We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better Norbreck !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
U.K.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting better Norbreck !”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just got back from Norbreck. This is the 17th year we have stayed and I think it was the best so far.Food was better the Gala night for 900 + people was catered for admirally really impressed with staff as well who were extremely friendly. We know what to expect and if there are improvements it's a bonus. Yes the rooms don't have the latest décor but ours was clean. The TV only had 4 channels but we were not in our room long. The shower was lovely and hot.It is a cheap and cheerful hotel with no frills and really your can't expect it to be on par with a top notch hotel charging £100's. You gets what you pay for. Restaurant service was great. We have booked for next year already. Have no complaints at all best ever stay with them. Staff were great and looking forward to going next year.The Norbreck has a charm of it's own.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U_k_Coppa_chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    805
    1,152
    893
    2,415
See reviews for
1,769
1,863
130
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I visited this hotel for the Crystal Boot Awards which is a yearly event held at the Norbreck. At a £25 per night hotel I was not expecting luxury but I at least expected the basics. The whole hotel is tired and jaded but I have to say that the staff did an excellent job looking after 900+ guests who attended this event. My room was clean but the furniture was old scratched and dated. Towels were replaced each day which I did not expect and if you asked for anything the staff were happy to oblige. I was not supplied with a bath mat and had to use a towel instead and when I asked for another towel it was quickly provided.

I read Tripadvisor reviews before I visited and everyone was saying that they were cold. I went armed with lots of extra clothing only to find that the hotel was much too hot;especially my bedroom (even though the radiator was cold). I like the bedroom to be cold as I find I sleep better so this was a problem for me and the window only opened about half an inch. All in all, although the actual hotel itself is quite poor, I really enjoyed the event and felt that all the staff were friendly and looked after us all very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A group of us spent 4 nights in the Norbreck Castle on a National Holidays winter break. This hotel is located right at the end of the promenade, quite far from the town centre and seafront, but it has its own tram stop and buses run past every few minutes. There is also a row of shops, including a small supermarket and a chemist, just behind the hotel.
From outside the Norbreck does look a bit like a castle, but unfortunately the inside is something of a let down. The carpets are quite worn, the furniture in the bedrooms was very cheap-looking and the TV only had four channels. I was lucky enough to be assigned a family room to myself, so had plenty of space, and the double bed was comfortable with lovely soft pillows. I had a bath with overhead shower, which was nice and hot, but much of the time the bedroom was pretty cold, even with the radiator turned up to its highest setting. In fact, the whole hotel was fairly chilly most of the time we were there.
The food was okay, although the breakfast buffet was quite limited and the choice of vegetables at dinner unimaginative (carrots every night), but the restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful.
The evening cabarets were quite enjoyable - the hotel had its own entertainment crew which included some very good singers and some pretty awful dancers - but the shows didn't even start until 10.15, by which time there were usually only a couple of dozen people left to watch. They did have a couple of games of bingo around nine, and then a DJ played music until cabaret time, but it with dinner served at 6.30pm it was a long, dull evening.
On the plus side, the Norbreck has a lovely leisure centre, which includes a pool (chilly!), children's splash area, sauna and spa, and there is also a little cinema that shows films about 3 times a day.
Overall, the Norbreck Castle was okay for a short stay, but if I went to Blackpool again I think I'd choose somewhere a bit more central.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Huge, cattle market. Stag do/hen night/ OAP bingo hell.
The room was small and dingy. None of the radiators could be turned off so the room was extremely hot and the window did not open.
Dirty old bathroom and 1 small towel.
Bed uncomfortable and decor very very dated.
Loud and hot unable to sleep, other guests banging on doors/walls in early hours.
Had To tune own tv.

Do not go. Spend a little more and go to a nice b&b or hilton.

Awful.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay staff was helpful and polite room was clean food was good we would definately go back. The entertainment was most enjoyable the only thing that was wrong the beds were quite small and so was the quilts but it would not deter us from going again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was in the norbreck hotel last weekend for 3 days ,the rooms are clean but old fashioned ,the food was good and the entertainment good ,the staff very nice , .... the bar area is a bit run down and gets cold so you need a warm jumper if watching the the night show .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnstone
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This the worst place to stay in Blackpool, and value for money does not come into the equation. It is like the local cattle market your headed for your room keys....breakfast...dinner even queueing for a drink. The dinning area and seating is filthy, and the room are grubby and falling apart. This place is cheap but not cheerful more like tearful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximusilligitimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
453 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing