We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Dreadful"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"Dreadful"”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Being involved with the Supadance competition we stayed at the Norbreck Castle Hotel over the weekend 6 to 8 December. There is no doubt that the Norbreck Castle hotel is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel is totally worn out and requires millions spending on it to bring up to date.The rooms are shabby to say the least, not cleaned properly, in fact there was somebodies hair on the floor of one of our rooms and that was just one thing, we had 2 unfortunately. Maybe guests are expected to vacuum their own rooms. Plasterboard seems to divide each room so you can hear everything that is going on in the rooms/bathrooms next to you.The lift broke down at least once and it was quite a flog up to the 5th floor !! especially if you are a more senior member of society. The restaurant was not nice a place bit, dated, shabby and it was just like being in an old army cookhouse, in fact the Army Cookhouse was better !

One good point the staff were nice and helpful especially the lady on main reception, I felt sorry for them having to work in such an awful environment.

So come on Britannia Hotels spend some of your millions and get this place refurbished and give your staff a decent environment to work in, and you need to review your room rates £75 for a double room, what joke, mind you that did include Breakfast and Dinner, but not going to talk about the food.


On the bright side at least there was a Tram Stop outside and its right on the sea front !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkswith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    824
    1,173
    918
    2,497
See reviews for
1,836
1,908
137
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Admittedly the hotel is somewhat faded, but I paid £26 for a room with a bath and breakfast. This included the use of the leisure facilities which had a pool, a well equipped gym, a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.

If you are expecting somewhere polished and modern this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a cheap place to stay which is perfectly acceptable and are not over fussy, the phrase 'value for money' is certainly true.

The staff were very pleasant and efficient, and booking in was very easy, especially as I arrived at the desk without pre booking the room first.

If you are looking to take someone somewhere to impress them, then I would suggest spending more than £24!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for three years in a row as I dance at the Supadance competition. The room we had this year was particularly shoddy. I have thrown out better curtains than were hanging on the window. The furniture was dated and the wallpaper peeling.

When I paid the balance 6 weeks before arrival, I was assured by the gentleman on the phone that the price I was paying included evening meals for myself and my friend for two nights. However, when we went for our evening meal we were informed that we hadn't paid for it. We were told to go to reception where everybody seemed to be having the same problem. We were served by a wonderful receptionist named Debbie Simpson. She managed to get us into the dining room even though it was apparently full. Debbie had to do it again the following day. She was so helpful and we really appreciated all she did for us. Keep up the good work Debbie. You made all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz-Doda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Where to start...This was possibly the most disgusting, overpriced, badly staffed, horribly maintained hotel we have had the displeasure of staying in. The room we we given was an absolute HOVEL, half of the bathroom was in the bedroom, everything was falling apart and everything was dirty and scruffy. Honestly, never have myself or my partner shown so much disgust in a hotel before. We paid extra for a "superior" room only to be told the extra pay was for the sea view. It clearly stated on the booking page that this was for a BIGGER room in a sea facing hotel. It really isn't hard is it? Carpets were a mess, bar was overpriced and dingy and the staff were generally scruffy looking. In the morning it was impossible to get fed and watered due to lack of service/food/drinks/cutlery. What a mess, do the hotel management not read their reviews??? Clearly not. How embarrassing. Stay here at your peril you poor unsuspecting souls!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PurpleAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. I will NEVER go back again to stay over.
We were booked into "Twin Executive" room. This consisted of two single beds - which where the most uncomfortable beds I have ever had the misfortune of sleeping in, a television with 4 channels (yes 4 channels in this day and age) a bath that was dirtier than blackpool beach has ever been and just enough space left to put our suitcase in.
The hotel site says that we can enjoy the views (of portacabins and cars from our window) Health club with Heated pool (colder than the north pole) and a 36 seater cinema which we were informed was shut because the DVD player was broke (yes DVD player)
Now for the worst part (if it can get worse) the site words are
"Conservatory Food Court offers a daily menu of freshly prepared hot and cold food throughout the day plus a great selection of coffees, teas and chilled drinks" We went down to Breakfast at 08:30 am and were confronted with a choice of COLD cooked breakfast, Muesli or tinned fruit, to wash this monstrosity of a menu down you could have coffee what your spoons stands up in or tea that looks and taste like muddy water or their special concentrated orange / apple juice

Please people if you are reading this DO NOT book into this hotel I promise you will regret every minute you spend their

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

i've read many a review both good and bad about this hotel and i'm going to add my tuppence worth.
loved it,loved it, loved it.
best place i've stayed for many a year,staff were brilliant in all parts of the running;reception, entertainment,restaraunt(buffet breakfast and dinner you'd wish never ended)sports club and room service.
we had a room with a sea view,plenty of wardrobe and drawer space,never ending hot water at a gallop;bath fills within minutes.
i don't know how they've got a single bad review unless the people were miserable when they booked in and still miserable when they checked out.
sure it's a noisy place with kids running around but that is part of it's staff's fantastic attitude to make sure that everyone has a fabulous and laid back time and i prefer to have real people around me than some stiff and cold snobs walking around with their noses in the air.
if you are thinking of going somewhere in england to just slob around this is the place,we paid 137quid for 2 for 3 days and two nights[arrived friday left sunday evening..check out time is 10.30 am but we hung around until 5pm waiting for the rain to clear to drive back to london],that price was inclusive of breakfast and dinner.
go and enjoy the norbreck and blackpool and all it's lovely people the staff and it's visitors.

Room Tip: all rooms are fit for purpose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arif k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Norbreck for the Superdance Weekend for the second year running and yes was more disgusting than last year.
The food is totally inedible breakfast was disgusting i certainly would not have fed it to my children, even the toast was awful how you can get that wrong is beyond me.
The bedroom well where do i start ?
The wallpaper was hanging off the walls the carpet was filthy and as for the beds four of us in one room one very small double bed and bunkbeds squashed in you caught your leg on the corner of the double everytime you passed to get to the bathroom not that i wanted to use it as this also was disgusting.
Environmental health need to make a visit sooner rather than later !!
Britannia Group either up date the whole Hotel or shut it down i dont know how you have the audacity to charge people to stay there

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tescotarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Hotel and Spa
Rose Hotel and Spa
#64 of 73 in Blackpool
15 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing