed was shut because the DVD player was broke (yes DVD player)
Now for the worst part (if it can get worse) the site words are
"Conservatory Food Court offers a daily menu of freshly prepared hot and cold food throughout the day plus a great selection of coffees, teas and chilled drinks" We went down to Breakfast at 08:30 am and were confronted with a choice of COLD cooked breakfast, Muesli or tinned fruit, to wash this monstrosity of a menu down you could have coffee what your spoons stands up in or tea that looks and taste like muddy water or their special concentrated orange / apple juice

Please people if you are reading this DO NOT book into this hotel I promise you will regret every minute you spend their

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    789
    1,124
    868
    2,361
See reviews for
1,719
1,833
119
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

i've read many a review both good and bad about this hotel and i'm going to add my tuppence worth.
loved it,loved it, loved it.
best place i've stayed for many a year,staff were brilliant in all parts of the running;reception, entertainment,restaraunt(buffet breakfast and dinner you'd wish never ended)sports club and room service.
we had a room with a sea view,plenty of wardrobe and drawer space,never ending hot water at a gallop;bath fills within minutes.
i don't know how they've got a single bad review unless the people were miserable when they booked in and still miserable when they checked out.
sure it's a noisy place with kids running around but that is part of it's staff's fantastic attitude to make sure that everyone has a fabulous and laid back time and i prefer to have real people around me than some stiff and cold snobs walking around with their noses in the air.
if you are thinking of going somewhere in england to just slob around this is the place,we paid 137quid for 2 for 3 days and two nights[arrived friday left sunday evening..check out time is 10.30 am but we hung around until 5pm waiting for the rain to clear to drive back to london],that price was inclusive of breakfast and dinner.
go and enjoy the norbreck and blackpool and all it's lovely people the staff and it's visitors.

Room Tip: all rooms are fit for purpose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arif k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Norbreck for the Superdance Weekend for the second year running and yes was more disgusting than last year.
The food is totally inedible breakfast was disgusting i certainly would not have fed it to my children, even the toast was awful how you can get that wrong is beyond me.
The bedroom well where do i start ?
The wallpaper was hanging off the walls the carpet was filthy and as for the beds four of us in one room one very small double bed and bunkbeds squashed in you caught your leg on the corner of the double everytime you passed to get to the bathroom not that i wanted to use it as this also was disgusting.
Environmental health need to make a visit sooner rather than later !!
Britannia Group either up date the whole Hotel or shut it down i dont know how you have the audacity to charge people to stay there

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tescotarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is an absolute disgrace. I had the worst break ever. It stinks, is dirty and in some rooms there's not even a window. Its a case of quantity not quality and avoid at all costs. Don't expect a decent nights sleep as beds uncomfortable and noise from other rooms make's it feel like they are in your room. It is a good distance from the centre of Blackpool. It is not good value for money at all. We were booked into their sister hotel but were put here as they overbooked,which seems a regular ocurance so beware.

Room Tip: There is'nt one to be had here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huttoft, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this Hotel from an E-Shot I received from the Britannia Group after staying in other hotels in the Group, I didn't look at the reviews as I have always had a high standard, after paying our Non refundable balance I received an email from Trip Advisor which led me to check the reviews on this hotel. I was very disappointed to see the bad reviews and the overall score, but I have to say I spoke to the hotel direct to make sure there was the requirements I requested on booking, and they were very friendly and accommodating and when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised, throughout the stay the staff were friendly and helpful the food was nice and the room was very clean and well laid out, I have to mention that we paid on booking for an upgrade and was told it would be a better standard of room (central booking) when I got to the hotel the room was very standard and tired looking, I went to reception and was told the upgrade price was for a sea view, they were very helpful and upgraded us for a discounted price to the Presidential suite which I highly recommend, overall I would stay here again but I would pay for the upgrade as I think my review might have been different in respect to the room if I hadn't have had that. :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Booked to go to the Norbreck through National Holidays, after reading the reviews we expected the worse, but was very surprised at how nice the hotel actually was! Room was clean and cleaners came in everyday to clean, change bedding and put fresh towel in, staff we're very friendly and helpful, good selection of food, all nice! Its out of the way of the noise of the town centre but the bus and tram stop is right outside of the hotel entrance, would go back, enjoyed our four night stay! Definitely not as bad as as the reviews made out, if you're fussy book a more expensive hotel, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned after visiting the Norbreck for the umpteenth time, we've had a great time again, stayed in room 344, very warm and nice and clean with a sea view, on Sunday night a buddy holly tribute was on and it was very good, will be back there soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,803 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing